The One to Four Family Residential Contract (Resale), like many contracts, contains a “Notices” provision. In that TREC contract, the provision is in Paragraph 21. This needs to be filled out so the parties know where a notice should be sent or delivered to be effective. A license holder should remind their client how important this provision is and ensure, to the extent possible, that it gets filled out fully and accurately.
Broker Assumed Business Name (DBA) is another name for the broker’s business that can be used by all sponsored sales agents and brokers associated with this broker. Another name that indicates a broker’s line of business, e.g. property management or commercial is also a DBA.
The effective date of the new rules is May 15, 2018, and we want to make sure everyone is thoroughly prepared for the changes.
These rules are the result of years of work by the Commission and key stakeholders focusing on clarity of advertisements for consumers with the least restrictions on license holders. The rules also update, interpret and balance revised statutory requirements supporting free commerce and business competition with those protecting the consumer from misleading advertisements.
Texas Real Estate Commission adopted new advertising rules at its November meeting. These rules are effective as of May 15, 2018, which gives license holders 6 months to comply with the updated requirements.
§535.154 lays out alternate, assumed business and team name registration requirements and §535.155 lays out the revised advertising requirements. You can read both rules on our website.
Memorial Day was the last day of the 85th Legislative session. Several bills were filed this session relating to the agency and its license holders but not all of those bills made it through the process. Following is a summary of bills that passed both houses of the Legislature and have direct effect on license holders.
Section 535.228(a) of the Texas Administrative Code (Foundations) requires an inspector to render a written opinion as to the performance of the foundation. Many inspectors understand this to mean one of two things; the foundation is either performing or it is not performing. But sometimes the inspector is unable to determine this with sufficient confidence.
Whether you are applying for a new license, renewing your license, setting up a business entity registration, and more, the best and most secure way to pay Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) fees is through the agency’s online services portal. Plus, you can pay online whenever is convenient for you—the tool is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and 365 days a year.
The following visual explainers show you how to securely make your payments online.
Are your assumed business names or “doing business as” name (DBAs) on file with TREC? A DBA or assumed business name can be used in advertisements in place of the inspector’s name if it is properly registered with the Commission.
The Texas Real Estate Commission met on February 12 with a full crowd of Texas Realtors in attendance. This was the first opportunity in 2024 for license holders to earn up to four hours of CE credit during a Commission meeting. It was also an opportunity for those in attendance and watching the livestream to learn about the various functions of the agency, hear public comments, witness the form adoption process, and more. Read on for more highlights from the event.