Skip to Content
Headshots of Chance Brown, Renee Harvey Lowe, Stuart Bernstein. They are TREC's newest members.

The Texas Real Estate Commission is pleased to welcome three new members. Chance Brown, Renee Harvey Lowe, and Stuart Bernstein were confirmed by the Texas Senate on April 26, 2023. Texas Governor Greg Abbott appointed them for terms set to expire on January 31, 2029. 

Harvey Lowe and Brown will both serve as broker members, Bernstein will serve as a public member of TREC.


Chance Brown 

is the owner of CB&A, Realtors which manages more than 500 realtors across six offices in two markets in Texas. He is a former director of the National Association of REALTORS®, Texas Association of REALTORS®, and the Houston Association of REALTORS®.

Additionally, Brown is the executive director of the CB&A Foundation, a director of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Houston, a former member of the Sam Houston State Alumni Board of Directors, and a committee member for the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo.

He received a Bachelor of Business Administration in Marketing from Sam Houston State University and a Master of Business Administration in Entrepreneurship from Louisiana State University. 

Renee Harvey Lowe 

is the owner of Century 21 Renee Harvey Properties. She is a member of the REALTORS® Land Institute, the Paris Board of REALTORS®, the Greater Texoma Board of REALTORS®, the Texarkana Board of REALTORS®, the Greater Tyler Board of REALTORS®, and the Tulsa Board of REALTORS®.

Harvey Lowe received a Bachelor of Science in Marketing from North Texas State University.

Stuart Bernstein

is owner and partner at CapRidge Partners, an investment service in Austin, Texas. He is also an active member of the Pension Real Estate Association and the National Association of Real Estate Investment Managers.

Additionally, Bernstein is a former director of Texas Lyceum and current board member of Trellis Company Foundation, Seton Hospital Foundation, Boy Scouts Foundation-Central Texas, and the Texas Golf Hall of Fame.  

Bernstein received a Bachelor of Arts from The University of Texas (UT) and a Master of Business Administration from the UT McCombs School of Business.

Outgoing Commissioners

TREC thanks Jan Fite Miller, DeLora Wilkinson, and Micheal Williams for their dedicated service to the citizens of Texas as members of the Commission. 

Miller served from September 2017-April 2023 as broker member, and vice-chair from May 2021-April 2023. 

Wilkinson served from September 2017-April 2023 as broker member. 

Williams served from September 2017-April 2023 as a public member. 

The next TREC meeting will be Tuesday, May 16 at 9 a.m. in Houston.

What is TREC? 

TREC is composed of nine members appointed by the Texas governor for six-year terms. Six members must be licensed real estate brokers, and three members must be members of the public who are not regulated by the Commission. The governor also designates a member to serve as chair of the Commission. Currently, TREC's chair is Scott Kesner.

To learn more about TREC, click here