Become a Qualifying Education Provider
Qualifying Education Providers may offer mandatory and elective qualifying courses in real estate and real estate inspection that have been approved by the Commission.
You do not need to become a qualifying education provider if you are:
- An approved qualifying education provider in another state
- An accredited college or university
- A United States armed forces institute
- A nationally recognized professional designation institute
Qualifying education providers must:
- Satisfy Commission requirement to administer courses with competency, honesty, trustworthiness and integrity
- Demonstrate that you have sufficient financial resources to do business in Texas
- Maintain a fixed office in Texas or designate a resident of Texas to act as attorney-in-fact to accept service of process
Filing Your Application
- Complete the Qualifying Education Provider Application
- Submit all requested documents
- Pay the required fee
You will need to provide the following information with your application:
- Business financial statements prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, which shall include a current income statement and balance sheet
- A proposed budget for the first year of operation
- A market survey indicating the anticipated enrollment for the first year of operation
- An original surety bond or other acceptable security measure in the amount of $20,000 payable to the Texas Real Estate Commission
TREC can request additional information during the review process, so please be sure your contact information is accurate.
You may not conduct business until you have received an approval from the Commission.
Qualifying education providers must submit a qualifying course application for each course that they propose to offer. You may not offer a qualifying course until you have received a course approval letter from the Commission.
Qualifying real estate courses are those courses that are required for sales agent and broker pre-licensure and Sales Agent Apprentice Education (SAE). An approved qualifying education provider can request approval to offer a qualifying real estate course by filing the Qualifying Real Estate Course Application and paying the required fee. All qualifying courses have a corresponding Qualifying Real Estate Course Approval Form that identifies specific topics and subtopics required for course content. When submitting course applications that follow these guidelines, be sure to include a copy of the form with your application. TREC will also review 30-hour advanced courses on any qualifying course subject (listed below) or a course that combines multiple qualifying course subjects. You may not offer or advertise a course as approved until you have received written notice of approval from TREC.
Below is a list of all qualifying real estate courses.
- Principles of Real Estate I
- Principles of Real Estate II
- Law of Agency
- Law of Contracts
- Promulgated Contract Forms
- Real Estate Finance
- Real Estate Brokerage
- Real Estate Appraisal
- Real Estate Law
- Real Estate Marketing
- Real Estate Math
- Property Management
- Real Estate Investments
- Residential Inspection for Real Estate Agents
What Should I Include with My Classroom Qualifying Course Application?
What Should I Include with My Distance Education Qualifying Course Application?
Offering Qualifying Inspector Courses
Qualifying inspector courses are those that are required for inspector pre-licensure. An approved qualifying education provider can request approval to offer a qualifying inspection courses by filing the Qualifying Inspector Course Application, the corresponding Inspector Course Approval Form and paying the required fee. You may not offer or advertise a course as approved until you have received written notice of approval from TREC.
Below is a list of all inspector qualifying courses:
- Building Enclosures
- Roof Systems
- Plumbing Systems
- Electrical Systems
- Heating Ventilation and Air Conditioning Systems (HVAC)
- Texas Standards of Practice
- Texas Standard Report Form Writing
- Texas Legal/Ethics
- Texas Standards of Practice/Legal/Ethics Update
Inspector Non-Elective Courses
Re-Approval of Real Estate and Inspector Qualifying Courses
Qualifying courses are approved for a four-year term. Approved qualifying education providers may submit a new Qualifying Real Estate Course Application or Qualifying Inspector Course Application 90 days prior to the course expiration date. Re-approval is based upon the current standards for initial approval and the application must include all requested materials. If the current course approval has expired, you may not offer the course until you have received a new course approval letter.
NOTE: Providing a letter of certification indicating that there have been no changes to the content, presentation, design and delivery of the course, other than relevant statutory or rule updates and/or updates to promulgated contract forms, may accelerate the re-approval process. A certification letter should be issued by the provider's operations manager or owner and submitted with the application.