Proposed Rules that may affect Qualifying and Non-Elective CE Providers on January 1, 2016 -
(item added 9/15/2015)
The proposed rules that may affect Qualifying and Non-Elective CE Providers on January 1, 2016 may be found on the TREC Rules page of the website. Any comments pertaining to the proposed rules may be directed to the General Counsel at firstname.lastname@example.org no later than October 5, 2015. . . . read more
Updated Broker Responsibility Requirements -
(item added 3/11/2015)
A business entity must be qualified to transact business in Texas to receive a broker license. Effective March 4, 2015, to qualify for, maintain, or renew a license,
a business entity must designate an individual who holds an active Texas real estate broker license and who is in good standing with the Commission to act for it.
An individual licensed broker is not in good standing with the Commission if:
- the broker’s license was revoked or suspended, including probated revocation or suspension, in the past two years;
- a business entity licensed by the Commission while the broker was the designated broker for that business entity had its license revoked or suspended,
including probated revocation or suspension, in the past two years;
- the broker has any unpaid or past due monetary obligations to the Commission, including administrative penalties and recovery fund payments;
- a business entity licensed by the Commission has any unpaid or past due monetary obligations to the Commission, including administrative penalties and recovery
fund payments, that were incurred while the broker was the designated broker for the entity.
New CE Posting System is Up and Running! -
(item added 1/30/2015)
The new CE reporting process is officially launched. Instructions and
FAQs on how to use the new posting system were sent via email to
TREC-approved CE providers. CE providers should begin to use the posting
system immediately to ensure prompt posting of CE. This will enable
license holders to renew timely without paying CE deferral fees if all CE
is complete and posted prior to renewing the license.
CE providers who have posted education by sending TREC an XML file through
use of the web service may continue to do so until further notice.
Providers will still be required to retain course completion documents in
a paper or electronic file for TREC review or audit; however, rosters and
other CE documents should no longer be sent to TREC via email or fax. CE
providers who have not received an email with posting instructions should
contact TREC at email@example.com.
Renewal Fees and Continuing Education (CE) –
(item added 12/17/2014)
Effective January 1, 2015, if Commission records do not show that you have completed your CE at the time you submit your renewal application, you must pay a $200 CE deferral fee, or renew in INACTIVE status. Paying the deferral fee will allow you to continue to be active in real estate activities and give you an additional 60 days from your expiration date to complete your CE.
Instructor Training Sessions Available -
(item added 9/26/2014)
The current version of TREC’s Broker Responsibility course will expire on December 31, 2014. MCE providers who plan to offer the new course must submit an MCE Course Application Supplement Form (MCE_CAS-2) for approval well before January 1, 2015, which is the date the new course can begin to be offered. The current version of the course will expire on December 31, 2014 and credit will not be awarded to students who complete the current version after that date.
The new Broker Responsibility course is currently available for instructor training sessions. The Broker Responsibility course must be offered by a TREC approved MCE provider and taught by an instructor who has attended instructor training and is certified to teach the course..
TREC rules require that prior to attending an instructor training course a person must have Core/Qualifying instructor approval with (a) a college degree in the subject area of Real Estate or five years of professional experience in the subject areas of Principles of Real Estate, Law of Agency, and Law of Contracts and (b) three years’ experience in teaching or training; or (c) the equivalent of (a) and (b) as determined by the commission after due consideration of the applicant's professional experience, research, authorship or other significant endeavors in the subject area.
If you want to teach the new course and are currently approved as a Core Instructor but have not been approved to teach the above subject areas, submit a request to firstname.lastname@example.org for your file to be reviewed towards meeting these requirements. No fee is required.
If you want to teach the new course and you are not currently an approved Core Instructor, please submit the form entitled “Instructor Application-Core and MCE Non-Elective Courses (ED_INE-1).” Forms may be downloaded from the TREC website at: www.trec.texas.gov
All instructors who are qualified and want to teach the new revised Broker Responsibility Course must become certified by attending an instructor training session through the Real Estate Center. Instructors who are approved to teach the required Core courses and are eligible to attend the training sessions may register at http://recenter.tamu.edu/register.
Pearson VUE to Administer Licensing Exams in Texas –
(item added 8/19/2014)
Effective September 2, 2014, the Texas Real Estate Commission and the Texas Appraiser Licensing & Certification Board examinations will be administered by Pearson VUE. Applicants who have received their Candidate Information Brochure, may contact Pearson VUE on August 28, 2014 at 1-800-997-1248 and begin scheduling exam appointments. PSI will provide the exams through August 31, 2014.
The real estate exams are offered in two portions; State and National. If an applicant passes one portion of the exam through PSI, the failed portion will need to be passed through Pearson VUE. Both portions will not be required to be passed through Pearson VUE . . . read more.
Revised Contract Forms Effective June 1, 2014 -
(item added 5/6/2014)
The following contract forms have been adopted by the Commission for mandatory use effective June 1, 2014 and may be downloaded from the TREC website at http://www.trec.texas.gov/formslawscontracts/forms/forms-contracts.asp:
- Unimproved Property Contract – Form #9-11
- One to Four Family Residential Contract (Resale) – Form #20-12
- New Home Contract (Incomplete Construction) – Form #23-13
- New Home Contract (Completed Construction) – Form #24-13
- Farm and Ranch Contract – Form #25-10
- Residential Condominium Contract (Resale) – Form #30-11
The Commission also adopted a new Reverse Mortgage Financing Addendum for voluntary use.
The draft version of the changes made to the above contract forms may be obtained from our website at http://www.trec.texas.gov/formslawscontracts/forms/forms-drafts.asp.
Commission and Board Announces New Electronic Minutes -
(item added 6/6/2013)
TREC and TALCB meeting minutes now integrated with video and easier to use.. . . read more
ARELLO supervising broker best practices -
(item added 12/20/2012)
The Association of Real Estate Regulatory Officials (ARELLO) has created a guide of best practices for assist a broker who is considering operating a real estate brokerage, as this endeavor comes with much responsibility and liability. ARELLO prepared this as a basic template that can be modified by brokers to fit the particular set of policies, laws and rules in their respective jurisdiction. Brokers are encouraged to seek legal
counsel in the development of their company policies and procedures. To download the full guide click here.
The new Inspector Exam will be effective on January 1, 2013
(item added 12/10/2012)
All new applicants, including applicants who filed an application prior to January 1, 2013 and have not taken the exam, will be required to take a new exam for licensure effective January 1, 2013. . . read more.
Changes affecting Core & MCE Providers -
(item added 11/29/2012)
Rules were adopted at the November Commission meeting that will affect proprietary schools (providers of Core real estate education) and Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE) providers. Changes will be in effect on January 1, 2013. . . read more.
Open Positions on the TREC Inspector Committee -
(item added 11/20/2012)
The Texas Real Estate Commission has two Inspector member positions and
one public member position open for appointment to the Real Estate
Inspector Committee. The appointments are for a six year term.
The committee's function is to make recommendations to the Commission
regarding a variety of inspection-related matters toward the goal of
ensuring a high degree of service to and protection of the public in
dealing with home inspectors. The committee consists of six professional
inspectors and three public members. Following the Commission's model,
public members may not hold occupational licenses in the real estate field
(appraiser, real estate broker/salesperson, mortgage broker, etc.).
The committee is permitted to meet by teleconference, although it is
anticipated that some travel to Austin will be necessary. Limited funds
may be available for travel reimbursement, but members are not compensated
for their time. All committee meetings must comply with the Open Meetings
Individuals wishing to be considered for appointment should send a letter
and resume to TREC's general counsel at
via mail at Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, TX
78711-2188, or by fax to 512-936-3788.
Salespersons Apprentice Education (SAE) Requirements -
(item added 8/23/2012)
Pursuant to Senate Bill 747 the education requirements for a salesperson license will change effective September 1, 2012. The initial salesperson license will issue for a two--year period and the licensee must complete the renewal education requirement by the end of the two year license term. Prior to September 1, 2012, some salespersons under the Salesperson Annual Education (SAE) requirements were to complete courses on an annual basis. On September 1, 2012 and after, Salespersons will be required to complete their education renewal requirements during the two year license term. Therefore, the meaning of the acronym for SAE will change from Salespersons “Annual” Education to Salespersons “Apprentice” Education.
New Inspector Exam Postponed until January 1, 2013 -
(item added 8/02/2012)
The rollout of the new inspector exam will be postponed until January 1, 2013. The new exam was scheduled for implementation on September 1, 2012. The additional time will allow new exam questions to be pretested and will provide additional time for education providers to prepare students and applicants for the exam. Recall that the new exam will be composed of two parts: a National Home Inspector Examination (NHIE) and a Texas State specific exam. The two-part exam will now be implemented on January 1, 2013.
TREIC Approves New Inspector Exam -
(item added 6/20/2012)
As of September 1, 2012, all new applicants for a Real Estate Inspector license will be required to take a new exam for licensure. The new exam is composed of two- parts, a national Home Inspector Examination (NHIE) and a Texas State specific exam
. . . read more.
Salespersons Pre-Licensing Education Requirements -
(item added 5/22/2012)
Pursuant to Senate Bill 747 the education requirements for a salesperson license will change effective September 1, 2012. Pre-licensing education requirements will change from a total of 210 hours to 180 core hours
. . . read more.
Broker Responsibility Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE) Course -
(item added 5/21/2012)
Effective for licenses on active status that expire after August 31, 2012, a broker who sponsors a salesperson, a designated broker of a business entity, or a license holder who is a delegated supervisor of one or more license holders for six months or more during the current license must attend a six hour broker responsibility course required by §1101.458 of the Act. . . . read more.
A licensee who completes their education requirements prior to July 1, 2012 will not be required to complete the broker responsibility course until their next renewal cycle.
Broker Responsibility MCE Course Instructor Training -
(item added 4/17/2012)
The Real Estate Center at Texas A&M will offer train-the-trainer workshops to certify instructors to teach the new Broker Responsibility course. Instructors who are eligible to attend the training sessions may go to the Real Estate Center website at http://recenter.tamu.edu/register to register for training sessions that will begin in May, contingent upon the Commission approving the Broker Responsibility Course.
. . . read more.
My License Update-
(item added 2/16/2012)
TREC and TALCB have launched a new online services tool featuring faster registration, easy to understand menus and more online tools to help licensees manage their licenses. . . . read more.
Find former "new" items in the What's New Archive