Texas Real Estate Commission
Chapter 535, GENERAL PROVISIONS

Rules Adogted at the November 15I 2010 Commission Meeting

Subchapter O. Hearing on
Suspension or Revocation of
Licensure

8535.171

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC or the
commission) adopts an amendment to 8535.171,
regarding Hearing: Subpoenas and Fees without
changes to the proposed text as published in the
September 10, 2010, issue of the Texas Register
(35 TexReg 8273), and will not be republished.

New subsection (c) addresses cases in which a
party requests issuance of a subpoena and requires
the party to pay for the costs of issuing the
subpoena.

Generally speaking, the amendment corrects
typographical errors, reorganize, clarify, and
streamline existing rules, and update cites to new
laws and codes.

The reasoned justification for the amendments is
more streamlined, consistent and readable rules.

No comments were received on the rule as
proposed.

The amendments are adopted under Texas
Occupations Code, §1101.151, which authorizes
the Texas Real Estate Commission to make and
enforce all rules and regulations necessary for the
performance of its duties and to establish
standards of conduct and ethics for its licensees in
keeping with the purpose and intent of the Act to
ensure compliance with the provisions of the Act.

The statutes affected by this adoption are Texas
Occupations Code, Chapter 1101 and Chapter
1102. No other statute, code or article is affected
by the adoption.

8535.171. Hearing:_Subpoenas and Fees.

(a) In addition to the provisions of the Texas
Government Code 82001.089, process may be
served by an employee of the Texas Real
Estate Commission if that person is designated
by the commission.

(b) A witness or deponent who is not a party
and who is subpoenaed or otherwise compelled
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to attend any hearing or proceeding to give a
deposition or to produce books, records,
papers, or other objects that may be necessary
and proper for the purposes of the proceeding
is entitled to receive mileage of $.20 a mile for
going to and returning from the place of the
hearing or where the deposition is taken, if the
place is more than 25 miles from the person's
place of residence and a fee of $20 a day for
each day or part of a day the person is
necessarily present as a witness or deponent.

(c) Pursuant to Texas Government Code
8§2001.089, a party who requests the issuance
of a subpoena for a witness or deponent under
subsection (b) of this section, must deposit an
amount with the Texas Real Estate Commission
that will reasonably ensure payment of the
amounts estimated to accrue under subsection
(b) of this section and Texas Government Code
§2001.103.

(d) Pursuant to Texas Government Code
82001.177, a party seeking judicial review of a
final decision of the Texas Real Estate
Commission in a contested case shall pay all
costs of preparing the original or certified copy
of a record of the contested case proceedings.

This agency hereby certifies that the proposal has
been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be
within the agency's legal authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on
December 6, 2010
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Effective Date January 1, 2011
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General Counsel
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