Texas Real Estate Commission

Rules Proposed at the May 7, 2012 Meeting

Chapter 535, General Provisions

Subchapter |. Licenses.
$535.91. Renewal Notices

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC)
proposes  amendments to  8535.91,
concerning Renewal Notices.  The
amendments are proposed to implement the
relevant provisions of Senate Bill (SB) 747,
82nd Texas Legislature, Regular Session
(2011). In part, SB 747 amends Texas
Occupations Code, §1101.458 to require that
certain licensees take a six-hour broker
responsibility course to renew a license.

The amendments to 8535.91 clarify that a
broker who has delegated licensees
supervisory authority under 8§535.2 must
notify the commission, within 30 days of
delegation or termination of delegation, the
name or names of such licensees. In
addition, the amendments provide that
licensees who are required to take the broker
responsibility course and have already
completed their MCE requirements prior to
July 1, 2012 may, but are not required to
take, the broker responsibility course for the
first renewal of their license after September
1, 2012.

Loretta R. DeHay, General Counsel, has
determined that for the first five-year period
the amendments are in effect there will be
no fiscal implications for the state or for
units of local government as a result of
enforcing or administering the amendments.
There is no anticipated impact on small
businesses, micro-businesses or local or
state employment as a result of
implementing the amendments. There is no
anticipated economic cost to persons who
are required to comply with the proposed
amendments.

Ms. DeHay also has determined that for
each year of the first five years the
amendments as proposed are in effect the
public benefit anticipated as a result of
enforcing the amendments will be
consistency between the Texas Occupations
Code, Chapter 1101 and 22 TAC Chapter
535.

Comments on the proposal may be
submitted to Loretta R. DeHay, General
Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission,

P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188.
The deadline for comments is 30 days after
publication in the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas
Occupations Code, 8§1101.151, which
authorizes the Texas Real Estate
Commission to adopt and enforce rules
necessary to administer Chapters 1101 and
1102; and to establish standards of conduct
and ethics for its licensees to fulfill the
purposes of Chapters 1101 and 1102 and
ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and
1102.

The statute affected by this proposal is
Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1101. No
other statute, code or article is affected by
the proposed amendments.

§535.91. Renewal Notices.
(a) - (c)(No change.)

(d)A broker shall provide to the
commission, within 30 days of delegation,
the name of each license holder who s
anticipated to be or has been a delegated
supervisor of one or more license holders
pursuant to §535.2 of this chapter (relating
to Broker Responsibility) for six months or
more during the course of the current
license, or the termination of such

delegation by:

(1)initiating the appropriate
transaction, if available, through the TREC
online license  _management _ system,
including payment of any required fees; or

(2)submitting a notice on a form
approved by the commission for this
purpose, if any.

(e)Licensees who are otherwise required
to take the broker responsibility course
who have completed all MCE requirements
prior to July 1, 2012 may, but are not
required to take the course for the first
renewal of their license after September 1,
2012.

(4] The commission shall mail a
license renewal notice three months before
the expiration of the current license. Failure
to receive a license renewal notice does not
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relieve a licensee of the obligation to renew
a license.

(g)[¢e}] A licensee shall provide
information requested by the commission
in connection with an application to renew
a license within 30 days after the
commission requests the information.
Failure to provide information requested by
the commission in connection with a
renewal application within the required
time is grounds for disciplinary action under
§1101.656 of the Act.

(h)[{B)] If a licensee is unable to renew a
license on the commission's Internet
website, the licensee may renew an
unexpired license by obtaining a renewal
application form from the Texas Real Estate
Commission, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas
78711-2188 and complying with the
commission's requirements.

This agency hereby certifies that the proposal
has been reviewed by legal counsel and found
to be within the agency's legal authority to
adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on
May 14, 2012.

TRD# 201202403

Loretta R. DeHay

General Counsel

Texas Real Estate Commission
Earliest possible date of adoption:
8/13/2012
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