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Subchapter J. Fees 
§535.101 Fees 
 
The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) 
adopts amendments to §535.101 regarding Fees 
with changes to the proposed text as published in 
the June 26, 2009 issue of the Texas Register (34 
TexReg 4275).  The proposed amendments to 
the accreditation and renewal fee rules for 
education programs were not adopted by the 
Commission because rules regarding the 
calculation and publication of exam passage rates 
and change to a two-year accreditation to 
facilitate the passage rate statutory requirements 
to which the fee rules were related were  not 
adopted. 

In not adopting unrelated parts of the proposed 
amendments, the revisions to the rules as adopted 
do not change the nature or scope so much that 
they could be deemed different rules.  The rules as 
adopted do not affect individuals other than those 
contemplated by the rules as proposed.  The rules 
as adopted do not impose more onerous 
requirements than the proposed version and do 
not materially alter the issues raised in the 
proposed rules.  Changes in the adopted rules 
respond to public comments. 

The adopted amendments increase the salesperson 
and broker annual renewal fees from $30 to $34; 
late renewal fee from $45 to $51 for the annual 
late renewal of a real estate salesperson or broker 
license for a person whose license has been 
expired 90 days or less; and late renewal fee from 
$60 to $68 for the annual late renewal of a real 
estate salesperson or broker license for a person 
whose license has been expired more than 90 days 
but less than one year.   The 81st Legislature in 
the 2010-2011 General Appropriations Act and 
riders thereto approved budget appropriations for 
the commission contingent on those 
appropriations being paid through fee collections.  
The amendments permit TREC to raise the 
necessary revenue to offset the additional costs 
incurred by the commission to implement new 

programs required by laws passed by the 81st 
Legislature (2009). 

The reasoned justification for these amendments 
is to generate sufficient revenue to fund 
appropriations by the 81st Legislature. 

No comments were received regarding the 
amendments as proposed. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas 
Occupations Code, §1101.151, which authorizes 
the Texas Real Estate Commission to make and 
enforce all rules and regulations necessary for the 
performance of its duties and to establish 
standards of conduct and ethics for its licensees in 
keeping with the purpose and intent of the Act to 
ensure compliance with the provisions of the Act.  

The statute affected by this adoption is Texas 
Occupations Code, Chapter 1101. No other 
statute, code or article is affected by the 
amendments.   
§535.101.Fees.  

(a) Fees for the issuance of a license due to 
a change of address, additional place of 
business or change of sponsoring broker are 
due when requests for such licenses are 
received. A change of address or name 
submitted with an application to renew a 
license, however, does not require payment of 
a fee in addition to the fee for renewing the 
license. If the commission receives a request 
for issuance of a license certificate which 
requires payment of a fee, and appropriate fee 
was not filed with the request, the commission 
shall return the request and notify the person 
filing the request that the person must pay the 
fee before the certificate will be issued. The 
commission may require written proof of a 
licensee's right to use a different name prior to 
issuing a license certificate reflecting a change 
of name. As used in this section, the term 
"license" includes a certificate of registration. 

(b) The commission shall charge and collect 
the following fees:  
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 (1) a fee not to exceed $75 for the 
filing of an original application for a real estate 
broker license;  

  (2) a fee of $34 for annual renewal of 
a real estate broker license;  

  (3) a fee of $75 for the filing of an 
original application for a real estate salesperson 
license;  

  (4) a fee of $34 for annual renewal of 
a real estate salesperson license;  

  (5) a fee of $61 for taking a license 
examination;  

  (6) a fee of $20 for filing a request for 
a license for each additional office or place of 
business;  

  (7) a fee of $20 for filing a request for 
a license for a change of place of business 
change of name, return to active status or 
change of sponsoring broker;  

  (8) a fee of $20 for filing a request to 
replace a license lost or destroyed;  

  (9) a fee of $400 for filing an 
application for accreditation of an education 
program under Texas Occupations Code (the 
Act), §1101.301;  

  (10) a fee of $200 a year for operation 
of a real estate education program under the 
Act, §1101.301;  

  (11) a fee of $30 for transcript 
evaluation;  

  (12) a fee of $20 for preparing a 
license history;  

  (13) a fee of $25 for the filing of an 
application for a moral character determination;  

  (14) a fee of $25 for the filing of an 
instructor application;  

  (15) a fee of $51 for the annual late 
renewal of a real estate salesperson or broker 
license for a person whose license has been 
expired 90 days or less;  

(16) a fee of $68 for the annual late 
renewal of a real estate salesperson or broker 
license for a person whose license has been 

expired more than 90 days but less than one 
year; 

  (17) the fee charged by the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation for a national criminal 
history check in connection with a license 
renewal; and  

  (18) a late reporting fee of $250 to 
reactivate a license under §535.92(f) of this 
chapter.  

This agency hereby certifies that the adoption has 
been reviewed by legal counsel and found to be 
within the agency’s legal authority to adopt. 

Issued in Austin, Texas, on August 24, 2009 

 
TRD #:  200903735 
Loretta R. DeHay 
Interim Administrator and General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Effective date:  November 1, 2009 


