Skip to Content

The Sunset Review of the Texas Real Estate Commission and Texas Appraiser Licensing & Certification Board

The mission and performance of the Texas Real Estate Commission and Texas Appraiser Licensing & Certification Board are under review by the Legislature as required under the Texas Sunset Act.  The Act provides that the Sunset Commission, composed of legislators and public members, periodically evaluate a state agency to determine if the agency is still needed and to explore ways to ensure that the agency's funds are well spent.  Based on the recommendations of the Sunset Commission, the Texas Legislature ultimately decides whether an agency continues to operate into the future.

Get CE Credit for Attending a Commission Meeting!

Receive a minimum of 2 hours and up to a maximum of 4 hours of CE credit for attending the February 12, 2018 Commission meeting in Austin.

To be eligible for credit, current license holders must: 
  • Attend the meeting in person;
  • Attend the entire meeting (no credit will be awarded for partial attendance);
  • Provide photo identification; and
  • Sign in and out on the class attendance roster for the meeting.

TREC Receives ARELLO Communications Award

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) is pleased to announce that the agency’s completely redesigned website has been recognized for excellence by the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) with a 2017 Communication Award.  ARELLO is an international organization of real estate licensing agencies and individuals involved with regulation of the real estate industry globally.

Added Flexibility for Residential Service Companies (RSCs)

Governor Abbott Has Signed HB 2279

HB 2279 amends Chapter 1303, which regulates RSCs, the providers of home warranty services. The bill accounts for the difference between RSCs who insure ALL of their outstanding risk through a third party insurance company and those that maintain a funded reserve. The bill simplifies certain regulatory requirements for fully insured RSCs and streamlines the contract and rate filing requirements for RSCs that are already licensed in Texas. 

New Brokerage Advertising Rules on the Horizon

Governor Abbott Has Signed SB 2212

SB 2212 makes changes to the regulations governing advertising for real estate brokers and sales agents.  

It removes the current requirement that the advertiser be identified in each advertisement as a broker or agent, and clarifies that an advertisement is misleading if it fails to include the name of the broker, or if it implies that a sales agent is responsible for the operation of a brokerage.

TREC Launches Public Service Announcements

The Texas Real Estate Commission is pleased to announce a series of public services announcements (PSAs). These PSA's highlight the agency's mission of consumer protection by providing valuable information for consumers and license holders. Click the links below to listen to the produced PSAs. 

We rely on radio stations to convey these messages and we appreciate your help communicating these. If you have questions or concerns, please contact us.