Texas Real Estate Commission
Chapter 535, General Provisions

Rules Adoeted at the Februarx 27, 2012 Commission MeetinE

Subchapter T. Easement of Right-of-Way
Agents
§535.400, §535.403-535.405

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC)
adopts amendments to 8535.400, concerning
Registration of Easement or Right-of-Way
Agents, and 8535.403, concerning Renewal of
Registration, and new §535.404, concerning Fees,
and new 8535.405, concerning Employee of
Owner or Purchaser, without changes to the
proposed text as published in the December 30,
2011, issue of the Texas Register (36 TexReg
9175). The new and amended rules will not be
republished. The amendments increase the
registration fee from $80 for a one-year
registration to $200 for a two-year registration;
and the renewal fee $160 ($80 per year) to $200
for a two-year registration. New 8535.405
clarifies that an employee of an owner or
purchaser of an easement or right-of-way is not
required to be registered under the Act.

The justification for the fee increases is to
generate sufficient revenue to fund operations of
the agency and to comply with requirements of
Senate Bill 1000, 82nd Texas Legislature, Regular
Session (2011).

Senate Bill 1000 makes the Texas Real Estate
Commission self-directed and semi-independent.
The bill removes the agency from the legislative
budgeting process and requires the commission to
adopt and approve an annual budget. The bill
requires that the commission collect sufficient
fees to fund operations to carry out its function
and to fund the budget. In relevant part, the bill
also requires the agency to remit $750,000 to the
general revenue fund not later than August 31 of
each fiscal year, to remit a nonrefundable retainer
to the State Auditor of $10,000 per fiscal year, a
nonrefundable retainer to the Attorney General of
$75,000 per fiscal year, and a nonrefundable
retainer to the State Office of Administrative
Hearings of $75,000 per fiscal year. TREC will be
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required to reimburse each agency for all costs
incurred in excess of the retainers for providing
services to the commission. In addition, the bill
requires the agency to pay rent in a reasonable
amount to be determined by the Texas Facilities
Commission with aggregate rent payments to be
not less than $550,000 per fiscal year for state
fiscal years ending August 31, 2012 and August
31, 2013; and not less than $425,000 per fiscal
year for each year ending August 31, 2014,
August 31, 2015, and August 31, 2016.

The amendments and new sections are adopted
under Texas Occupations Code, §1101.051, which
authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commission to
adopt rules necessary to implement Chapter 1101.

The statute affected by this adoption is Texas
Occupations Code, Chapter 1101. No other
statute, code or article is affected by the
amendments and new sections.

§535.400. Registration of Easement or Right-of-
Way Agents.

(a)An individual desiring to be registered by
the commission as an easement or right-of-way
agent must file an application on form ERW 1-3
approved by the commission. If the applicant is a
business, the applicant must file form ERW 2-3.
All applicants must submit the required fee. The
commission will not accept an application which
has been submitted without the correct filing
fees or which has been submitted in pencil. A
person also may apply for registration by
accessing the commission's Internet web site,
entering the required information on the
application form and paying the appropriate fee
in accordance with the instructions provided at
the site by the commission. If the person is an
individual, the person must provide the
commission with the person's photograph and
signature prior to issuance of a registration
certificate. The person may provide the
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photograph prior to the submission of an
electronic application. If the applicant does not
complete the application process as required by
this subsection, the commission shall terminate
the application.

(b)After the commission has accepted an
application for filing, the commission shall
process the application and promptly issue a
certificate  of  registration, request any
information  required to complete the
registration, or advise the applicant that the
application has been terminated or disapproved,
as the case may be.

(c)The commission shall assign a registration
number to each registrant and shall provide each
registrant with a certificate of registration. Each
registration issued by the commission is valid
until the last day of the month one year from the
day the registration was issued. Each registrant
shall display the certificate of registration issued
by the commission in a prominent location in the
registrant's place of business, as required by the
Act, §1101.507. If the registrant maintains more
than one place of business, the registrant shall
display either the certificate or a copy of the
certificate in each place of business.

(d)The commission may terminate an
application with written notice to the applicant
for failure to submit information or
documentation within 60 days after the
commission makes written request for the
information or documentation.

(e)The commission may disapprove an
application for registration with written notice to
the applicant if the applicant has been convicted
of a criminal offense which is grounds for
disapproval of an application under §541.1 of this
title (relating to Criminal Offense Guidelines) or
the applicant has engaged in conduct prohibited
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by the Act. Provided a timely written request for
a hearing is made by the applicant in accordance
with the Act, §1101.364, an applicant whose
application for registration has been disapproved
is entitled to a hearing. The hearing on the
application will be conducted in accordance with
the provisions of the Act, §1101.364, and Chapter
533 of this title (relating to Practice and
Procedure).

§535.403. Renewal of Registration.

(a)The commission shall establish a time
period for renewal of each registration, which
shall end with the expiration date of the current
registration. Each registrant has the responsibility
to apply for renewal of a registration by making
proper application as specified by this section.
Applications must be made on the current
renewal application form approved by the
commission accompanied by the required fee.
Failure to receive a registration renewal
application form from the commission does not
relieve a registrant of the obligation to obtain the
appropriate form and to apply for renewal to
maintain registration. A registrant also may
renew an unexpired registration by accessing the
commission's Internet web site, entering the
required information on the renewal application
form and paying the appropriate fee in
accordance with the instructions provided at the
site by the commission. Failure to provide
information requested by the commission in
connection with a renewal application is grounds
for disciplinary action under the Act, §1101.653.
A registrant who fails timely to pay a renewal fee
must apply for and receive a new registration in
order to act as an easement or right-of-way
agent.

(b)The commission shall advise each
registrant of the time period for filing a renewal
application and paying the renewal fee by mailing
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a renewal application form to the registrant's last
known permanent mailing address as shown in
the commission's computerized records at least
three months before expiration of the current
registration. Each registrant shall furnish a
permanent mailing address to the commission
and report a change in permanent mailing
address within 10 days after the change occurs. If
a registrant fails to provide a permanent mailing
address, the last known mailing address for the
registrant will be deemed to be the registrant's
permanent mailing address. The commission
shall have no obligation to so notify a business
entity such as a corporation, limited liability
company or partnership, that has failed to
designate an officer, manager or partner who
meets the requirements of §1101.502 of the Act.
The commission may not renew a registration
issued to a business entity unless the entity has
designated an officer, manager or partner who
meets the requirements of the Act.

(c)An application for renewal will be deemed
to have been timely filed if it shows a postmark
on or before the expiration date of the
registration. When the last day of the renewal
period falls on a non-business day, renewal
applications also will be deemed to have been
timely filed if received or postmarked no later
than the first business day following the last day
of the renewal period. "Non-business" days are
Saturday, Sunday and any other day upon which
the commission offices are closed due to a state
holiday designated in the General Appropriations
Act or by other law.

(d)Renewals by registrants who are on active
duty in the United States armed forces or who
are subject to the provisions of the Texas
Education Code, §57.491, concerning certain
student loans also will be governed by §535.92 of
this title (relating to Renewal: Time for Filing;
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Satisfaction of Mandatory Continuing Education
Requirements).

§535.404. Fees. The commission shall charge and
collect a fee of $200 for the application or
renewal of a registration for a two-year period.

§535.405. Employee of Owner or Purchaser.

(a)An easement or right of way registration is
not required for an individual employed by an
owner or purchaser for the purpose of selling,
buying, leasing or transferring an easement or
right-of-way for the owner. A person s
considered to be an owner if it holds an interest
in or wishes to acquire an easement or right-of-
way or has an equitable title or right acquired by
contract with the record title holder.

(b)An easement or right of way agent
employed by an owner means a person
employed and directly compensated by an
owner. An independent contractor is not an
employee.

(c)Withholding income taxes and Federal
Insurance Contributions Act (F.I.C.A.) taxes from
wages paid another person is considered
evidence of employment.

This agency hereby certifies that the adoption has
been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be a
valid exercise of the agency's legal authority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on
March 1, 2012

TRD# 201201260

Loretta R. DeHay

General Counsel

Texas Real Estate Commission
Effective date: April 1, 2012



