The amendments implement statutory changes enacted by the 88th Legislature in SB 1577, which become effective January 1, 2024. Currently, Chapter 1101, Occupations Code, requires business entities who receive compensation on behalf of a license holder to be licensed as a broker. SB 1577 allows certain entities—limited liability companies and s-corporations (as that term is defined by federal law)—to register with the Commission in lieu of obtaining a license. In order to be eligible for registration, these exempted entities must: (i) perform no acts of a broker, other than receiving said compensation on behalf of a license holder; and (ii) be at least 51 percent owned by the license holder on whose behalf the business entity receives compensation. The rule changes reflect this statutory change.
Rules and Laws
Our license holders are governed by the The Real Estate License Act, the Inspector Act, and the Timeshare Act. These Acts establish the makeup of the Commission and its advisory committees and outline procedures by which a person can become real estate license holders in Texas. The Acts also describe TREC’s jurisdiction over license holders and registrants.
TREC has the authority to adopt administrative rules to provide specificity to provisions of the Acts. TREC may also adopt rules to establish a policy regarding certain practices. Both the Acts and TREC rules are a great resource for helping consumers know what to expect from a real estate service provider.
The tables below show all of our recently proposed and adopted rules. Written comments on proposed rules are accepted for 30 days after publication in the Texas Register. After that period, comments can be made in person at the next Commission meeting. Please send written comments to TREC's firstname.lastname@example.org. For the complete version of our current rules go to: