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TREC Advisor 
 
The agency exists to safeguard the public interest and protect consumers of real 
estate services. In accord with state and federal laws the agency oversees real 
estate brokerage, appraisal, inspection, home warranty, right-of-way services and 
timeshare interest providers.  Through education, licensing and regulation, the 
agency ensures the availability of qualified and ethical service providers, thereby 
facilitating economic growth and opportunity across Texas. 

INSIDE THIS ISSUE:  Instructor Training Course Update (page 1) From the Chair (page 2)  

Responding to a TREC Investigation (page 3)TREC Enforcement Actions (page 3)  Proposed 

and Adopted Rules (page 4) TREC Employee Update (page 5)  

INSTRUCTOR TRAINING COURSE WILL BE REQUIRED 
FOR QUALIFYING AND NON-ELECTIVE                           

CE INSTRUCTORS 
The Commission is committed to protecting 
Texas consumers and ensuring that real estate 
license holders are qualified, honest and 
trustworthy.  This includes making sure 
instructors of qualifying and non-elective CE 
courses are knowledgeable and competent.  
To accomplish this task, §535.63 of the Rules of 
the Commission was revised to require that 
instructors have training in adult education. 

Beginning January 1, 2016, instructors of 
qualifying and non-elective CE courses must 
complete an adult education instructor 
training course of at least 8 hours that is 
acceptable to the Commission and dated 
within 5 years of the date of the instructor 
application.   

Instructors who provide proof of having 
obtained the following certifications or 
designations within 5 years of filing their 
instructor application will have met this 
requirement:  CREI (Certified Real Estate 
Instructor); DREI (Distinguished Real Estate 
Instructor); and CDEI (Certified Distance 

Education Instructor) for those teaching 
distance education.  The Commission will also 
consider other existing adult education 
training courses  to determine if submitted to 
the agency for review. 

TREC-approved qualifying education providers 
may request approval to offer an 8-hour adult 
education instructor training course for this 
purpose.  However, license holders will not 
receive CE credit for completion of the course.  
A course outline was developed for review and 
comments by the Education Standards 
Advisory Committee (ESAC) and an Adult 
Education Instructor Training Course 
application was approved by the Commission 
at its May meeting.    The application (which 
includes a course outline) can be found at the 
TREC website.  If there are questions regarding 
the course outline or course application form, 
qualifying education providers may contact an 
Education Specialist at 
education@trec.texas.gov.     

mailto:education@trec.texas.gov
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From the Chair... 
Wishing a productive summer to all real estate 
professionals! The Board met on May 4th for its 
regular quarterly meeting and it was again a 
productive session.  I want to thank the 
Commissioners who take their duties seriously 
for being fully prepared for the meeting, and 
the great staff of the Commission for 
supporting us and our many committees so 
well by organizing the materials and supporting 
documents. We appreciate your 
professionalism.   
 
At the meeting, the Commission adopted 
updates to three areas we don’t see very often.  
We updated the content and clarified the use of 
forms necessary to register, amend or renew a 
timeshare plan; updated the form Easement 
and Right-of-Way Agents are required to 
provide prior to the consumer entering into a 
transaction concerning an easement or right-of-
way; and updated the notification to consumers 
regarding potential hazards that is included in 
the standard Property Inspection Report form.  
Read the Inspector Committee Chair’s column 
for more detail.  

We also proposed updates to the funded 
reserve provisions for residential service 
companies which use a captive reinsurer to 
secure their obligations; and a variety of 
technical corrections to assure consistency 
across our rules.  While not high profile, these 
are still important.    
 
We approved a form for course approval for 
providers who wish to offer Instructor Training 
courses to meet the 2016 requirement for 
instructors of qualifying and non-elective CE 

courses to have at 
least 8 hours of 
approved training 
in adult education 
methods.  This 
welcome 
improvement 
came from a 
recommendation 
by our Education 
Standards 
Advisory 
Committee.     
 
By the time you 
read this, the 84th 
regular session of 
the Legislature will be completed on June 1.  
The Commission’s bill (SB 699) was successfully 
passed without significant changes to those 
requested last year in the Commission’s 
workshop in November. We now await the 
Governor’s signature. On behalf of the 
Commission, I want to thank the Texas 
Association of REALTORS (TAR) which spent 
significant time and energy to ensure the bill’s 
successful passage. Without their efforts and 
support, achieving desirable updates to our 
enabling legislation would be much more 
uncertain.  
      
The months ahead will be filled with 
opportunities for stakeholder input as the 
Commission crafts rules to implement the 
changes made possible by the passage of SB 
699. We encourage you to watch the agency’s 
website and this e-newsletter for scheduled 
meetings and agenda as we begin this process. 

There will be a lot of work to do and we 
look forward to it; we invite your active and 

continued participation. 
Thank you all.     
 
 

   

 ESAC Committee Meeting—June 17  

Broker-Lawyer Committee Meeting—July 20 

TREC Commission Meeting—August 17 

Check the TREC website regularly for postings of all of our 
upcoming meetings.  

IMPORTANT DATES TO REMEMBER 

Avis Wukasch, Chair 
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The Texas Real Estate Commission has published enforcement actions. To read the full report  and 

get access to all of the enforcement actions taken by the Commission, please go to the TREC 

website and click on, “Complaints, and Consumer Info” and then click “Disciplinary Actions” .  

TREC Enforcement Actions 

The filing of a complaint against a real estate 

license holder is not uncommon.  In fiscal year 

2014, the Texas Real Estate Commission’s 

Standards & Enforcement Services Division (SES) 

reviewed 2,262  complaints. Nearly 1,000  of those 

were filed by consumers against real estate 

brokers and sales agents and  544  field 

investigations were conducted  by Commission 

investigators.  

The goal of an investigation is to protect 

consumers and to uphold the integrity of the real 

estate profession by gathering the facts necessary 

to determine if there is a basis for pursuing 

disciplinary action against a person.  

The TREC Investigator is a Fact-Finder 

To achieve this goal, a TREC Investigator gathers 

information and interviews complainants, license 

holders, and relevant witnesses.  The investigator 

is a neutral fact finder – he or she doesn’t make 

recommendations regarding the outcome of the 

case. 

The investigator’s investigative report is submitted 

to an SES staff attorney for review.  Case 

determinations are made by the staff attorney and 

are based on the presence (or not)  of evidence of 

a violation of The Real Estate License Act or Texas 

Real Estate Commission rules.  

Keep Good Records – The Rules Require It and It 

Helps the Investigation 

Many complaints arise from miscommunication. 

Consequently, keeping emails and other 

documents is important to show that a real estate 

broker or sales agent acted appropriately given the 

circumstances of the transaction. The license 

holder’s narrative of the events in any given 

transaction should be supported by documents. 

This means that the broker should maintain 

complete records of each real estate transaction.  

This is not only a good practice in terms of 

responding to complaints but it  is required under 

The rules of the Real Estate Commission [Rule 

535.2(h)].  Effectively responding to a TREC 

investigation always involves the submission of 

relevant supporting documents. 

Tip: Provide the investigator a written chronology 

or timeline of events in the real estate transaction. 

This allows TREC to understand the sequence of 

events from the license holder’s perspective. 

Provide Responses Timely and Cooperate Fully 

A license holder must respond to a complaint by 

providing documents and information related to a 

real estate transaction or complaint in a timely 

manner, typically 10 working days. The license 

holder is typically provides an interview to discuss 

the transaction in detail. Failure to respond to an 

investigator’s written request for documents or 

information may result in disciplinary action.  

Discipline may include an administrative penalty 

and other action such as a suspension or 

revocation of license. The most effective way to 

avoid this outcome is to respond, provide any 

documents or other information requested, and 

cooperate with the investigator. 

Responding to a TREC Investigation 

http://www.trec.texas.gov/complaintsconsumer/monthlyreport.asp
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Rule Actions From the May 4th Meeting 
of the Commission 

Adopted Rules 

The following is a summary of amendments to 

TREC Rules adopted at the May 4, 2015 meeting of 

the Commission.  Unless otherwise noted, they 

were effective May 26, 2015. You can see the full 

text of the rules at the Recently Adopted Rules 

section of our website. 

 §543.4, Forms. The amendments update and 

clarify the use and content of the forms necessary 

to register, amend or renew a timeshare plan.   

§535.401, Required Notices. The amendments 

update and clarify the form Easement and Right-of

-Way Agents are required to give a consumer prior 

to the consumer entering into a transaction 

concerning an easement or right-of-way. 

§535.223, Standard Inspection Report Form. The 

amendments were recommended by the Texas 

Real Estate Inspector Advisory Committee (TREIC) 

to notify consumers regarding potential hazards 

with improper bonding of corrugated stainless 

steel tubing (CSST) or other metal gas tubing by 

adding language to the “Consumer Notice 

Concerning Hazards or Deficiencies” section, and 

to adopt by reference changes to the standard 

inspection form, Property Inspection Report Form 

REI 7-5, approved by the Commission for use in 

reporting inspection results. REI 7-5 is available for 

voluntary use now and will be required to be used 

by all inspectors on September 1, 2015. 

§535.2, Broker Responsibility. The amendments 

insert the obligation to notify the Commission 

when a broker delegates responsibility to another 

license holder for more than six months. This 

provision was inadvertently dropped from another 

section during the reorganization and clarification 

of Chapter 535.  

Proposed Rules 

The following amendments or new rules were 

proposed at the May 4, 2015, meeting of the 

Commission and are up for adoption at the August 

17, 2015 meeting.  You can see the full text of 

these rules on the “Proposed Rules” section of the 

TREC Website.  Written comments on the 

proposed rules can be sent to 

general.counsel@trec.texas.gov and must be 

received prior to 5 p.m. July 27, 2015 to be 

included in the materials for the August meeting. 

After that date, comments will need to be made in 

person at the meeting. 

 §539.81, Funded Reserve. These amendments are 

a re-proposal following receipt of input from a 

stakeholder and discussions with the Texas 

Department of Insurance. The proposed 

amendments specify that if a residential service 

company choses to use a captive insurance 

company under Tex. Occ. Code §1303.152 to 

reinsure the liability remaining under the 

outstanding residential service contracts written in 

Texas in lieu of maintaining a funded reserve, that 

company can only do so for a portion of the 

required funded reserve.  

§535.217, Mailing Address and Other Contact 

Information. The proposed amendment corrects 

the timeframe in the inspector rule from 10 days 

to 30 days to match Section 1102.118(b) in the 

Texas Occupations Code which has a 30-day 

requirement for inspectors. 

§§535.400, Registration of Easement or Right-of-

Way Agents and 535.402, Complaints, Disciplinary 

Action and Appeals. The proposed amendments 

correct terminology, renumber for consistency, 

and provide a timeframe for responding to 

complaints for easement or right of way agents 

consistent with other license types. 

§539.150, Complaints. The proposed amendment 
to §539.150, Complaints clarifies terminology for 
consistency throughout the rules. 

 

 

http://www.trec.texas.gov/formslawscontracts/rules_codes/Rule.asp
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/formslawscontracts/rules_codes/Rule.asp
mailto:general.counsel@trec.texas.gov
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TREC Employee Updates 
 

Raquel joins TREC SES as a legal assistant. She graduated from Austin 
Community College with an Associate’s Degree in Paralegal Studies 
and  also obtained her real estate license.  She began her legal career 
in the area of personal injury, workmen's compensation and civil 
litigation in the private sector.  Prior to working at TREC, Raquel 
worked for 2 years with UT System in the Open Records Department. 
She is motivated by the opportunity to experience new and interesting 
challenges. In her spare time, she enjoys being outdoors  and 
spending time with friends and family.  

John Vardanian Information and Technology  

John joins the TREC ITS team as a programmer. He grew up in Southern 
California and recently moved back to Austin for the second time. John 
started developing software in the 4th grade and is a fan of music 
composition, production, and recording. He  studied Computer Science 
at Moorpark College. John has three year old daughter. He comes to 
TREC from Trusource Labs where I developed a wide variety of tools for 
the IT department, stakeholders, and upper management. When it 
comes to technology he loves teaching as well as learning from others, 
especially if it is something that is a challenge. 

Robyn Dilworth 
Joins TALCB from the General Counsel’s Office of Texas Mutual 
Insurance Company. Her experience includes private law firms 
and corporate legal departments she was paralegal at the 
Attorney General’s office with Kristin Worman TALCB general 
counsel. She attended Baylor University, and University of Texas 
at Austin (B.A. Pre-Law); grew up in Fort Worth, and has lived in 
Austin since 1996. She has 2 beautiful children: Kaitlin-Baylor 
grad, PR Executive here in Austin; Jimmy-soon to be UT grad. 

TACLB Standards and Enforcement  

TREC Standards and Enforcement  Raquel Salazar 

New/Revised Forms 

The following new or revised forms were adopted 

and are effective for immediate use: 

Real Estate Broker License by a Business Entity 

(BBE_4).  The form was updated to include 

background history questions for the designated 

broker. 

Change of Designated Broker for a Business Entity 

(CDO/MGR-2). The form was updated to include 

background history questions when there is a 

change of designated broker for a business entity. 

Adult Education Instructor Training Course (AEITC-

0). This is a new form to be used by schools 

requesting approval to offer an adult education 

instructor training course. 

Texas Real Estate Consumer Notice Concerning 

Hazards or Deficiencies (OP-I). This form was 

revised to add language to notify consumers 

regarding potential hazards with improper bonding 

of corrugated stainless steel tubing (CSST) or other 

metal gas tubing.  

 

Rule Actions From the May 4th Meeting of 
the Commission 
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TALCB Bulletin 
TALCB was created by an act of the Texas Legislature in 1991 to 

license, certify and regulate real estate appraisers in Texas under 

state and federal laws.  In 2011, TALCB’s jurisdiction was expanded 

to register and regulate appraisal management companies.  

INSIDE THIS ISSUE:  From the Chair (page 1)  New Texas Appraiser Trainee/

Sponsor Course Required (page 2) Enforcement Actions (page 2) Experience 

Credit for Ad Valorem Tax Appraisals (page 3) Rule Actions Taken (page 4)  

From the Chair 
Greetings to all my fellow appraisers! The Board 
met on May 15th and it was a record for the 
shortest regular quarterly meeting in recent 
memory – just about two hours!  I want to thank 
the Board members who take their duties 
seriously for being fully prepared for the 
meeting, and the great staff of the Board for 
supporting the Board and its many committees 
so well by organizing the materials and 
supporting documents. We appreciate your 
professionalism.   
 
Mark Mrnak, our Director of Standards and 
Enforcement Services (SES) for the past 3 years 
has resigned. We thank Mark for his service to 
the agency, including leading the SES team as we 
achieved our exceptional  federal audit results in 
February 2014, and we wish him well. With 
Mark’s  departure, we welcome Troy Beaulieu as 
the new Director of SES. Troy has worked as an 
attorney in SES for almost 10 years and most 
recently served as managing attorney for the 
team.  
 
At the meeting, the Board proposed a new 
definition of “appraisal experience” to clarify that 
qualifying experience may only be gained by 
actually performing valuation related service 
tasks, not merely accompanying or observing 
others while they perform such tasks.  We also 
proposed a “penalty matrix” rule to guide the 
staff’s work in resolving complaints against 
Appraisal Management Companies. We have a 
similar rule for complaints against appraisers.             
 
By the time you read this, the 84th regular 
session of the Legislature will be over (on June 1).  

The Board’s bill 
(SB1007) 
successfully 
passed without 
significant changes 
to those requested 
last year in the 
Board’s workshop 
in November. We 
now await the 
Governor’s 
signature. On 
behalf of the 
Board, I want to 
thank the 
Foundation 
Appraiser Coalition of Texas (FACT) which spent 
the most time and energy on ensuring the bill’s 
successful passage. Without their efforts and 
support, we would have a much more uncertain 
path to achieving desirable updates to our 
enabling legislation. Thank you to the appraiser 
professional organizations which together 
comprise FACT.  We rely on your continued 
cooperation for our success.       
      
The months ahead will be filled with 
opportunities for stakeholder input as the Board 
crafts rules to implement the changes made 
possible by the passage of SB 1007. We 
encourage you to watch the Board’s website and 
this e-newsletter for scheduled meetings and 
agenda as we commence this process. We invite 
your active and continued participation. Thank 
you all.     
 

Chair, Jamie Wickliffe 
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The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board publishes their enforcement actions 

regularly on the new TALCB website. To read the reports please go to the TALCB website and 

click on, public and disciplinary actions.   

TALCB Enforcement Actions 

Texas Appraiser Trainee/Sponsor Course Required 
After September 1, 2015 

 As of September 1, 2015, all appraiser trainees 
and their sponsoring appraisers must 
complete an approved Appraiser Trainee/
Sponsor Course before renewing their license. 
Going forward, appraiser trainees and 
sponsoring appraisers will need to retake and 
complete the Appraiser Trainee/Sponsor 
Course at least once every four years. 

  

Q:   What does this mean to an appraiser 
trainee or a sponsoring appraiser whose 
renewal date is after September 1, 2015?   

  

A:   If you are an appraiser trainee, you must 
complete the Appraiser Trainee/Sponsor 
course before your license renewal date to 
renew your appraiser trainee license on 
active status.  If you have not taken the 
Appraiser Trainee/Sponsor Course, you 
may only renew your appraiser trainee 
license on inactive status. After you have 
completed the course, you may reactivate 
your license.    

  

If you are a sponsoring appraiser, and you 
have not completed this course, you will no 
longer be eligible to sponsor an appraiser 
trainee. While you may not sponsor 
appraiser trainees,  you may renew your 
license and continue to work as an 
appraiser without having completed the 
course. After September 1, 2015, if a 
sponsoring appraiser has not taken this 
course at the time of renewal, the 
sponsoring appraiser trainee’s relationships 
will be terminated. These relationships may 
be reestablished after the sponsoring 
appraiser has completed the course.  

  

To prevent any disruption to your business, we 
encourage all appraiser trainees and 
sponsoring appraisers whose license will come 
up for renewal after September 1, 2015, to 
take the course well in advance of your 
renewal date. 

We Hope you “Like” Us!  
Did you know TALCB is on Social Media?  We have a 

Facebook page and we are on Twitter. Be sure to check 

us out and “like” us. We post regular updates and love 

to interact with our license holders!  

https://www.talcb.texas.gov/apps/disciplinary-actions/
https://www.talcb.texas.gov/apps/disciplinary-actions/
https://www.facebook.com/talcb?ref=hl
https://twitter.com/TRECommission
https://www.facebook.com/talcb?ref=hl
https://twitter.com/TRECommission
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In the aftermath of the savings and loan crisis in the 
late 1980s, Congress enacted the Financial 
Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act 
of 1989 (FIRREA), which required the States to 
establish requirements that meet or exceed the 
minimum criteria issued by the Appraiser 
Qualifications Board (AQB) of The Appraisal 
Foundation (TAF).  The Texas Legislature 
subsequently placed these requirements in the Texas 
Appraiser Licensing and Certification Act (Act).  
Among other things, the AQB criteria requires the 
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
(Board) to evaluate the experience of all those 
applying for a license or certification for compliance 
with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 
Practice (USPAP). 

In addition to requiring USPAP compliant experience, 
the AQB criteria details acceptable categories of 
appraisal experience: “Acceptable real property 
appraisal practice for experience credit includes 
appraisal, appraisal review, appraisal consulting, and 
mass appraisal . . . An applicant’s experience must be 
in appraisal work conforming to Standards 1, 2, 3, 4, 
5, and/or 6, where the appraiser demonstrates 
proficiency in appraisal principles, methodology, 
procedures (development), and reporting 
conclusions.”  In Board rule 153.15 the Board 
reaffirms the AQB criteria and the requirement that 
appraisal experience comply with USPAP. 

Additionally, Board rule 153.15 allows experience 
credit for ad valorem tax appraisals that conform to 
USPAP Standard 6 and demonstrate “proficiency in 
appraisal principles, techniques, or skills used by 
appraisers practicing under USPAP Standard 1.”  Ad 
valorem is Latin for “according to value.” Thus, ad 
valorem taxation is taxation according to the value of 
property.  In Texas, the Property Tax Code sets out 
the requirements for ad valorem taxation and 
establishes appraisal districts.  Each appraisal district 
is responsible for appraising property in the district 
for ad valorem tax purposes.  Typically, the 
professionals working for the appraisal districts value 
property using mass appraisal, which is the valuation 
of a universe of properties (many properties) using 
standard methodology, employing common data, and 
allowing for statistical testing.  The Board does not 
license the professionals working for the respective 
appraisal districts; instead, the Texas Department of 
Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) certifies the 
professionals working for the appraisal districts.  
Similar to the Act, the Property Tax Code requires that 
mass appraisals produced by appraisal districts 
comply with USPAP. 

Before submitting ad valorem tax appraisal 
experience to the Board, an applicant should confirm 
the experience complies with USPAP.  As part of the 
application for a license or certification, a Board 
investigator will review the experience submitted by 
obtaining representative samples of the applicant’s 
work product (appraisal reports and workfiles) to 
ensure the claimed experience complies with USPAP.  
If the ad valorem tax work involves mass appraisal, 
part of the investigator’s review will include checking 
for compliance with USPAP Standard 6, which sets 
forth the standards for mass appraisal development 
and reporting.  Therefore, an applicant with ad 
valorem tax experience involving mass appraisal 
must be sure to comply with USPAP Standard 6.  
Likewise, if the ad valorem tax experience contains 
real property appraisals, also known as fee 
appraisals, the experience should comply with USPAP 
Standards 1 and 2. Either way, if the ad valorem tax 
appraisal experience does not comply with USPAP, 
the Board may deny the applicant’s application for 
license or certification under Board rule 153.15. 

Furthermore, any ad valorem mass appraisal 
experience must also demonstrate proficiency in 
appraisal principles, techniques, or skills used by 
appraisers practicing under USPAP Standard 1, which 
sets forth the standards for real property appraisal 
development.  Consequently, the ad valorem mass 
appraisal experience must demonstrate proficiency in 
the principles, techniques, or skills used by appraisers 
practicing under USPAP Standard 1.  If the ad valorem 
mass appraisal experience does not demonstrate 
proficiency in appraisal principles, techniques, or 
skills used by appraisers practicing under USPAP 
Standard 1, the Board may deny the applicant’s 
application for license or certification under Board 
rule 153.15. 

Fortunately, there is some overlap between USPAP 
Standard 1 and USPAP Standard 6.  An applicant 
submitting ad valorem mass appraisal experience 
should identify the areas in the mass appraisal that 
demonstrate proficiency in real property appraisal 
principles, techniques, or skills by appraisers 
practicing under USPAP Standard 1.  The applicant’s 
identification of USPAP Standard 1 appraisal 
principles, techniques, or skills will greatly assist the 
Board’s determination on whether to award credit for 
the ad valorem tax appraisal experience. 

Experience Credit for Ad Valorem Tax Appraisals 
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TALCB Education Committee Meeting—July 23 

TALCB AMC Committee Meeting and Enforcement Committee 

Meeting—July 24 

TALCB Board Meeting—August 14 

Check the TALCB website regularly for postings of all of our 

upcoming meetings.  

IMPORTANT DATES TO REMEMBER 

Rules and Forms Actions at the May 15th Board Meeting 
The Board took the following actions regarding 
rules and forms at its meeting on May 15, 2015.  
You may review the full text of all rules actions on 
the Rules and Laws section of the TALCB website.  
The revised forms are available on the Forms 
section of the TALCB website.  
 
RULES FOR ADOPTION 

The Board adopted amendments to the following 
rules at its meeting on May 15, 2015.  These 
amendments will be effective June 10, 2015. 
  
22 TAC §153.24. Complaint Processing 
The amendments to this rule correct a 
typographical error to align the rule with the 
Board’s statutory authority. 
 
RULES FOR PROPOSAL 
The Board proposed amendments to the following 
rules at the Board meeting on May 15, 2015.  
These proposed amendments will be on the 
agenda for adoption by the Board at the August 
14, 2015 meeting.  You may review the full text of 
the proposed amendments on the Rules and Laws 
section of the TALCB website.  Written comments 
on the proposed amendments may be sent to 
general.counsel@talcb.texas.gov and must be 
received before 5:00pm on Friday, July 24, 2015 to 
be included in the materials for the August 
meeting.  After that date, comments must be made 
in person at the meeting. 

22 TAC §153.1. Definitions 
The proposed amendments to this rule add a 
definition of “real estate appraisal experience.” 

22 TAC §155.2. Work Relating to Property Tax 
Protests 
The proposed amendments to this rule correct a 
typographical error to reflect the proper statutory 
reference.  

22 TAC §159.204. Appraisal Management Company 
Complaint Processing 
The proposed amendments to this rule implement 
a penalty matrix for complaints filed against an 
appraisal management company. 
 
FORMS 
The Board adopted revisions to the following 
forms, effective May 15, 2015: 
 

1) Application for Registration as 
an AMC (AMC-2) 
2) Renewal of Registration as an 
AMC (AMCR-1) 

 
The revised forms are available on the Forms 
section of the TALCB website. 

https://www.talcb.texas.gov/agency-information/rules-and-laws
https://www.talcb.texas.gov/appraiser-forms
https://www.talcb.texas.gov/appraiser-forms
https://www.talcb.texas.gov/agency-information/rules-and-laws
https://www.talcb.texas.gov/agency-information/rules-and-laws
mailto:general.counsel@talcb.texas.gov
https://www.talcb.texas.gov/appraiser-forms
https://www.talcb.texas.gov/appraiser-forms
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Inside this Issue:  From the Chair (page 1) Bonding of the Gas Supply System 

FAQ’s (page 2)  

Inspector Insight 
 
The Texas Real Estate Inspector Committee is as an advisory 
committee to the Texas Real Estate Commission on matters 
pertaining to the licensing and regulation of real estate 
inspectors. The Committee recommends rules and policies that 
ensure inspections meet high professional standards and 
enhance consumer protection.  

Welcome to summer, the busiest season for 

most service providers in the real estate 

sector.  I trust you will all be quite busy and I 

wish you great success in serving your 

customers professionally. Aim high!    

At its most recent meeting on May 4, the 

Commission adopted the recommendation of 

the Inspector Advisory Committee to amend 

the consumer notice provision contained in 

the standard Property Inspection Report form 

to clarify that potential hazards exist if gas 

distribution systems, including CSST, are not 

bonded.  We thank the Commission for 

implementing our recommendation and 

believe consumers across Texas will be well 

served by becoming better educated on this 

important topic.    

Some inspectors have raised concerns that this 

minor edit potentially opens inspectors to 

increased liability.  The Committee and the 

agency disagree that this single clarification 

imposes any new burden or responsibility on 

the inspector. The official interpretation is 

explained in the FAQ article printed in the last 

e-newsletter and reprinted here for emphasis.  

Please read it carefully. Thanks.  

There are some 

who believe we 

have more work to 

do in this area, and 

the Committee 

welcomes their 

participation as we 

begin a review of 

the Standards of 

Practice (SoP) and a 

review of our 

Education requirements – both of which will 

commence in June 2015 and last for at least a 

year or more.   The SoP Subcommittee will 

meet on June 8th and 22nd to begin its work. 

The Inspector Committee will next meet on 

June 22nd as well. We welcome your 

attendance and will solicit your input on 

important issues as we investigate 

opportunities to make progress.  We are 

always open to suggestions for improvements.    

We look forward to continuing the great work 
assigned to this Committee – protecting Texas 
consumers by upholding high standards.  
Wishing you very enjoyable and safe travels, 
recreation and vacations!   

Steven Rinehart, Chair 
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TREIC SOP Committee Meeting— via teleconference— 

8:30am 

Check the TREC website regularly for postings of all of our 

upcoming meetings.  

 IMPORTANT DATES TO REMEMBER 

BONDING OF THE GAS SUPPLY SYSTEM - WHAT IS THE 
INSPECTOR’S DUTY UNDER THE STANDARDS OF PRACTICE? 

Q: Do the Standards of Practice (SOPs) require 

an inspector to check the bonding of a gas 

supply system? 

A: YES.  Section 535.229 of the SOPs (22 TAC 

535.227-535.332) requires an inspector to 

report as deficient any “deficiencies in bonding 

and grounding.” Before the  most recent 

revision of the SOPs adopted by the 

Commission in May of 2013, Section 535.229 

specified that an inspector was required to 

report as deficient “appliances and metal pipes 

that are not bonded or grounded.” The change 

in language was not intended as a substantive 

change regarding what is required of the 

inspector.  Rather, the change was made to 

eliminate redundancies in the language 

concerning bonding and grounding throughout 

the SOPs.  

Q: Does this requirement include Corrugated 

Stainless Steel Tubing (CSST)?  

A: YES.  This requirement applies to ALL metal 

pipes, including CSST, which is just one of the 

materials that may be used in a gas supply or 

distribution system.     

Q: Do the SOPs require an inspector to 

determine if CSST is present?   

A: NO.  The SOPs don’t require an inspector to 

determine if CSST is present in a home.  

However, if CSST is noted during an inspection, 

the inspector is required to determine if CSST 

is bonded, subject to any limitations in the 

SOPs. This determination does not prevent an 

inspector from specifically reporting the 

presence of CSST or referring a client to 

additional information regarding the product.  

Q: Do the SOPs require an inspector to 

determine if CSST is properly bonded?  

A: NO.  The inspector is only required to 

determine if the gas supply system is bonded 

and not whether it’s “properly” bonded.   The 

determination as to whether a gas supply 

system is properly bonded should be left to a 

person with the required expertise to do so, 

such as a licensed master electrician.  

Q: Does the recent addition to the preamble of 

the Inspection Report Form, which lists the lack 

of bonding of the gas supply system as a 

hazard, place any additional burdens on the 

inspector? 

A: NO.  An inspector is required by the SOPs to 

report the lack of bonding of the gas supply 

system, regardless of any language in the 

preamble of the inspection report form. The 

added language in the preamble of the report 

enhances consumer protection by providing 

the consumer with notice regarding the 

potential hazard caused by lack of bonding.   

http://www.trec.state.tx.us/newsandpublic/meeting.asp

