Skip to Content

AUSTIN, TX – The Texas Real Estate Commission is pleased to announce the confirmation of broker member Barbara Russell and public member Jason Hartgraves as new commissioners for terms to expire on January 31, 2025.  Governor Abbott nominated them to the post in March and they were confirmed by Senate vote on May 1st.  Broker member Scott Kesner was confirmed and appointed as Chair of the Commission last week.

Barbara Russell of Denton is Broker and owner of Barbara Russell, REALTORS, Inc. where she engages primarily in property management.  She is an active member of the Texas Association of REALTORS and Greater Denton/Wise County Association of REALTORS. Additionally, she is a member of the Denton County Master Gardener Association.  Russell completed her real estate education at the University of North Texas and has earned several real estate specialty certifications.

Jason Hartgraves of Frisco is Chief Deputy for the Dallas County Sheriff’s Department. He is a member of the FBI National Academy Associates and the Dallas County Sheriff’s Association. He is a former member of the Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority, and of the One Call Board of Texas. Hartgraves is a graduate of the FBI National Academy and the FBI National Executive Institute. He received a Bachelor of Arts in criminal justice from Dallas Baptist University and a Master of Science in management from Texas A&M University Commerce.

The newly appointed Chair and Commission members’ first meeting will be this Monday, May 6 at 10 am in Austin. The Commission is composed of nine members appointed by the Governor for staggered six-year terms. Six members must be licensed as real estate brokers. Three others must be members of the general public who are not regulated by the Commission. The Commission was established in 1949 to safeguard Texas consumers in matters of real property transactions and valuation services, and we welcome the perspective and contributions of these new Commissioners.