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22 TAC §535.93 Late Renewal 
Applications 

 
The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) 
adopts new '535.93 concerning Late Renewal 
Applications without changes to the proposed text 
as published in the January 1, 2010, issue of the 
Texas Register (35 TexReg 26), which will not be 
republished. Section 1101.451, Texas 
Occupations Code, permits a licensee whose 
license has been expired for not more than a year 
to renew the license by paying an increased fee 
depending on how long the license has been 
expired.  New '535.93 permits a person with an 
expired salesperson or broker license to 
retroactively renew the previous license if the 
application to renew was filed less than one year 
from the expiration of the previous license.  The 
new rule requires the commission to renew the 
license in an active status except as provided by 
the section. In order to retroactively renew a 
salesperson’s license on active status, a 
salesperson applicant must provide certification of 
sponsorship for the period from the day after the 
license expired to the day the license issued, and 
for the period beginning on the day after the 
renewal license is issued, and otherwise comply 
with the section. If Mandatory Continuing 
Education (MCE) requirements are not met prior 
to the previous license expiration date, an 
applicant who wishes to renew the license on 
active status must pay an addition $200 fee and 
complete the MCE not later than the 60th day after 
the expiration of the previous license.  If the 
application to renew is filed more than 60 days 
but less than one year after the previous license 
expired and MCE requirements were not met 
before the license expired, the applicant must pay 
a $200 MCE deferral fee, a $250 late reporting 
fee, complete the MCE, and if a salesperson, 
provide certification of sponsorship for the period 
in which the license was expired to the day the 
license issued, and for the period beginning on the 
day after the renewal license is issued.  

The reasoned justification for the amendment is 
full implementation of the statutory grace period 
in §1101.451, Texas Occupations Code as more 
fully described above. 

No comments were received regarding the 
amendment as proposed. 

The amendment is adopted under Texas 
Occupations Code, §1101.151, which authorizes 
the Texas Real Estate Commission to make and 
enforce all rules and regulations necessary for the 
performance of its duties and to establish 
standards of conduct and ethics for its licensees in 
keeping with the purpose and intent of Chapters 
1101 and 1102 to ensure compliance with the 
provisions of the chapters.  

The statute affected by this adoption is Texas 
Occupations Code, Chapter 1101. No other 
statute, code or article is affected by the 
amendment. 

 
Section 535.93 Late Renewal Applications.  

(a) A licensee who files a late application to 
renew a previous license less than one year 
after the expiration of the license must do so 
on a form approved by the commission for that 
purpose and is subject to the requirements of 
this section and Tex. Occ. Code §1101.451(e). 
The commission shall renew the license in an 
active status except as provided by this section. 
A license issued under this section is effective 
the day following the expiration of the previous 
license.     

(b) To renew a license on active status 
without any lapse in active licensure, a 
salesperson must also submit a Salesperson 
Sponsorship Form certifying sponsorship for the 
period from the day after the previous license 
expired to the day the renewal license issued, 
and for the period beginning on the day after 
the renewal license issued. The same broker 
may be the sponsor for both periods. The 
commission shall renew the license on inactive 
status for the period(s) in which the 
salesperson was not sponsored.  
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 (c) A licensee who has not completed all 
Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE) before 
the expiration of the previous license and who 
files a late application not later than the 60th 
day after the expiration of the previous license 
may renew the license on active status subject 
to the following conditions. 

(1) Not later than the 60th day after the 
expiration of the previous license, the licensee 
must: 

(A) pay an MCE deferral fee of $200; 
and 

(B) complete the MCE. 

(2)  If, within 15 days after the end of 
the 60-day period set out in paragraph (1) of 
this subsection, the commission has not been 
provided with evidence that the licensee has 
completed the MCE and paid the MCE deferral 
fee of $200, the renewed license shall be 
placed on inactive status.  In order to 
reactivate a license placed on inactive status 
under this subsection, the licensee must: 

(A) provide the commission with 
evidence that the licensee has completed the 
MCE;  

(B) pay the $200 MCE deferral fee if 
it has not yet been paid; 

(C) complete and submit a Request 
to Return to Active Status Form if a broker or a 
Salesperson Sponsorship Form if a salesperson 
and pay the appropriate fee; and 

(D) pay a late reporting fee of $250.  

(d) If a licensee who has not completed all 
MCE before the expiration of the previous 
license files a late application to renew the 
license in an active status more than 60 days 
but less than one year from the expiration of 
the license, the licensee must:  

(1) provide the commission with 
evidence that the licensee has completed the 
MCE;  

(2) pay the $200 MCE deferral fee; 

(3) complete and submit a Salesperson 
Sponsorship Form if a salesperson; and 

(4) pay a late reporting fee of $250.  

(e) If a licensee files a late application to 
renew a license in an active status and has 
completed all MCE before the expiration of the 
previous license, the licensee is not required to 
pay the $200 MCE deferral fee or the $250 late 
reporting fee.   

(f) MCE completed after expiration of the 
previous license under this section may not be 
applied to any subsequent renewal of the 
license. 

(g) A licensee may file a late application to 
renew a license on inactive status under this 
section.  

This agency hereby certifies that the adoption has 
been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be 
within the agency’s legal authority to adopt. 

Issued in Austin, Texas on February 9, 2010. 
 
TRD #:  201000618 
Loretta R. DeHay 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Effective Date: September 1, 2010 


