License holders must meet Continuing Education (CE) requirements during each two- year license period. CE must include 4 hours of Legal Update I, 4 hours of Legal Update II, 3 hours of Contract-Related coursework, and 7 hours of elective CE courses for a total of 18 hours. To determine how many hours have posted to your license record, you can visit our license holder search.
A broker or designated broker of a business entity who sponsor one or more sales agents or a delegated supervisor of one or more license holders must complete the six-hour Broker Responsibility Course as part of the 18-hour CE requirement.
Exam results for each section of the exam are valid for one year from the passing date. If you reapply less than one year from passing one section of the exam, you will not need to retake that section. Both the State and National sections of the exam must be passed before the application expiration date.
Yes. If TREC records do not show that you have completed your CE at the time you submit your renewal application, you must pay a $200 CE deferral fee, or renew in inactive status. Paying the deferral fee allows you to continue to be active in real estate activities and provides an additional 60 days from your expiration date to complete your CE.
Yes. The name on your government issued photo ID must match the name on your real estate license application. If the names do not match, please submit a name change request. Include your name as it appears on the application, a copy of your government-issued photo ID, and your telephone number to TREC.
Copy the temporary password from the email message you received when you registered. Paste it into the “Online Services – Login and Registration” web page when you log in. You will be prompted to create a new password of your own. Once you create your password, you must save it to have future access to your online account.
No. If you reside outside the service area of IdentoGO by IDEMIA, you may request a Hard Card to get fingerprinted. A TREC-specific Hard Card must be obtained from TREC because it contains coding required by the DPS and FBI. IdentoGO by IDEMIA has details on how a Texas Non-resident can complete the fingerprinting process using a Hard Card.
No. An individual with DACA status does not meet our licensing requirements as a lawfully admitted alien. The US Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) Department website specifically states that deferred prosecution does not provide lawful status to a DACA recipient. Receiving a social security number and card does not provide lawful status to a DACA recipient, it merely provides proof of the work authorization granted by USCIS. To be considered a lawfully admitted alien, you must have a green card or Permanent Resident card.
No. Texas does not have reciprocity with any state. To become licensed, you must satisfy all current Texas licensing requirements.
Yes. You are required to tell us within 30 days of a felony. Section 1101.652(a)(7) of the License Act provides that if you have entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere or have been convicted of a felony or any criminal offense that involves fraud (including misdemeanors), you must disclose this to the Commission not later than the 30th day after the final conviction or the entry of a plea of guilty or nolo contendere. The minimum penalty is $500; maximum is $3,000 per failure to report. This means that if you wait until your renewal to notify the Commission of your felony, you could be subject to the penalty, in addition to any disciplinary action related to the crime. If you do have an unreported felony, or an unreported criminal offense involving fraud, report it to the Commission as soon as possible.
No. To apply as an out of state broker, you must submit the paper Application for Broker Licenseby an Individual along with requested documents and the applicable fee.
Yes. You are under the Sales Apprentice Education (SAE) requirements. Before you can renew your license, you are required to have completed a total of 270 hours of qualifying course hours, and the Legal Update I and II courses.
To determine how many hours have posted to your license record, you may visit the license holder info search feature on our website.
You can be exempt from taking the National portion of the exam if you hold an active license in a state that participates in the National exam accreditation with ARELLO. Submit a license history from the state in which you are licensed when you file your application so we can determine if you are exempt.
No. All sales agent applicants must complete the required education.
If a license holder is convicted of a felony or a criminal offense involving fraud it is a violation of section 1101.652(a)(1) of the License Act. This section gives the Commission authority to suspend or revoke a license holder that has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere or has been convicted of a felony or any criminal offense that involves fraud (including misdemeanors). The Commission does not have the authority to revoke or suspend a license holder that has been only charged or accused of committing a felony or criminal offense that involves fraud. A license holder is required to notify the Commission not later than the 30th day after the final conviction or the entry of a plea of guilty or nolo contendere. Failing to timely notify may result in more severe or further disciplinary action. All license holders’ criminal backgrounds are rechecked upon renewal, however, this does not excuse a license holder from notifying the Commission not later than the 30th day after the final conviction.