Skip to Content

The Texas Real Estate Commission’s Education Standards Advisory Committee (ESAC) opened its first meeting of the year with a welcome to four new members. The new license holder members are Amanda Nichols and Thomas Carl Leatherman. The new education provider member is Cynthia Baas. The new public member is Rita Blevins. 

Officers Election

ESAC held elections and selected Bill Steddum, Jr. as chair, Byron Underwood as vice chair, and Michael Crowley as secretary.

Principles I, II Updates

ESAC previously asked agency staff to explore the possibility of whether Principles I and II courses could be combined into a single 60-hour course, and whether the courses could serve as prerequisites to other qualifying courses. The idea behind these changes was to ensure students were better prepared in the classroom.

Principles I, II to Remain Separate Courses

After discussion and consideration of public comment, the committee decided against recommending that Principles I and II be combined in a single 60-hour course. As a result, ESAC will continue discussing the outline of each course at its next meeting.

Prerequisite Recommendation Moves Forward

As a way of boosting students’ educational foundation, ESAC recommended Principles I and II be required as a prerequisite to all other pre-licensing courses. This recommendation will be presented to the Commission next month.

Law of Agency Course Review

ESAC recommended at the last meeting that the Law of Agency course outline be reviewed. Committee members discussed and recommended some revisions. At the next meeting on April 1, staff will present a draft document that incorporates the suggested changes.

The January 8 meeting’s materials and agenda are posted online.