
Texas Real Estate Commission  
Rules Proposed at the May 7, 2012 Meeting  
Chapter 535, General Provisions 

Page 1 of 2 

 

Subchapter I. Licenses. 
 
§535.92.  Renewal:  Time for Filing; 
Satisfaction of Mandatory 
Continuing Education Requirements 
The Texas Real Estate Commission 
proposes amendments to §535.92, 
concerning Renewal: Time for Filing; 
Satisfaction of Mandatory Continuing 
Education Requirements. The amendment 
removes the reference to the MCE deferral 
fee and late reporting fee because the fees 
will be reflected in amendments to 
§535.101, concerning Fees. 
Loretta R. DeHay, General Counsel, has 
determined that for the first five-year period 
the proposed amendments are in effect there 
will be no fiscal implications for the state or 
for units of local government as a result of 
enforcing or administering the amendments. 
There is no anticipated significant impact on 
small businesses, micro-businesses or local 
or state employment as a result of 
implementing the amendments. There is no 
significant anticipated economic cost to 
persons who are required to comply with the 
proposed amendments. 
Ms. DeHay also has determined that for 
each year of the first five years the 
amendments as proposed are in effect the 
public benefit anticipated as a result of 
enforcing the amendments will be 
consistency between 22 TAC Chapter 534 
and Chapter 535. 
Comments on the proposal may be 
submitted to Loretta R. DeHay, General 
Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, 
P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188. 
The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register.  
The amendments are proposed under Texas 
Occupations Code, §1101.151, which 
authorizes the Texas Real Estate 
Commission to adopt and enforce rules 
necessary to administer Chapters 1101 and 
1102; and to establish standards of conduct 
and ethics for its licensees to fulfill the 
purposes of Chapters 1101 and 1102 and 
ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 
1102. 

The statute affected by this proposal is 
Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1101. No 
other statute, code or article is affected by 
the proposed amendments.  
§535.92.    Renewal:    Time  for  Filing; 
Satisfaction  of  Mandatory  Continuing 
Education Requirements  
(a) ‐ (f)(No change.)  

(g)Notwithstanding any provisions of  the Act 
to  the  contrary,  when  a  licensee  in  an  active 
status  files  a  timely  application  to  renew  a 
current  license  and  has  satisfied  all 
requirements  other  than  the  completion  of 
applicable MCE  requirements,  the  commission 
shall  renew  the  current  license  in  an  active 
status.  

  (1)If  the  licensee  has  not  completed  MCE 
requirements  prior  to  the  expiration  of  the 
current  license,  the  licensee  must,  within  60 
days after the effective date of the new license, 
pay  an  additional MCE  deferral  fee  [of  $200] 
AND  complete  the  required  number  of  MCE 
hours.  

  (2)If, within 15 days after  the end of  the 60 
day  period  set  out  in  paragraph  (1)  of  this 
subsection,  the  commission  has  not  been 
provided  with  evidence  that  the  licensee  has 
completed  the  required number of MCE hours 
and  paid  the MCE  deferral  fee  [of  $200],  the 
renewed  license  shall  be  placed  on  inactive 
status.  

  (3)In order  to reactivate a  license placed on 
inactive  status  under  this  subsection,  the 
licensee must:  

    (A)provide  the  commission  with  evidence 
that  the  licensee  has  completed  the  required 
MCE hours;  

    (B)certify,  on  a  form  acceptable  to  the 
commission,  that  the  licensee has not engaged 
in activity  requiring a  license at any  time after 
the license became inactive;  

    (C)complete  and  submit  a  Request  to 
Return  to  Active  Status  Form  if  a  broker  or  a 
Salesperson  Sponsorship  Form  if a  salesperson 
and pay the appropriate fee;  

    (D)if  the  license  was  placed  on  inactive 
status because the  licensee failed to timely pay 
the  [$200]  MCE  deferral  fee  required  by 
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paragraph  (1)  of  this  subsection,  the  licensee 
must,  because  the  licensee  received  the 
benefits of  the 60‐day deferral, pay  the  [$200] 
MCE deferral fee; and  

    (E)pay a late reporting fee [of $250].  

  (4)(No change.)  

(h) ‐ (m)(No change.) 

This agency hereby certifies that the 
proposal has been reviewed by legal counsel 
and found to be within the agency's legal 
authority to adopt.  
Filed with the Office of the Secretary of 
State on May 14, 2012. 
TRD# 201202404 

Loretta R. DeHay 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption:  8/13/12 


