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The agency exists to safeguard the public interest and protect consumers of real estate 

services. In accord with state and federal laws the agency oversees real estate brokerage, 

appraisal, inspection, home warranty and timeshare interest providers. Through 

education, licensing and regulation, the agency ensures the availability of qualified and 

ethical service providers, thereby facilitating economic growth and opportunity in Texas.  

From The Chair... 
The December 5, 2011 meeting of the Commission was 
quite eventful.   The staff reports were very enlightening for 
all department areas.   
 
Many of you have expressed some issues over 
communication with TREC.   The Reception & 
Communication Services staff has done their best to listen 
and take action which would result in positive changes for 
licensees.   One such action is to increase the number of 
incoming phone lines from 14 active to include 30 “hold” 
lines.  Did you know in the month of October TREC 
received 19,991 calls, plus 4,837 emails and 571 walk-in 
customers to the agency?  How would you like the 
challenge of handling this level of communication traffic? 
 
Licensing reported, in October 2011, a total of 146,619 
licensees as compared with 144,671 licensees in January 
2011. Standards and Enforcement reported 160 cases 
opened in October and 158 cases closed for the same time 
period. 
 
We also learned that effective January 1, 2012, the cost for 
a Department of Public Safety background check will go up 
by $15, to a total of $34.25, so when you renew your 
license renews, know the cost increase in this category is 
not for TREC, but rather is a pass-through fee to another 
agency. 
 
Many of our working groups and committees met since our 
last meeting, The Broker Lawyer Committee, the Inspector 
Committee and the Education Working Group all reported 
to the Commission on areas of concern. 
 
The Broker Lawyer Committee sent changes of the 
contract forms for final adoption to the Commission.  Those 
forms were adopted for mandatory use on March 1, 2012.  
Please take the time to look at the website to familiarize 
yourself with the changes to the forms and be sure the 
agents in your office are aware of the changes and the 

effective dates.  The Commission 
also proposed adoption on 
changes to Form 36-7, the 
Addendum for Property Subject 
to Mandatory Membership in a 
Property Owner's Association. 
 
The Inspector Committee 
reported some concerns over the 
broad language of the Code of 
Conduct for all committees.  
While TREIC are in favor of a 
Code of Conduct, they had some 
syntax concerns.  The Commission passed the slightly 
modified Code.  The Commission also adopted a policy 
which provides that rules affecting the standards of 
practice, education, and procedures of real estate 
inspectors should be reviewed by the Inspector Committee 
at a public meeting before the Commission proposes such 
rules for notice and comment. 
 
The Education Working Group made some 
recommendations, which have been included in rule 
changes to sections 535.71; 535.72 and 535.75, and will be 
available for review and comment in the Texas Register.  
Do your part and let your voice be heard.  Have a  Happy 
New Year! 
 

 

V o l u m e  2 2 ,  N u m b e r  7    D e c e m b e r  2 0 1 1   

Avis Wukasch, Chair 

Important Dates to Remember  

TREC Broker Lawyer Committee—February 9 

TREC Commission Meeting — February 27 
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New Experience Requirements Go Into Effect January 1, 2012 

Recent amendments to TREC rules add the new 

rules required by SB 747 to establish active 

experience requirements to qualify for a broker 

license. Active experience will be measured by a 

combination of active licensure and transactional 

experience over a four-year period. An applicant 

must (1) demonstrate a total of 3600 points of 

transactional experience for four out of five years 

using the point system detailed in the rule; (2) have 

an active license for a total of four years in the five-

year period before the application is filed, or be able 

to complete the time and transaction requirements 

within the one-year period after the application is 

filed; and (3) obtain the signature of the applicant’s 

sponsoring broker or brokers for the relevant time 

periods and transactions. The applicant must 

complete at least one transaction in each year of the 

four years in which the applicant is claiming 

experience.   

Under the new rules, the applicant is required to use 

the TREC Qualifying Experience Report for a Broker 

License form to detail the transactions for which 

experience is claimed.  Certain types of transactions 

are worth a certain number of points, depending 

upon the complexity of the transaction. For example, 

a closed purchase or sale of a single family home 

(residential) is worth 300 points, while a closed 

purchase or sale of an apartment complex with five 

or more units (commercial) is worth 450 points. 

Listing agreements or buyer representation 

agreements in which the applicant is an agent are 

worth 10 points each.  An executed lease for a 

residential or commercial property is worth 50 

points.  The applicant should not include with the 

application copies of the documents that prove that 

he or she was involved in a particular transaction, 

but TREC may ask to see documentary proof at any 

time during or after the application process. 

Examples of documents that may be used as proof 

include closing statements, executed contracts, 

listing agreements, etc.  Keep in mind that the 

documentation must show that the applicant was an 

agent in the transaction. An applicant who was a 

member of a team cannot claim experience for the 

transactional work done by the team unless the 

applicant is listed in the documentation as an agent 

for the buyer or seller or an appointed person if the 

sponsoring broker is an intermediary in the 

transaction.  

If an applicant is unable to obtain appropriate 

documentation or the signature of the sponsoring 

broker for any claimed transaction or time period, 

the applicant must use the TREC Affidavit in Lieu of 

Documentation and/or Signature to describe the 

applicant’s efforts to obtain it. In addition, the 

applicant must provide two TREC Affidavits in 

Support of Claimed Experience. Each affidavit 

should be signed by a different person familiar with 

the applicant’s circumstances and attesting to the 

applicant’s efforts to obtain the documents or 

signature. 

Although an applicant has up to one year after the 

application is filed to meet education and active 

experience requirements for a license, the applicant 

cannot take the qualifying examination until all 

education and experience requirements have been 

met. If the applicant fails to meet all requirements, 

including passing the examination, within the one-

year period after the application is filed, the applicant 

will be required to file another application and pay 

new application fees.  

Keep in mind that the effective date for the new 

broker experience rules is January 1, 2012.  This 

means that applications for a broker license filed on 

or after January 1, 2012 will be subject to the new 

requirements. Applications filed before January 1 

are subject to the current experience requirements. 

As stated elsewhere in this newsletter, an 

application is not considered “filed” with TREC until 

the entire application fee has been paid.  The entire 

application fee must be paid before January 1 to fall 

under the existing experience requirements for a 

broker license.  
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Problems to Avoid when Acquiring Another Broker’s Business 

The acquisition of a broker’s business may involve 
particular difficulties with regard to existing listing 
contracts and property management agreements.  If 
the listing contract or property management 
agreement is between the property owner and an 
entity licensed as a broker, a transfer of ownership of 
the entity ordinarily carries with it the contractual right 
to handle properties listed with or managed by the 
entity. 

If, however, the listing contract or property 
management agreement is between an individual 
broker and a property owner, the right to act as an 
agent for that owner cannot be transferred without 
the consent of the owner.  Under Texas law, a 
contract for the performance of personal services 
cannot be assigned without the consent of the person 
who contracted with the first broker.  This is akin to 
the common law rule that an agent must obtain the 
consent of his principal in order to delegate authority 
to others. 

A broker who plans to acquire another broker’s 
business should consult an attorney to determine the 
best means in a given situation by which to become 
an agent for the first broker’s principals.  One 
approach, however, would be to execute new listing 
contracts and property management agreements in 
the name of the new broker.  An owner could also be 

requested to approve a transfer of the listings or 
property management agreements by providing his 
or her written approval. 

The consequences of a dispute over the right to act 
as an agent for an owner may be significant. If a 
purported assignment of a listing contract or 
management agreement is ineffective due to lack of 
consent, the new broker may be accused of violating 
Section 1101.652(b)(19) of TRELA (offering property 
for sale or lease without the consent of the owner or 
the owner’s authorized agent.) 

The first broker’s unauthorized transfer of his 
contractual obligations also may be alleged by the 
owner to constitute a breach of the listing contract or 
property management agreement, exposing the first 
broker to a suit for damages.  The property owner 
may also attempt to recover any fees or commissions 
collected by the new broker. 

The fact that a property owner frequently acquiesces 
when a new broker begins to service the property 
should be viewed only as a problem which as been 
deferred, not resolved.  A broker should be able to 
demonstrate that the principal has unequivocally 
authorized representation by the new broker. 

 The Texas Real Estate Commission invites 
applications for appointment to an open public 
member seat on the Inspector Committee. 

 

The Committee’s purpose is to make 
recommendations to the Commission regarding a 
variety of inspection-related matters toward the 
goal of ensuring a high degree of service to and 
protection of the public in dealing with inspectors.  
The committee consists of six professional 
inspectors and three public members.  The open 
public member appointment expires on February 1, 
2015.  Following the Commission’s model, public 
members may not hold occupational licenses in the 
real estate field (appraiser, real estate broker/
salesperson, mortgage broker, etc.). 

 

The committee is permitted to meet by 
teleconference, although it is anticipated that some 
travel to Austin will be necessary.  Limited funds 
may be available for travel reimbursement, but 
members are not compensated for their time.  All 
committee meetings must comply with the Open 
Meetings Act. 

 

Individuals wishing to be considered for 
appointment should send a letter and resume to 
Chairman Avis Wukasch at the Texas Real Estate 
Commission, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, TX 78711-
2188, by fax to 512-936-3788, or by e-mail to 
administrator@trec.texas.gov.  Applications must 
be received at TREC no later than Monday, 
February 6, 2012. 

Public Member Vacancy on Texas Real Estate Inspector Committee 
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ADOPTED RULES 

Chapter 535, General Provision 

Subchapter B. General Provisions Relating to the 

Requirements of Licensure 

22 TAC §535.4 regarding License Required  

The amendment to §535.4(f) replaces an existing 

reference to a corporation or limited liability company to 

“business entity” to more closely track the text of the 

statute.  The amendment to §535.4(g) defines the 

meaning of “controls the acceptance or deposit of rent” 

and “single family residential property unit” for purposes 

of §1101.002(1)(A)(x) of the Act.  Effective 01-02-2012 

 

Subchapter R. Real Estate Inspectors 

22 TAC §535.211, Professional Liability Insurance, or 

Any Other Insurance that Provides Coverage for 

Violations of Subchapter G of Texas Occupations Code, 

Chapter 1102  

The amendment updates the reference in subsection (c) 

to the current certificate of insurance form, REI COI-0. . 

Effective 01-02-2012 

 
Chapter 537 Professional Agreements and Standard 

Contracts  
22 TAC  §537.20-.23, §537.26-.28, §537.30,-.33, 
§537.35, §537.37, §537.39-.41, §537.44-.48, §537.51, 
and §537.52  

The amendments adopt by reference six revised 
contract forms and 17 assorted addenda without 
changes to the rule text as published in the October 28, 
2011, issue of the Texas Register (36 TexReg 7262), 
but with changes to the forms.. 

The difference between the forms as proposed and as 

adopted are as follows: Paragraph 7.F. regarding repairs 

and treatments is changed to clarify that the buyer may 

extend the closing date up to 15 days so that the seller 

may complete repairs pursuant to the paragraph. The 

phrase “smoke detectors” is changed to “smoke alarms” 

in paragraph 21 of TREC Form Nos. 15-5 and 16-5. 

“Financing Approval” is changed to “Credit Approval” is 

changed in TREC Form No. 40-5, Third Party Financing 

Addendum for Credit Approval, to be consistent with 

other forms. Typographical errors in various forms are 

corrected. ce after an application has been submitted 

until such time that the applicant meets the total number 

required but before the applicant may take the qualifying 

examination. Experience earned after the application is 

submitted is to be reported on a different form adopted 

by reference in the rule. If an applicant is unable to 

obtain sufficient documentation and/or the signature of 

the sponsoring broker, the applicant is required to use 

an affidavit adopted by reference in the rule to describe 

the applicant's efforts to obtain the documentation and/

or signatures. In addition, the applicant is required to 

provide two additional affidavits each signed by a 

different individual familiar with the applicant's 

circumstances and attesting to the applicant's efforts to 

obtain the appropriate documentation. The application 

forms and affidavits are adopted by reference in the rule. 

The rule gives the commission the discretion to request 

additional documentation, rely on the documentation 

provided under this subsection, or utilize any other 

information provided by the applicant to determine 

whether the applicant has sufficient experience as 

required by §1101.356 of the Act and §535.56.  Effective 

date: 03-01-2012. 

 

PROPOSED RULES 

Subchapter B. General Provisions Relating to the 

Requirements of Licensure 

22 TAC §535.16.  Listings; Net Listings  

The amendments clarify that a real estate licensee must 

provide a broker price opinion rather than opinion of 

market value when negotiating a listing or offering to 

purchase the property for the licensee's own account as a 

result of contact made while acting as a real estate agent.  

 

Subchapter E. Requirements for Licensure 

22 TAC §535.56. Education and Experience 

Requirements for a Broker License  

Under current §535.56, the commission has waived the 

education and experience required for a broker license 

for a broker who was licensed as a broker in the 

preceding two years and otherwise meets the 

Rule Actions from the December 5, 2011 Meeting of the Commission 
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requirements of the subsection.  The proposed rule would 

conform subsection (h) by deleting a sentence which 

implies that a person previously licensed as a 

salesperson may become a broker under the waiver.    

 

Subchapter G. Mandatory Continuing Education 

22 TAC §535.71, Approval of Providers, Courses and 

Instructors, §535.72, Presentation of Courses, 

Advertising and Records, and new §535.75, Education 

Curriculum Standards Committee.  

The amendments to §535.71 and §535.72 provide the 

method by which the commission will create and approve 

the broker responsibility course, which will be the same 

way it handles the 3 hour legal update and 3 hour ethics 

courses required under §1101.455, and provides 

conforming changes for consistency. New §535.75 

creates the Education Curriculum Standards Committee 

whose mission is to regularly review and revise 

curriculum standards, course content requirements and 

instructor certification.  

 

Subchapter H. Recovery Fund 

22 TAC §535.82 Proration of Payments from the 

Recovery Trust Account  

The new rule clarifies provisions of Subchapter M, 

regarding proration of claims in the event of multiple 

claims that exceed the payment limitations of $50,000 per 

transaction and $100,000 per licensee  

 

Subchapter R. Real Estate Inspectors 

22 TAC §535.221Advertisements    

The amendments change the requirement that inspectors 

immediately notify the Commission of the inspector’s use 

of an assumed name in the inspection business, instead 

allowing 30 days for such notice.  

 

22 TAC §535.240 Proration of Payments from the Real 

Estate Inspection Recovery Fund  

The new rule clarifies provisions of §1102.359, Texas 

Occupations Code, regarding proration of claims in the 

event of multiple claims that exceed the payment 

limitations of $12,500 per transaction and $30,000 per 

inspector.  

 

Subchapter T. Easement and Right-of-Way Agents 

22 TAC §535.400, Registration of Easement or Right-of-

Way Agents; §535.403, Renewal of Registration; new 

§535.404, Fees and new §535.405, Employee of Owner 

or Purchaser  

The amendments would increase the registration fee 

from $80 for a one-year registration to $200 for a two-

year registration; and the renewal fee $160 ($80 per 

year) to $200 for a two-year registration. The 

amendments would add new §535.405 to clarify that an 

employee of an owner or purchaser of an easement or 

right-of-way is not required to be registered under the 

Act.    

 

Chapter 537  Professional Agreements and Standard 

Contracts  

22 TAC §537.43, Standard Contract Form TREC No. 36-

6 Addendum for Property Subject to Mandatory 

Membership in a Property Owners’ Association  

The amendment to §537.43 proposes to adopt by 

reference Standard Contract Form TREC No. 36-7.  

Paragraphs A.1 is revised, paragraph A.2 is new to 

acknowledge recent statutory revisions which permit a 

buyer to obtain a resale certificate directly from a property 

owner’s association, and paragraph A.3 is revised. 

Paragraph C is revised to replace “resulting from” to 

“associated with” to track recent statutory changes to 

Chapter 207, Property Code. Under new paragraph E, 

seller authorizes the association to release subdivision 

information and an updated resale certificate if required 

by the buyer, the title company, or any broker to the sale. 

Amendments to the form change the main telephone 

number and website address for TREC located in the box 

at the bottom of the forms.  Unless specifically referenced 

below, such changes are the only changes made to the 

forms adopted by reference. 
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Acosta, Luis (San Antonio); License #510811 Reprimand of salesperson license, effective October 31, 

2011 accepting compensation from a person other than the salesperson's sponsoring broker, in violation of 

Tex. Occ. Code §1101.651(b), for which disciplinary action is authorized by Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(a)

(10).  

Perez, Martina S. (Corpus Christi); License #413926 4 year suspension of broker license, effective October 

31, 2011; Beginning October 31, 2012 the suspension to be fully probated for 3 years; Assessment of an 

administrative penalty of $12,000, effective October 31, 2011; Completion of a 30 hour agency law course on 

or before January 10, 2012 acting negligently or incompetently in her representation of Seller’s and Buyer’s 

interest while acting as the listing agent and buyer’s representative in the real estate transaction (2 counts), in 

violation of Tex Occ. Code §1101.652(b)(1); failing to properly establish the intermediary relationship between 

herself and the buyer and seller in the real estate transaction, in violation of Tex Occ. Code §1101.559, 

unauthorized practice of law by drafting a document that transfers or otherwise affects an interest in real 

property in violation of Tex Occ. Code § 1101.654(a)(1).  

Rawles, Ericka Kristin (Fort Drum); License #493768 Assessment of an administrative penalty of $13,000, 

effective October 31, 2011 acting negligently or incompetently in the performance of her duties and 

responsibilities as a real estate salesperson, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(b)(1) by, not fulfilling 

her duties and responsibilities in accordance with the Listing and PMA, and not communicating with a client; 

engaging in conduct that is dishonest or that demonstrates untrustworthiness, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code 

§1101.652(b)(2) by receiving money as payment to perform specific duties per the Listing and PMA and never 

fulfilling those duties; and failing within a reasonable time to properly remit money that is received by the 

license holder and that belongs to another person, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(b)(9), by not 

remitting funds given to her by seller to her broker.   

Clark, Jackie Lynn (Alvin); License #460071 6 month suspension of broker license, effective October 28, 

2011; Assessment of an administrative penalty of $2,000, effective October 28, 2011 engaging in conduct that 

is dishonest or in bad faith or that demonstrates untrustworthiness by failing to perform listing services as 

promised, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(b)(2).  

Rapp, William Johann Jr. (Houston); License #595622 Agreed reprimand of salesperson license, effective 

October 25, 2011 engaging in conduct that is dishonest or in bad faith or that demonstrates untrustworthiness 

while acting as a broker or salesperson by signing an amendment on behalf of a party to a contract without 

authority, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(b)(2).  

Simon, Gail S. (Eastland); License #546341 Agreed 1 year suspension of salesperson license fully 

probated for 1 year, effective October 21, 2011; Agreed administrative penalty of $2,400, effective October 

21, 2011 engaging in negligent or incompetent conduct in property management by failing to keep principal 

informed on property rental status and payments received, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §§1101.652(b)(1); 

failing within a reasonable time to properly account for or remit money that is received by the licensee in trust 

and belongs to another, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(b)(9); commingling money belonging to 

others with the licensee’s own money, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(b)(10); and, performing 

property management as a salesperson without associating with or going through the sponsoring broker, in 

violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.351(c).  

Dickens, Donna Kaye (Dallas); License #481800 Agreed reprimand of salesperson license, effective 

October 20, 2011; Agreed administrative penalty of $2,500, effective October 20, 2011; Completion of a 30 

hour contract law course on or before December 31, 2011 violating intermediary provisions in Tex. Occ. Code 

TREC Enforcement Matters 
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§§1101.559(a)(b)&(c); and inserting a contingency in an amendment document and failing to advise the 

principals that each should consult a lawyer before executing that amendment, in violation of 22 Tex. Admin. 

Code §§537.11(C) and (d), effective June 1, 2008, now 22 Tex. Admin. Code §§537.11(d) and (l).  

Deleon, Isela Alejandra (Houston); License #576702 Agreed 34 month suspension of salesperson license 

fully probated for 34 months, effective October 15, 2011; Agreed administrative penalty of $2,000, effective 

October 15, 2011 engaging in conduct that is dishonest or in bad faith or that demonstrates untrustworthiness 

while acting as a broker or salesperson, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(b)(2); failing within a 

reasonable time to properly account for or remit money that is received by the license holder and that belongs 

to another person, in violation of Tex. Occ. ode §1101.652(b)(9).  

Bolgiano, Milton Steven (McKinney); License #442228 Revocation of broker license, effective October 11, 

2011; Assessment of an administrative penalty of $9,000, effective October 11, 2011 entering a plea of guilty 

and convicted of a felony, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(a)(1); failing to provide, within a 

reasonable time, information requested by the Commission that relates to a formal or informal complaint to 

the Commission, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(a)(6); failing to notify the Commission, not later 

than the 30th day after the date of a final conviction or the entry of a plea of guilty, in violation of Tex. Occ. 

Code §1101.652(a)(9); offering to sell or lease real property without the knowledge and consent of the owner 

of the real property, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(b)(19); offering to sell or lease real property on 

terms other than those authorized by the owner of the real property, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652

(b)(20); failing to specify a definite termination date that is not subject to prior notice in a contract, in which the 

license holder agrees to perform services for which a license is required under this chapter, in violation of 

Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(b)(12); and failing or refusing to provide information or produce, for inspection by 

the Commission a document, book, or record related to complaint or to a real estate transaction conducted by 

the license holder, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(a)(5) and §1101.652(a)(6). failing to provide, 

within a reasonable time, information requested by the Commission that relates to a formal or informal 

complaint to the Commission that would indicate a violation of this chapter, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code 

§1101.652(a)(6).  

Martin, Linsey Ann (San Antonio); License #559314 Revocation of salesperson license, effective October 

4, 2011; Assessment of an administrative penalty of $4,000, effective October 4, 2011 engaging in 

misrepresentation, dishonesty, or fraud when selling, buying, trading, or leasing real property in the name of 

the license holder and license holder’s spouse, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(a)(3).  

Taylor, Larry Scott (Austin); License #399516 Agreed reprimand of broker license, effective October 4, 

2011; Agreed administrative penalty of $3,000, effective October 4, 2011 acting negligently or incompetently 

while acting as a broker in a real estate transaction by failing to be aware of real estate brokerage activities of 

a limited liability company for which he had signed an application to be the designated manager, in violation 

of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(b)(1).  

Charles, Gwendolyn (Houston); License #499776 Agreed 12 month suspension of broker license fully 

probated for 12 months, effective October 1, 2011; Agreed administrative penalty of $1,500, effective October 

1, 2011 failing within a reasonable time to properly account for or remit money that is received by the license 

holder and that belongs to another person, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(b)(9); failing to provide, 

within a reasonable time, information requested by the Commission that relates to a formal or informal 

complaint to the Commission, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(a)(6).  
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Abbate, James Vincent (Abilene); License #30542 Suspension of easement of right away agent license, 

effective October 28, 2011 until payment in full of replacement fees and administrative penalty; Assessment 

of an administrative penalty of $500, effective October 28, 2011 failing with a reasonable time to make good a 

check issued to the Commission, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.652(a)(4); failing to pay a check 

processing fee within 15 days after the Commission has mailed a request for payment, in violation of 22 Tex. 

Admin. Code §535.(a).  

CW Realtors, LLC (Austin); License #571053 Agreed 1 year probationary broker license issued, effective 

October 25, 2011; Agreed administrative penalty of $1,000, effective October 25, 2011 conducting brokerage 

activities without being licensed, in violation of Tex. Occ. Code §1101.351(a); Applicant demonstrated that 

Applicant possesses the requisite honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity to qualify to be licensed as a real 

estate salesperson under Tex. Occ. Code §1101.354(2). 

 Tamez, David Kyle (Abilene); License #616455 Agreed 2 year probationary license issued, effective 

October 21, 2011 commission of an offense that directly relates to the duties and responsibilities of the 

occupation of a licensed real estate salesperson under 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(a). Applicant provided 

documentation addressing the factors outlined in 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(c) and demonstrated that 

Applicant possesses the requisite honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity to qualify to be licensed as a real 

estate salesperson under Tex. Occ. Code §1101.354(2).  

Harrison, Lewis Blake (Dallas); License #457921 Agreed 5 year probationary salesperson license issued, 

effective October 12, 2011 commission of an offense that directly relates to the duties and responsibilities of 

the occupation of a licensed real estate salesperson under 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(a). Applicant 

provided documentation addressing the factors outlined in 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(c) and demonstrated 

that Applicant possesses the requisite honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity to qualify to be licensed as a 

real estate salesperson under Tex. Occ. Code §1101.354(2).  

Douglass, John David (Austin); License #616067 Agreed 2 year probationary license issued, effective 

October 4, 2011 commission of an offense that directly relates to the duties and responsibilities of the 

occupation of a licensed real estate salesperson under 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(a). Applicant provided 

documentation addressing the factors outlined in 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(c) and demonstrated that 

Applicant possesses the requisite honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity to qualify to be licensed as a real 

estate salesperson under Tex. Occ. Code §1101.354(2). 



TALCB Bulletin 
TALCB was created by an act of the Texas Legislature in 1991 to 

license, certify and regulate real estate appraisers in Texas under 

state and federal laws.  In 2011, TALCB’s jurisdiction was expanded 

to register and regulate appraisal management companies.  

Inside this issue: National Registry Fee Increasing (Page 1) From the Chairman 

(Page 2) 
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Effective January 1, 2012, the National Registry 
fee is increasing to $40/year ($80 per two-year 
license).  The increased fee will be required for 
all new licenses issued on or after January 1, 
2012, timely renewals of licenses expiring after 
December 31, 2012, and all late renewals filed on 
or after January 1, 2012.  This change was 
initiated by the Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC), 
as required by federal law, and all Registry fees 
are forwarded to the ASC.  The following 
examples may be helpful in determining whether 
you will need to pay the increased fee: 

 

Example – timely renewal: 

An appraiser whose license expires December 
31 files a renewal application on December 30.  
Because the new license is effective January 1, 
the Registry fee is $50 ($25/year). 

 

Example – timely renewal: 

An appraiser whose license expires January 31 
files a renewal application on December 30.  
Because the new license is effective after 
January 1 (February 1), the Registry fee is $80 
($40/year). 

 

Example – late renewal: 

An appraiser whose license expires December 
31 files a late renewal application on January 6.  
Because the new license is effective after 
January 1, the Registry fee is $80 ($40/year). 

 

Important Dates to Remember  

TALCB Board Meeting— January 13 

TALCB Board Meeting—February 17 

TALCB Board Meeting—May 20 

National Registry Fee Increasing in 2012 
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At our October 12
th
 

meeting, the Board 
members not only 
heard the regular staff 
reports and provided 
input on agency budget 
matters, but also had a 
full agenda of rules to 
consider and propose 
or adopt, as well as two 
dozen enforcement 
matters to act upon.  As 
usual, the members 
responded to all items 
with insightful questions 
and suggestions.  

 

A large number of new rules related to 
appraisal management companies were 
adopted, but four rules were withdrawn and 
re-proposed due to the intense interest they 
generated.  The Board thought these items 
needed additional research and comments 
from a broader group before action to finalize 
and adopt them should be considered. These 
four rules are: 

 

159.52 Fees – what should the registration 
fee be for an AMC to operate in Texas?  The 
initial proposal was $4,000 for a two-year 
license, plus $20 per appraiser panelist.  After 
additional research, the current proposal is 
reduced to just $3,300 plus $10 per panelist.  
A concern for some AMCs is to protect the 
names of their panelists as a “trade secret”.       

 

159.154  Competency of Appraisers – how 
should AMCs establish the competency of 
appraisers?  In addition to the appraiser’s 
representations on specific issues, what other 
due diligence can AMCs reasonably 

accomplish? This rule clarifies these matters. 

159.155 Periodic Review of Appraisals – how 
often and how many appraisal reports should 
be reviewed by an AMC to reasonably ensure 
the quality of the work produced?  A random 
5% of the total is proposed, including one of 
the first 5 done by each panelist.     

 

159.157 Compensation of Appraisers – 
Federal law requires such compensation to 
be “customary and reasonable”, but how can 
this be judged?  Federal rules also allow for 
certain presumptions, and these are adopted 
into the Texas rule as well.  One area of 
concern remains whether an AMC can 
require an appraiser to sign a certification that 
the fee paid and received was both 
customary and reasonable. Texas seeks to 
prohibit this practice. 

 

These matters will take up a significant 
portion of the agenda at the Board’s next 
meeting on January 13

th
.  The HB 1146 

Working Group has made its 
recommendations and staff will be making the 
case for the adoption of the final rules. We 
encourage those interested in these matters 
to come and make your thoughts known.  We 
look forward to seeing you. Happy New Year!  

Luis De La Garza, Jr. 
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The Texas Real Estate Commission invites 
applications for appointment to an open public 
member seat on the Inspector Committee. 

 

The advisory committee’s purpose is to make 
recommendations to the Commission regarding 
a variety of inspection-related matters toward the 
goal of ensuring a high degree of service to and 
protection of the public in dealing with 
inspectors.  The committee consists of six 
professional inspectors and three public 
members.  The open public member 
appointment expires on February 1, 2015.  
Following the Commission’s model, public 
members may not hold occupational licenses in 
the real estate field (appraiser, real estate 
broker/salesperson, mortgage broker, etc.). 

 

The committee is permitted to meet by 
teleconference, although it is anticipated that 
some travel to Austin will be necessary.  Limited 
funds may be available for travel reimbursement, 
but members are not compensated for their time.  

All committee meetings must comply with the 
Open Meetings Act. 

 

Individuals wishing to be considered for 
appointment should send a letter and resume to 
Chairman Avis Wukasch at the Texas Real 
Estate Commission, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, TX 
78711-2188, by fax to 512-936-3788, or by e-
mail to administrator@trec.texas.gov.  
Applications must be received at TREC no later 
than Monday, February 6, 2012. 

Important Dates to Remember  

TREIC SOP Subcommittee Meeting—Jan 10 

TREIC Meeting—February 3 

Public Member Vacancy 

on Texas Real Estate Inspector Committee 
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Inspector Insight 

The Inspector Committee has been very busy 
this last quarter working on revisions to the 
Standards of Practice and I want to thank 
especially the members of the Standards of 
Practice sub-committee for all their hard work on 
these important matters. It is a constant 
challenge to keep the Standards of Practice clear 
and relevant as building technologies evolve.  
 
The Committee also made its final 
recommendation to the Commission regarding 
posting the commentary as an optional exam 
preparation reference.  The Commission decided 
to allow a period for public comments on this 
recommendation. Please go the main inspector 
page on the TREC website to read the 
commentary and provide any input on this 
recommendation. Specifically, do you find the 
commentary to be a useful exam preparation 
tool?  
 
The Committee also expressed some concerns 
over the broad language of the agency’s 
proposed Code of Conduct for all committees 
and working groups. The Commission agreed 
with some of the Committee’s recommendations 

and adopted a slightly modified version.  The 
Commission also adopted a policy that rules 
affecting the standards of practice, education, 
and procedures for real estate inspectors should 
be reviewed by the Inspector Committee at a 
public meeting before the Commission proposes 
the rules for public notice and comment. Other 
more administrative matters may be provided to 
the Committee for comments at the same time as 
the public is invited to comment on the proposal. 
These policies are a helpful clarification of the 
statutory guidance.  
 
Lastly, the Request for Proposals (RFP) for a 
national and state exam for inspectors is 
currently open.  The Committee has 
recommended that the Commission look at 
alternatives to include a national exam for 
inspectors that would be more “portable” between 
states.  We look forward to more closely 
examining these alternatives as the RFP closes 
early in the new year.  Speaking of which, we 
wish you all the best as 2012 dawns with new 
challenges and opportunities.      

The Texas Real Estate Commission is seeking 
input from inspectors and the public 
on a recommendation to post a set of comments 
to the Standards of Practice for inspectors as one 
of several optional examination preparation 
resources listed on the inspector examination 
page of the TREC website.  This set of 
comments is proposed to be added to that 
location and posted with the following notice: 
"These comments are not an official 
interpretation of the Standards of Practice and 
should not be relied on as such." 

The document is available at http://
www.trec.state.tx.us/inspector/default.asp or by 
clicking Inspector Information from the TREC 
homepage. 

 
Please submit all input by Monday, January 23 
by e-mail to commentary@trec.texas.gov or by 
mail to the Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. 
Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711. 

TREC Seeking Input on Standards of  

Practice Commentary 

Chairman’ s Corner  

http://www.trec.state.tx.us/inspector/default.asp
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/inspector/default.asp
mailto:commentary@trec.texas.gov
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Educators Invited to Attend Next Inspector  

Committee Meeting 

The Texas Real Estate Inspector Committee 
(TREIC) invites education providers to the 
February 3, 2012 TREIC meeting to share their 
experiences and ideas regarding core and 
continuing education for inspectors.  In addition 
to general input regarding curriculum matters, the 
Committee requests responses to the following 
questions: 

- What do you think are the causes of the low 
examination passing rate? 

- What guidance from TREC would be helpful to 
you in meeting the expectations of the agency 
and of consumers of real estate inspection 
services? 

Educators who would like to contribute but are 
unable to attend may provide input in writing to 
P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711. 

Inspector Insight 

Want to see what's on the agenda for 

the next TREIC Meeting? 

All of the meeting agendas and minutes are posted on 

the TREC website here: www.trec.state.tx.us/

newsandpublic/meetings.asp#inspector 


