From the Start Menu page, click on the dropdown menu under the "Change your license information and manage relationships" category.
Click "Change/Verify Contact Information" and click "Select".
Read the information on the "Change/Verify Contact Information" introduction page and click “Next”.
Update contact information and “Place of Business” (business physical) address on the Contact Information page and click "Next".
Verify contact information on the Application Summary page and click “Submit”.
On the Statement of Applicant page, select "Yes" to certify the address information is accurate and correct, and click "Next" to process the request.
What happens if a license holder is convicted of a crime?
If a license holder is convicted of a felony or a criminal offense involving fraud it is a violation of section 1101.652(a)(1) of the License Act.This section gives the Commission authority to suspend or revoke a license holder that has entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere or has been convicted of a felony or any criminal offense that involves fraud (including misdemeanors).The Commission does not have the authority to revoke or suspend a license holder that has been only charged or accused of committing a felony or criminal offense that involves fraud.A license holder is required to notify the Commission not later than the 30th day after the final conviction or the entry of a plea of guilty or nolo contendere. Failing to timely notify may result in more severe or further disciplinary action.All license holders’ criminal backgrounds are rechecked upon renewal, however, this does not excuse a license holder from notifying the Commission not later than the 30th day after the final conviction.
Call and talk with a customer service representative:
512-936-3000 (TREC) or 512-936-3001 (TALCB)
Contact Center Hours:
Monday through Friday, 7 AM to 6 PM
Financial Division and Purchasing: 512-936-3551
Executive Division: 512-936-3788
Public Information Requests: 512-936-3798
Texas Real Estate Commission
PO Box 12188
Austin, TX 78711-2188
Texas Real Estate Commission
Stephen F Austin Building
1700 N. Congress Ave., Suite 400
Austin, TX 78701
TAKE NOTE: Due to COVID - 19, TREC's offices are currently closed to walk-ins. Thank you for your patience.
Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Parking Note: The Capitol Complex is undergoing major renovations. This may affect Parking and access to the building. Please check the State of Texas Capitol Complex website for detailed parking information.
Take a moment to fill out our all new Customer Satisfaction Survey!
License holders must meet Continuing Education (CE) requirements during each two- year license period. CE must include 4 hours of Legal Update I, 4 hours of Legal Update II, 3 hours of Contract-Related coursework, and 7 hours of elective CE courses for a total of 18 hours. To determine how many hours have posted to your license record, you can visit our license holder search.
A broker or designated broker of a business entity who sponsor one or more sales agents or a delegated supervisor of one or more license holders must complete the six-hour Broker Responsibility Course as part of the 18-hour CE requirement.
If you feel the broker knew about the problem with the house and didn't tell you about it, you can file a written complaint with TREC. A license holder who makes a knowing misrepresentation or fails to disclose a latent defect can be disciplined by the Commission. [TRELA §1101.652(b)(3)] Should you want to take legal action against the seller and/or the broker for damages, you will need to consult with a private attorney
An intermediary is a broker who negotiates the transaction between the parties when the broker or a sales agent sponsored by the broker has obtained consent from the parties to represent both the buyer and the seller. The broker intermediary may, with the written consent of the parties, appoint separate individual license holder associated with the broker to work with and advise the party to whom they have been appointed. [TRELA §§ 1101.558-1101.561 and §1101.651(d)]
A properly constructed and properly functioning bathtub or shower should drain virtually all water (with the exception of minimal amounts that remain due to the surface tension of the water). Amounts beyond this that remain due to indentations or improper slope in the tub or shower (including shelves, ledges, etc.) constitute deficiencies and should be reported as such.