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September 1, 2010  
New Rules Go Into Effect 

At the February 8, 2010 meeting of the Texas Real Estate Commission, the Commission 
adopted amendments to §535.61, concerning Examinations; §535.62 concerning 
Acceptable Courses of Study; and §535.64, concerning Accreditation of Schools and 
Approval of Courses and Instructors which will become effective on September 1, 2010. 
• The amendments to §535.64 establishes a broker pre-license examination passing score 

of at least 75% and a salesperson pre-license examination score of at least 70%. 
• The amendments to §535.62 and §535.64 define how TREC-approved proprietary schools’ 

passage rates are calculated and published by the commission and implement the 
statutory requirement that schools demonstrate a 55% examination passage rate to renew 
their accreditation.  The amendments allow schools that offer correspondence courses in 
association with accredited colleges or universities to issue certificates of completion in the 
name of the TREC-approved school and to count the examination passage rates of students 
in those courses toward the school’s overall passage rate. 

• New §535.93 permits a person with an expired salesperson or broker license to renew the 
previous license effective from its expiration date if the application to renew was filed 
less than one year from the expiration of the previous license. The new rules require the 
commission to renew the license in an active status except as provided by the section. 
 In order to renew a salesperson’s expired license on active status, a salesperson applicant 
must provide certification of sponsorship for the period from the day after the license 
expired to the day the license issued, and for the period beginning on the day after the 
renewal license is issued, and otherwise comply with the section.  
If Mandatory Continuing Education (MCE) requirements are not met prior to the previous 
license expiration date, an applicant who wishes to renew the license on active status must 
pay an additional $200 fee and complete the MCE not later than the 60th day after the 
expiration of the previous license.   
If the application to renew is filed more than 60 days but less than one year after the 
previous license expired and MCE requirements were not met before the license expired, 
the applicant must pay a $200 MCE deferral fee, a $250 late reporting fee, complete the 
MCE, and if a salesperson, provide certification of sponsorship for the period in which the 
license was expired to the day the license issued, and for the period beginning on the day 
after the renewal license is issued.  

Rules were adopted at the May 17, 2010 meeting of the Texas Real Estate Commission 
that amended Chapter 539, Rules Relating to the Residential Service Company Act 
which will also become effective on September 1, 2010. 
 
• The amendments to §539 adopt a new title for 22 TAC Chapter 539 and a new 

Subchapter E, concerning Disclosures  
• New §539.41 requires a licensed residential service company to include a disclosure in its 

residential service contracts if the company pays persons other than a residential 
service company employee for the sale, advertising, inspection or processing of 
residential service contract. 

• The amendments to §539.51 adopt amendments correcting typographical errors in the 
existing rules to better reflect the statutory reference. 

• The amendments to §539.61 adopt a revised application form that has been streamlined 
and changed to provide consistency with other TREC forms.  The form also allows the 
end user to fill the form out electronically.   

• The amendments to §539.71 adopt a revised Residential Service Company Bond form 
and an Application to Approve Evidence of Coverage/Schedule of Charges form. The 
forms allow the end user to fill the form out electronically.   

• The amendments to §539.91 adopt a revised Annual Report.  The form is changed to 
detail payments to real estate brokers, insurance agents, mobile home dealers or non-RSC 
employees for selling, advertising, inspection, or processing of residential service contracts.  
It also allows the end user to fill the form out electronically. 

The amendments to §539.137 adopt a revised Mid-year Report. The form is changed to detail 
payments as the Annual Report does and allows the end user to fill the form out 
electronically. 

NEW NEW NEW    
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RULE FOR RULE FOR RULE FOR 
THOSE FILING THOSE FILING THOSE FILING 

WITHIN A YEAR WITHIN A YEAR WITHIN A YEAR 
OF LICENSE OF LICENSE OF LICENSE 
EXPIRATION EXPIRATION EXPIRATION 

DATE  DATE  DATE  
EFFECTIVEEFFECTIVEEFFECTIVE   

SEPTEMBER 1, SEPTEMBER 1, SEPTEMBER 1, 
2010.2010.2010.   



 

2 TRECTRECAdvisorAdvisor  TRECTRECTRECAdvisorAdvisorAdvisor   Volume 21,  Number 5 July 2010 

  
The agency exists to safeguard the public interest and protect 
consumers of real estate services.  In accord with state and 
federal laws the agency oversees real estate brokerage, 
appraisal, inspection, home warranty and timeshare interest 
providers. Through education, licensing and regulation, the 
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Minimum Brokerage Services in TexasMinimum Brokerage Services in TexasMinimum Brokerage Services in Texas   
 
 Under what circumstances may a listing broker licensed in Texas, permit offers to be 
sent by a buyer’s broker directly to the listing broker’s principal?  Conversely, under 
what circumstances may a buyer’s broker transmit an offer directly to a principal 
who is represented by a listing broker?  These issues arise in at least two common 
situations. 
 
 First, there are a growing number of Measured Service Brokers (MSBs) - that is 
those brokers who offer a veritable “menu” of services to their clients, and the client 
may contract to purchase one or more broker services, and exclude some other 
services.  Secondly, there are also Asset Managers, often with a Power of Attorney to 
bind their principal, which may require any purchase offers to be submitted directly 
to the Asset Manager. The perception of “reduced” services required of the listing 
broker may be cited as justification for negotiating a reduced fee for these exclusive 
representations.  
 
 Sec. 1101.557 of the Texas Real Estate License Act regarding the minimum 
services to be provided by a broker “under an exclusive agreement” with a party are 
clear. Such brokers may not instruct another party’s broker to “negotiate or attempt 
to negotiate the sale…of real estate” [per Sec. 1101.652(b)(22)] with any party known 
to be exclusively represented by a broker.  Mere “delivery of an offer to a party” does 
not violate this section if “the party’s broker consents to the delivery” and “a copy of 
the offer is sent to the party’s broker.” No other contact with the party is allowed; any 
further activity may violate the prohibition on “negotiations.” Furthermore, each 
broker has the obligation to 1) keep his or her principal informed “if the broker 
receives material information related to the transaction,” including all offers received 
by the broker; 2) to “present any offer to or from the party,” and 3) to “answer the 
party’s questions.”  The fees to be paid for each of these services may vary, but these 
specific services may not be “excluded” from the list of services to be provided by a 
broker to the principal. A broker’s failure to provide one or more of these services to 
the broker’s client would be a violation of the law.   
 
 To avoid violations of the law, a broker should ensure that an exclusive 
representation agreement authorizes such “dual” contacts by providing that 1) the 
party and the party's broker are each copied on every written contact, 2) the broker 
is present for any oral contacts (in person or by phone or similar method), 3) the 
broker remains available to answer all questions from the broker's principal – such 
as assisting the principal to interpret offers and to develop counter-offers, and 4) the 
broker presents any offer to or from the principal. To “present” an offer clearly 
involves more than mere “delivery.” 
  
These duties to the broker's principal are required under Texas law, regardless of the 
fee charged by the broker.  A broker may negotiate a fixed fee for all of these services 
combined, or may negotiate a variable fee (such as an hourly rate), or any 
combination of similar methods for providing these services, but in every case, all of 
these services must be provided to each client whom the broker represents under an 
exclusive agreement.  A Texas broker may not contract to provide a lesser level of 
service to the broker’s clients.       

TEXAS REAL ESTATE  
COMMISSION 
Meeting Highlights 
TREC meeting minutes can be found on the TREC web site at 
www.trec.state.tx.us 

For information on the agency’s 
OUTSTANDING PERFORMER for the second 

quarter see page 3 of the BULLETIN. 
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This is by far the busiest time of the year for this agency – we 
just filed our 2011-2015 Strategic Plan on July 2nd and are 
now working on implementing, by rule, many of the best 
recommendations received from the public input sessions.  In 
addition, those promising recommendations that require 
legislative action are being analyzed and reports prepared for 
consideration by the Commission. The appointed working 
groups and advisory committees have been working overtime to 
assist the commission in this regard.  And most taxing of all, 
we are working on our Legislative Appropriation Request (LAR) 
for the next two year budget period starting in September 2011 
– while trying to find a way to reduce our total expenses by 
another 10% below the 2010 baseline, which after the last cut 
is at 95% of the 2009 amount.  Quite a demanding challenge – 
we need both your ideas and understanding! 
 Add to this the tremendous task of implementing a complete 
replacement of our aging TRELIS database system, a two year 
long conversion project that we expect to finally “switch on” 
over the weekend of July 31st & August 1st.  The culmination of 
this massive effort will immediately be followed by another 
period of intense “de-bugging” as we serve you while 
simultaneously coping with those tasks associated with 
learning the new system and fully testing its many customized features.  Of course, we’ve 
been testing it all along, but once we put it through its paces of handling the thousands of 
transactions we do every week with and for you, it is likely that a few glitches will be 
revealed.  Of course we will have extra vendor staff standing by to work to resolve every 
issue as it is revealed.  Please be patient in the early stages of this enormous transition.   
 We are preparing for several process changes that are driven both by efficiency and the 
capabilities (and some limitations) of the new Iron Data database system.  First, and most 
importantly to our effectiveness and efficiency, you will see more electronic 
communications from us. Notices of license renewal deadlines will be sent by email, so 
ensure you read everything that comes from the agency – you will no longer be receiving 
these notices by mail. Additional online services will be added steadily, and we will notify 
you of each one.  While we prepare to get some items online, some notice letters will be 
replaced by postcards on a purely interim basis.  Education Evaluations will be done at 
the same time as license application processing, to save time for applicants. Look for more 
improvements as we adapt to this new environment! 
 As part of our comprehensive Rule Review, at the August 9th Commission meeting, rule 
amendments will be proposed covering a variety of topics. The final reports with the 
recommendations of the Broker Responsibility and Education Working Groups will be 
presented at that time.  Also, the Broker Lawyer Committee has proposed some updates to 
several standard contracts and promulgated forms that the Commission will consider. If 
you can, attend to see your Commission at work improving your profession and its 
standards.  If you cannot, you may rely on us to keep you fully informed and engaged. 

...from the Administrator 

Douglas E. Oldmixon, Administrator 

Licensing System Conversion Announcement 
TREC and TALCB have been working on the conversion of their existing licensing system to a product from Iron Data 
for over a year.  This transition gives the agency added flexibility that will allow us to more effectively adapt to future 
changes.  We are now entering the final stages of the implementation and are planning the transition for the weekend 
of August 1st.  This is subject to change if technical issues make it necessary. 
What does this mean to you? 
• Electronic submission of education, online applications, and online license renewals will be unavailable as of 6 PM 

on the Friday of conversion (July 30) 
• Mailed renewals with July 31 expiration dates will be accepted as timely if post marked as of August 2nd  
• Online services will be restored as of  8AM the following Monday (August 2) 
Online renewals and applications will be replaced with the Iron Data product 
The new online services will include a “My Account” structure allowing licensees the ability to track more data related 
to each of their licenses.  We encourage all license holders to enroll in this feature, which will be necessary in order to 
take advantage of some new system features. 
Additional communications will be provided as the conversion date approaches.  The agency is excited to be taking this 
next big step and we believe it will improve our ability to offer better services to license holders. 
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Rules to be Considered at the August 9, 2010 Rules to be Considered at the August 9, 2010 Rules to be Considered at the August 9, 2010 
Meeting of the Texas Real Estate CommissionMeeting of the Texas Real Estate CommissionMeeting of the Texas Real Estate Commission   

   
  The following rule amendments were proposed at the May 17, 2010 meeting of the 

Texas Real Estate Commission.  They appeared in the June 11, 2010 issue of the Texas 
Register and can be considered for adoption at the August 9, 2010 meeting of the 
Commission. Comments on the rule amendments can be directed to the General Counsel 
at general.counsel@trec.state.tx.us 
• The amendment to §531.18 regarding the Consumer Information Form 1-1 adds a 

reference to the TREC website to download the form. The amendment to §533.1, 
Definitions, adds the definition of “last known mailing address” to the list of 
definitions.  

• The amendment to §533.3, Filing and Notice, clarifies that the Notice of Alleged 
Violation required by Texas Occupations Code §1101.703 will be mailed to the 
respondent’s last known mailing address, corrects typographical errors, and makes 
conforming changes to the rule.  

• The amendment to §533.4, Failure to Answer, Failure to Attend Hearing and Default, 
corrects typographical errors and makes conforming changes to the rule.   

• The amendment to §533.8, Final Orders, Motions for Rehearing, and Emergency 
Orders, provides a procedure for motions for rehearing before the commission, 
and provides that a person appealing a decision of the commission is responsible 
for paying for the costs of preparation of an original or certified copy of the 
transcript of the proceedings required by a reviewing court.   

• The amendments to §533.20, Informal Proceedings. and §533.31, Referral of 
Contested Matter for Alternative Dispute Resolution Procedures, make conforming 
changes.   

• The amendments to §533.34, Commencement of ADR, delete the procedures for 
alternative dispute resolution of employment matters as those matters are 
provided for in the TREC employee handbook. 

• The amendments to §535.51 concerning General Requirements for a License: 
� delete the requirement that an applicant must submit an education evaluation 

and receive a notice from the commission that the applicant has satisfied all 
education requirements for a license prior to submitting an application for a 
license; 

� delete the signature requirement; 
�  change from 60 to 20 days the time in which an applicant must submit a 

payment after the commission has requested such payment; and 
� delete the adoption by reference of all application forms 

• The amendments to §535.101 concerning Fees:  
� delete the reference to a specific fee for an education evaluation; 
� add the fee to the relevant application fees; and  
� add an additional fee of $20 to submit a paper form in cases where the 

commission has established an online process for submitting the same form.   
• The amendments to §535.208 concerning Application for a License and §535.210 

concerning Fees:  
� §535.208 deletes (1) the requirement that an applicant must submit an 

education evaluation and receive a notice from the commission that the 
applicant has satisfied all education requirements for a license prior to 
submitting an application for a license, (2) deletes the signature requirement, 
changes from 60 to 20 days the time in which an applicant must submit a 
payment after the commission has requested such payment, and (3) deletes the 
adoption by reference of all application forms.  

� §535.210 (1) deletes the reference to a specific fee for an education evaluation, 
(2) adds the fee to the relevant application fees, and (3) adds an additional fee of 
$20 to submit a paper form in cases where the commission has established an 
online process for submitting the same form.    

• The amendments to §537.11 concerning Professional Agreements and Standard 
Contracts are not substantive and break down existing paragraphs into 
subsections to provide structure to each subsection for readability and clarity.   

• The amendments to §541.1 concerning Criminal Offense Guidelines and new rule 
§541.2 concerning Criminal History Evaluation Letters. clarify license eligibility for 
persons with criminal histories, and outline the process by which a person may 
request and receive a criminal history evaluation letter under Chapter 53. 

• The amendments to §541.1 clarify that the commission considers convictions and 
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HUD Issues Interpretive Rule on Home HUD Issues Interpretive Rule on Home HUD Issues Interpretive Rule on Home 
Warranty Company Fees to BrokersWarranty Company Fees to BrokersWarranty Company Fees to Brokers   

 
 On June 25th, HUD published an Interpretive Rule under RESPA involving services 
provided by real estate brokers and agents on behalf of home warranty companies. The 
Interpretive Rule discusses the application of Section 8(a)’s prohibition on referral fees in 
relation to payments made by home warranty companies to real estate brokers.  The 
Interpretive Rule concludes that: 

(1) A payment by a home warranty company for marketing services performed by real 
estate brokers on behalf of the home warranty company that are directly related to 
particular homebuyers or sellers is an illegal kickback for a referral under Section 
8.  HUD bases this conclusion on the fact that a real estate agent is in a unique 
position to refer settlement service business and, as they hold a position of 
influence, can easily influence a homebuyer’s or seller’s selection of a home 
warranty company. 

 (2) Depending on the facts of a particular case, a home warranty company may 
compensate a real estate broker for services when those services are actual, 
necessary, and distinct from the primary services provided by the real estate 
broker, and when those additional services are not nominal and are not services 
for which there is a duplicative charge.  HUD offers some examples of such 
additional services, which include, among others:  (a) conducting annual 
inspections of the items to be covered by the warranty to identify pre-existing 
conditions that could affect home warranty coverage; and (b) recording serial 
numbers of the items to be covered. HUD also provides guidance on the types of 
evidence that would support a determination that compensable services have been 
performed by the real estate broker, such as that the services to be performed are 
specified in a contract between the home warranty company and the real estate 
broker or agent and the home warranty company assumes responsibility for any 
representations made by the broker or agent about the warranty product. 

 (3) The amount of the compensation that is permitted under Section 8 for such 
additional services must be reasonably related to the value of those services and 
may not include compensation for referrals of business.  The Interpretive Rule 
does not provide much guidance on this point, other than to cite to language in 
Policy Statement 99-1, which covers mortgage broker compensation, regarding 
how HUD analyzes compensation to determine reasonableness. 

 Brokers with “exclusive” agreements with a Home Warranty Company should have the 
agreements reviewed by their counsel, especially those where the fees paid to the broker 
are based on the number of residential service contracts purchased by the broker’s 
clients.   
 Credit for the 3 point summary above goes to Phillip L. Schulman, Esquire at K&L 
Gates in Washington DC.  He may be contacted at phil.schulman@klgates.com  

deferred adjudications of the offenses listed in the rule to be directly related to 
the duties and responsibilities of the licenses issued by the commission for the 
reasons articulated in the rule. The amendments clarify that the commission has 
determined that multiple violations which evidence a disregard for or inability to 
comply with the law and felony offenses involving driving while intoxicated or 
under the influence directly relate to the duties and responsibilities of a license 
issued by the commission.    
The new rule implements new statutory requirements under Occupations Code 
Chapter 53.  The new statutory provisions require the Commission to establish a 
process that will allow a person to submit a request for a criminal history 
evaluation. Under §1101.353 the commission is already authorized to issue a moral 
character determination of an applicant. Under the proposed rule, the commission 
will review the person's criminal history under Chapter 53 using the same 
process it currently uses to conduct a moral character determination under 
Chapter 1101.  The intent of both statutes is to provide information about 
potential license ineligibility based on criminal history before a person spends 
time and money pursuing an education or training, taking an examination, or 
applying for a particular license. New §541.2  clarifies that a person may request an 
eligibility letter from the commission under Chapter 53 using the same form and 
paying the same fee required of persons applying for a moral character determination 
under §1101.353. 
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Can I do this Online?Can I do this Online?Can I do this Online?   
 Before printing out any agency form from our website, filling it out by pen, attaching your check, addressing and 
putting a stamp on the envelope, and mailing it back to the agency, ask yourself this: can I do this online?  If the 
answer is “yes,” then the agency encourages you to do so. It is faster and easier for all concerned. No waiting for 
mail transit, and data entry and processing on this end. If the form is not clear or complete, there are further 
delays while we contact you for clarification or correction.  Doing it online allows for immediate proofing and 
validation; and an immediate receipt! 
 The agency has been steadily moving in this direction for the past year.  There are many forms that have not yet 
been converted to online availability, but we are working to add more.  Beginning 9/1/10 there will be a $20.00 
paper handling fee attached to each transaction that can be accomplished online where a license holder chooses 
instead to submit it on paper. Of course, if any service is not provided via the website, the $20.00 paper handling 
fee will not apply and license holders should print and mail as before. Always check before printing and mailing. 
We will be steadily adding new services to our online capabilities to serve you better. 
 For an easier transition, here is a list of online services: 
 
Update Email Address YES 
Update Permanent Mailing Address YES 
Salesperson License   

Initial Application   YES 
Renewal Application YES 
Late Renewal Application not at this time 

Broker License, Individual   
Initial Application YES 
Renewal Application YES 
Late Renewal Application YES 

Broker License, LLC   
Initial Application not at this time 
Renewal Application YES 
Late Renewal Application not at this time 

Broker License, Corporate   
Initial Application YES 
Renewal Application YES 
Late Renewal Application not at this time 

Professional Inspector License   
Initial Application not at this time 
Renewal Application YES 
Late Renewal Application not at this time 

Real Estate Inspector License   
Initial Application not at this time 
Renewal Application YES 
Late Renewal Application YES 

Apprentice Inspector License   
Initial Application not at this time 
Renewal Application YES 
Late Renewal Application not at this time 

Easement Right-of-Way Registration, Individual   
Initial Application not at this time 
Renewal Application YES 
Late Renewal Application not at this time 

Easement Right-of-Way Registration, Business   
Initial Application not at this time 
Renewal Application YES 
Late Renewal Application not at this time 

Appraiser, Certified General   
Initial Application not at this time 
Renewal Application YES 
Late Renewal Application not at this time 

Appraiser, Certified Residential   
Initial Application not at this time 
Renewal Application YES 
Late Renewal Application not at this time 

Appraiser, Trainee   
Initial Application not at this time 
Renewal Application YES 
Late Renewal Application not at this time 

ELECTRONIC DELIVERY  OF RENEWAL NOTICES ELECTRONIC DELIVERY  OF RENEWAL NOTICES ELECTRONIC DELIVERY  OF RENEWAL NOTICES    

 In August TREC will begin to send renewal notices electronically to real estate brokers, salespersons, inspectors, 
appraisers, and easement or right-of-way registrants.  Renewal notices are typically mailed 90 days prior to the 
expiration date of a license. The first electronic renewal notices will be sent to licensees who have a November 30, 
2010 expiration date.  This move to the electronic delivery of renewal notices will be convenient for licensees who 
have email addresses and will enable the agency to send renewal notices to real estate brokers as well as 
salespersons (currently all active salesperson renewal notices are mailed only to the sponsoring broker).  The 
electronic delivery of renewal notices is one of the many recommendations the agency is initiating to help meet 
budget reductions that have been requested by our state government to help offset the projected shortfall in state 
revenue. 

 After receipt of the renewal notice, a licensee will be able to go to the agency website and pay the renewal fee 
online.  If the renewal fee is not filed online at the website, the licensee will need to download the renewal form 
from the agency website and submit it with payment.  This method of renewing will require that the renewal fee 
and a $20 paper filing fee be submitted for processing. 
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May—June 2010 
Santiago, Jose H. 
(Kingwood); License #507484  

Agreed revocation of broker license, fully probated for 5 years, effective May 28, 2010; Agreed administrative penalty of $15,000, 
entered May 28, 2010; Agreed completion of a 3 hour agency law course by December 1, 2010, entered May 28, 2010;  entering a 
plea of guilty to the first degree felony offense of theft >=$200,000.00 in State of Texas v. Jose Herman Santiago; Cause No. 
1048432, in the 230th Judicial District of Harris County, Texas, and the time for appeal has elapsed or the judgment or conviction 
has been affirmed on appeal, without regard to an order granting community supervision that suspends the imposition of the 
sentence, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(a)(1); procuring a license making a material misstatement of 
fact regarding his in his timely real estate broker application of January 17, 2007, and May 28, 2009, in violation of 
Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(a)(2); and failing to notify the Commission, not later than the 30th day after the date of 
a final conviction or entering a plea of guilty to the first degree felony criminal offense of theft involving fraud, in violation 
of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(a)(9).  

Crawford, John Christopher 
(Missouri City); License #455489  

Temporary suspension of salesperson license until such time that a final decision is made by the 
Commission in the underlying matter of Texas Real Estate Commission v John Christopher Crawford, 
effective May 19, 2010;  pursuant to Tex. Occupations Code §§1101.662 and 22 Tex. Admin. Code §533.8  

Norton, Marcus M. 
(Spring); License #N/A  

Assessment of an administrative penalty of $3,000.00 and ordered to cease and desist all unlicenced real estate 
brokerage activities, entered May 17, 2010; acting, engaging in and representing that he was a real estate 
salesperson without first holding a license issued by the Texas Real Estate Commission by assisting in 
negotiations between sellers and buyers for the purchase of real property with the expectation or receipt 
of valuable consideration, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.351.  

King, Stephen Melvin Jr. 
(Red Oak); License #458435  

Revocation of salesperson license, effective May 17, 2010; Assessment of an administrative penalty of $20,000.00, entered May 17, 
2010;  failing and refusing to produce on request, for inspection by the commission or a commission representative, a document, 
book, or record that is in the license holder’s possession and relates to a real estate transaction conducted by the license holder, in 
violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(a)(5); failing to provide, within a reasonable time, information requested by the 
commission that relates to a formal or informal complaint to the commission that would indicate a violation of Tex. Occupations 
Code Chapter 1101, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(a)(6); acting negligently or incompetently by failing to 
maintain proper escrow/trust accounts when dealing with client’s monies, failing to properly account and remit monies to his clients, 
and commingling of a client’s monies for his own use and benefit, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(1); engaging 
in conduct that is dishonest or in bad faith or that demonstrates untrustworthiness by failing to properly abide by the applicable 
rules and laws in property management real estate brokerage activities, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(2); 
failing with a reasonable time to properly account for or remit money that is received by the license holder and that belongs to 
another person in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(9); and commingling money that belongs to another person 
with the license holder’s own money in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(10)  

Dakota Son Corporation 
(Killeen); License #529555  

Revocation of broker license, effective May 12, 2010; Assessment of an administrative penalty of $83,000.00, entered May 12, 2010; 
multiple counts of failing or refusing to provide on request a copy of a document relating to a real estate transaction to a person 
who signed the document in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(28); failing within a reasonable time to properly 
account for or remit money that is received by the license holder and that belongs to another person in violation of Tex. 
Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(9); commingling money that belongs to another person with the license holder's own money by 
violating 22 Tex. Admin. Code §535.146(f) by failing to maintain money belonging to another in a trust account in violation of Tex. 
Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(10); failing to deposit, within a reasonable time, money the license holder receives as escrow agent 
in a real estate transaction in a custodial, trust, or escrow account maintained for that purpose in a banking institution authorized to 
do business in this state in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(30)(B); engaging in conduct that is dishonest or in bad 
faith or that demonstrates trustworthiness in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(2).  

Cleven, Ray Douglas 
(Copperas Cove); License #481908  

Revocation of broker license, effective May 12, 2010; Assessment of an administrative penalty of $93,000.00, entered May 12, 2010;  
multiple counts of failing or refusing to provide on request a copy of a document relating to a real estate transaction to a person 
who signed the document in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(28); failing within a reasonable time to properly 
account for or remit money that is received by the license holder and that belongs to another person in violation of Tex. 
Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(9); commingling money that belongs to another person with the license holder's own money by 
violating 22 Tex. Admin. Code §535.146(f) by failing to maintain money belonging to another in a trust account in violation of Tex. 
Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(10); failing to deposit, within a reasonable time, money the license holder receives as escrow agent 
in a real estate transaction in a custodial, trust, or escrow account maintained for that purpose in a banking institution authorized to 
do business in this state in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(30)(B); engaging in conduct that is dishonest or in bad 
faith or that demonstrates trustworthiness in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(2);failing or refusing to produce on 
request, for inspection by the commission or a commission representative, a document, book, or record that is in the license holder's 
possession and relates to a real estate transaction conducted by the license holder in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652
(a)(5); failing to provide, within a reasonable time, information requested by the commission that relates to a formal or informal 
complaint to the commission that would indicate a violation of this chapter in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(a)(6).  

Short, Donald Mark 
(Hewett); License #507418  

Agreed reprimand of salesperson license, entered May 7, 2010; Agreed administrative penalty of $500, entered May 7, 2010; acting 
negligently in failing to keep client informed, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(1); engaging in conduct that is 
dishonest or in bad faith or that demonstrates untrustworthiness by failing to positively secure the signatures of Sellers for the 
release of earnest money in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(2).  

Golden, Jon Harold, Jr. 
(Mt. Belview); License #403424  

Agreed reprimand of salesperson license, entered May 21, 2010; Agreed administrative penalty of $500, entered May 21, 2010;  
failing within a reasonable time to make good a check issued to the Commission, in violation Tex. Occupations Code §1101.354(a); 
failing to pay a check processing fee within 15 days after the Commission has mailed a request for payment, in violation of 22 Tex. 
Admin. Code §534.(2)  

As of June 4, 2010, the  
          toll free lines for  

TREC/TALCB  
Are no longer operational.  

Call TREC at 512-459-6544 
Call TALCB at 512-459-2223 

   or go online at www.trec.state.tx.us 
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Carter, Lydia R. 
(El Paso); License #502141  

Agreed reprimand of salesperson license, entered May 20, 2010; Agreed administrative penalty of $500, entered May 20, 2010; 
failing within a reasonable time to provide information to the Commission in response to Commission's request for same in 
connection with an application for renewal of real estate salesperson license, in violation of 22 Tex Admin. Code §535.91(c)  

Paez, Anita Yolanda 
(Killeen); License #577171  

Suspension of salesperson license, until payment in full of fee, replacement funds and administrative penalty, effective May 17, 
2010; Assessment of an administrative penalty of $500, entered May 17, 2010; failing within a reasonable time to make good a 
check issued to the Commission, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(a)(4); failing to pay a check processing fee 
within 15 days after the Commission has mailed a request for payment, in violation of 22 Tex. Admin. Code §534.2(a)  

Gonzalez, Randy 
(Lubbock); License #538571  

Agreed reprimand of salesperson license, entered May 12, 2010; Agreed administrative penalty of $500, entered May 12, 2010; 
failing within a reasonable time to make good a check issued to the Commission, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code 
§1101.541(a); failing to pay a check processing fee within 15 days after the Commission has mailed a request for payment, in 
violation of 22 Tex. Admin. Code §534.2(a)  

Webb, William Hunter 
(Plano); License #605391  

Agreed probationary salesperson license issued, fully probated for 2 years, effective May 27, 2010; commission of offenses that 
are directly related to the duties and responsibilities of the occupation of a licensed real estate salesperson under 22 Tex. Admin. 
Code §541.1(a). Applicant provided documentation addressing the factors outlined in 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(c) and 
demonstrated that Applicant possesses the requisite honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity to qualify to be licensed as a real 
estate salesperson under Tex. Occupations Code 1101.354(2).  

Garcia, Roberto Carlos 
(Austin); License #605287  

Agreed probationary salesperson license issued, fully probated for 3 years, effective May 24, 2010; applicant plead guilty to a 
criminal offense that is directly related to the duties and responsibilities of the occupation of a licensed real estate salesperson 
under 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(a). Applicant provided documentation addressing the factors outlined in 22 Tex. Admin. 
Code §541.1(c) and demonstrated that applicant possesses the requisite honesty, trustworthiness and integrity to qualify to be 
licensed as a real estate salesperson under Tex. Occupations Code §1101.354(2).  

Austin, John Bernard 
(San Antonio); License #605050  

Agreed probationary salesperson license issued, fully probated for 1 year, effective May 17, 2010;  22 TAC § 535.52 (b)(4) states 
that “disciplinary action taken against, or the surrender of, any other professional or occupational license or registration, in this 
or any other state” demonstrates that an applicant does not possess the requisite honesty, trustworthiness or integrity for 
licensure. The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board has taken disciplinary action against Applicant’s appraiser 
license, which is currently subject to an Agreed Final Order entered in Complaint No. 09-139 on August 21, 2009 by TALCB. 
After notice and hearing, SOAH recommended issuance of a probationary license.  

Gillis, Jack C. Jr. 
(Dallas); License #291565  

Agreed probationary salesperson license issued, fully probated for 3 years, effective May 13, 2010; commission of an offense 
that is directly related to the duties and responsibilities of the occupation of a licensed real estate salesperson under 22 Tex. 
Admin. Code §541.1(a). Applicant provided documentation addressing the factors outlined in 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(c) 
and demonstrated that Applicant possesses the requisite honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity to qualify to be licensed as a 
real estate salesperson under Tex. Occupations Code 1101.354(2).  

Guzman, Maria DeJesus 
(Laredo); License #604746  

Agreed probationary salesperson license issued, fully probated for 1 year, effective May 3, 2010 Applicant pled guilty to one 
criminal offense. This offense is directly related to the duties and responsibilities of the occupation of a licensed real estate 
salesperson under 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(a). Applicant provided documentation addressing the factors outlined in 22 Tex. 
Admin. Code §541.1(c) and demonstrated evidence that Applicant possesses the requisite honesty, trustworthiness, and 
integrity to qualify to be licensed as a real estate salesperson under Tex. Occupations Code §1101.354(2).  

Morris, Ashlee Michelle 
(Houston); License #604757  

Agreed probationary salesperson license issued, fully probated for 2 years, effective May 3, 2010 applicant pled guilty to one 
criminal offense. This offenses is directly related to the duties and responsibilities of the occupation of a licensed real estate 
salesperson under 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(a). Applicant provided documentation addressing the factors outlined in 22 Tex. 
Admin. Code §541.1(c) and demonstrated evidence that Applicant possesses the requisite honesty, integrity and 
trustworthiness to qualify to be licensed as a real estate salesperson under §1101.354(2) of the Texas Occupations Code.  

Hayes, Cassandra Gail 
(Wylie); License #561686  

Revocation of salesperson license, effective June 25, 2010; Assessment of administrative penalty of $5,000.00, entered June 25, 
2010; acting negligently in failing to maintain accurate records in connection with leasing and repairs, returning calls, failing to 
keep client informed, and not providing monthly statements, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(1); failing 
within a reasonable time to properly account for or remit funds, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(9); 
commingling security deposits and rental payments not in a trust account, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)
(10); acting as an escrow agent when not a broker, in violation of 22 Tex. Admin. Code §535.159; failing to produce documents 
and records to Commission upon request, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(a)(5); and, failing to notify the 
Commission within 30 days of starting usage of assume name in business, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)
(23)  

Perez, David 
(San Antonio);License #4932  

Agreed 30 day suspension of professional inspector license, fully probated for 1 year, effective June 18, 2010; Agreed 
administrative penalty of $1,000.00, entered June 18, 2010; acting negligently or incompetently in the performance of an 
inspection by failing to report which of the parts, components, and systems present in the property have or have not been 
inspected, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1102.301 and 22 Tex. Admin. Code 535.227(b)(2)(C) [June 1, 2008 Rules of 
the Texas Real Estate Commission]; failing to advise the client at the earliest practicable time that the fireplace/chimney was not 
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included in the inspection, in violation of 22 Tex. Admin. Code §535.227(c)(4)(A) [June 1, 2008 Rules of the Texas Real Estate 
Commission]; and failing to state in the inspection report that the fireplace/chimney was excluded from the report, in violation of 
22 Tex. Admin. Code §535.227(c)(4)(B) [June 1, 2008 Rules of the Texas Real Estate Commission]  

Poteet, Carl Edwin, Sr. 
(Huffman); License #417425  

Agreed 2 year fully probation suspension of salesperson license, effective June 15, 2010; Agreed administrative penalty of 
$1,000.00, entered June 15, 2010; engaging in misrepresentation, when trading a property with an individual for a different 
property, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(a)(3)  

Mitchell, Andrea Vanessa 
(Harker Heights); License #457142  

Agreed 6 month suspension of broker license fully probated for 1 year, effective June 11, 2010; Agreed administrative penalty of 
$5,000.00, effective June 11, 2010;  failing or refusing to produce on request, for inspection by the commission or a commission 
representative, a document, book, or record that is in the license holder’s possession and relates to a real estate transaction 
conducted by the license holder, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(a)(5); failing to provide, within a reasonable 
time, information requested by the commission that relates to a formal or informal complaint to the commission, in violation of Tex. 
Occupations Code §1101.652(a)(6); acting negligently or incompetently in a property management situation, in violation of Tex. 
Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(1); failing within a reasonable time to properly account for or remit money that is received by the 
license holder that belongs to another person, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(9); failing or refusing to 
provide, on request, a copy of a document relating to a real estate transaction to a person who signed the document, in violation 
of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(28); while a salesperson, receiving a commission or other fee without the consent of the 
broker who sponsored the salesperson when the salesperson became entitled to the commission or fee, in violation of 22 Tex. 
Admin. Code §535.3; failing to keep the principal informed at all times of significant information applicable to the transaction or 
transactions in which the licensee is acting as an agent for the principal, in violation of 22 Tex. Admin. Code §535.156(c); and 
while a salesperson, maintaining an escrow account or acting as an escrow agent, in violation of 22 Tex. Admin. Code §535.159(f)  

Magliochetti, Christopher M. 
(Houston); License #497785  

Revocation of salesperson license, effective, June 7, 2010; Assessment of an administrative penalty of $15,000.00, entered June 7, 
2010; failing and refusing to produce on request, for inspection by the commission or a commission representative, a document, 
book, or record that is in the license holder’s possession and relates to a real estate transaction conducted by the license holder, in 
violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(a)(5); failing to provide, within a reasonable time, information requested by the 
commission that relates to a formal or informal complaint to the commission that would indicate a violation of Tex. Occupations 
Code Chapter 1101, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(a)(6); acting negligently or incompetently by failing to 
maintain proper escrow/trust accounts when dealing with client’s monies, failing to properly account and remit monies to his 
clients, and commingling of a client’s monies for his own use and benefit, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(1); 
engaging in conduct that is dishonest or in bad faith or that demonstrates untrustworthiness by failing to properly abide by the 
applicable rules and laws in property management real estate brokerage activities, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code 
§1101.652(b)(2); failing with a reasonable time to properly account for or remit money that is received by the license holder and 
that belongs to another person, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(9); and commingling money that belongs to 
another person with the license holder’s own money, in violation of Tex. Occupations Code §1101.652(b)(10)  

Garcia, Paul A. 
(San Antonio); License #458960  

Revocation of salesperson license, effective June 10, 2010; payment of $50,000 made from the Real Estate Recovery Trust Account 
toward satisfaction of a judgment as authorized by Tex. Occupations Code §1101.655(a)  

Lindsey, Aaron Shawn 
(Houston); License #428341  

Revocation of salesperson license, entered June 29, 2010; effective February 15, 2010 automatic revocation of license by operation 
of law upon imprisonment following a felony conviction, felony community supervision revocation, revocation of parole, or 
revocation of mandatory supervision, pursuant to Tex. Occupations Code §53.021(b) and in accordance with the Opinion No. GA-
0064 of the Attorney General of Texas  

Andrews, John Wayne 
(Wichita Falls); License #164558  

Suspension of salesperson license, until receipt of required information, payment in full of the replacement fees and $1,000.00 
administrative penalty assessed, all effective June 22, 2010; Assessment of administrative penalty of $1,000.00, entered June 22, 
2010;  failing within a reasonable time to provide information to the Commission in response to Commission's request for same in 
connection with an application for renewal of real estate salesperson license, in violation of 22 Tex. Admin. Code §535.91(c); failing 
within a reasonable time to make good a check issued to the Commission, in violation of 22 Tex. Occupations Code §1101.354(a); 
failing to pay a check processing fee within 15 days after the Commission has mailed a request for payment, in violation of 22 Tex. 
Admin. Code §534.(2)  

Mahome, Paulette Renee 
(DeSoto); License #470928  

Revocation of salesperson license, entered June 17, 2010 effective June 29, 2006; automatic revocation of license by operation of 
law upon imprisonment following a felony conviction, felony community supervision revocation, revocation of parole, or 
revocation of mandatory supervision, pursuant to Tex. Occupations Code §53.021(b) and in accordance with the Opinion No. GA-
0064 of the Attorney General of Texas  

Rodriguez, Wyndee Lynn 
(San Antonio); License #430234  

Revocation of broker license, effective June 10, 2010;  failing to comply with the terms and conditions of an agreed order requiring 
her to pay an administrative penalty for violation of 22 Tex. Admin. Code §535.92 (f)  

Robbins, Jerry Glenn 
(Grand Prairie); License #606089  

Agreed probationary salesperson license issued, fully probated for 1 year, effective June 23, 2010;  commission of an offense that is 
directly related to the duties and responsibilities of the occupation of a licensed real estate salesperson under 22 Tex. Admin. Code 
§541.1(a). Applicant provided documentation addressing the factors outlined in 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(c) and demonstrated 
that Applicant possesses the requisite honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity to qualify to be licensed as a real estate salesperson 
under Tex. Occupations Code §1101.354(2)  

Simpson, Paul Alan 
(Ennis); License #574701  

Agreed probationary salesperson license issued, fully probated for 38 months, effective June 15, 2010; commission of an offense 
that is directly related to the duties and responsibilities of the occupation of a licensed real estate salesperson under 22 Tex. Admin. 
Code §541.1(a). Applicant provided documentation addressing the factors outlined in 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(c) and 

Calendar of Events 
 
 
 

Inspector Committee 
Meeting 

July 21, 2010 
12:00 p.m. 
( A ustin )  

 
Commission  

Meeting  
August 9, 2010 
At 10:00 a.m. 

( A ustin )  
 

Broker-Lawyer  
Committee Meeting  
Sept. 23-24, 2010 

( A ustin )  
 

Web site:  
http://www.trec.state.tx.us 

 
Phone 

 
( 512 )  459-6544 

New to the agency 
is Mr. Steven 
Leipsner of 

Lakeway who has 
been appointed as 

the sole public 
member to the 

statutory TREC 
Broker-Lawyer 
Committee. His 

term ends in 2015. 
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demonstrated that Applicant possesses the requisite honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity to qualify to be licensed as a real 
estate salesperson under Tex. Occupations Code §1101.354(2)  

Keah, Tawana 
(McKinney); License #605780  

Agreed probationary salesperson license issued, fully probated for 2 years, effective June 14, 2010;  commission of an offense 
that is directly related to the duties and responsibilities of the occupation of a licensed real estate salesperson under 22 Tex. 
Admin. Code §541.1(a). Applicant provided documentation addressing the factors outlined in 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(c) 
and demonstrated that Applicant possesses the requisite honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity to qualify to be licensed as a 
real estate salesperson under Tex. Occupations Code §1101.354(2)  

Swisher, Cara Rebecca 
(Austin); License #605438  

Agreed probationary salesperson license issued, fully probated for 3 years, effective June 2, 2010;  commission of an offense 
that is directly related to the duties and responsibilities of the occupation of a licensed real estate salesperson under 22 Tex. 
Admin. Code §541.1(a). Applicant provided documentation addressing the factors outlined in 22 Tex. Admin. Code §541.1(c) 
and demonstrated that Applicant possesses the requisite honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity to qualify to be licensed as a 
real estate salesperson under Tex. Occupations Code §1101.354(2) 

Change in Process: PreChange in Process: PreChange in Process: Pre---License Education EvaluationsLicense Education EvaluationsLicense Education Evaluations   
 
Beginning 9/1/10, the agency will no longer require applicants to submit education 
completion certificates prior to submitting an application for a license. 

Currently, if a person wants to obtain a license, they first submit all their education 
(transcripts, course completion certificates, etc.) and the “Request for Evaluation of 
Education Documents” form to the Education & Licensing Services (ELS) Division for a 
staff member to review.  Once ELS has determined that a person meets the pre-
licensure education requirements for a particular license, the person is then given 
authorization to file an application for a license. This is currently a mandatory first 
step toward licensure. 

As of September 1st, persons wanting to obtain a license will submit their education 
documents along with their application for licensure.  The “education evaluation” step 
will no longer be required before an application is accepted.  This change comes in light 
of the new licensing system that the agency will adopt at the end of the month.   

F . A . Q .  H I G H L I G H TF . A . Q .  H I G H L I G H TF . A . Q .  H I G H L I G H T    
Unlicensed AssistantsUnlicensed AssistantsUnlicensed Assistants   

 
Q:  What can unlicensed office personnel or an unlicensed assistant do?  

A:  An unlicensed person may act as a host or hostess at a property being offered for 
sale by the broker, provided the unlicensed person does not engage in any 
activity for which a license is required or hold themselves out as licensees. An 
unlicensed person may also perform secretarial, clerical, or administrative tasks, 
including training personnel. [Rule 535.1(c) and (d)]  Please note that solicitation 
of prospects by telephone is not considered secretarial work and a license is 
required to perform that function. [Rule 535.13(c)].  You should also review our 
“Information for Brokers and Salespersons Regarding Use of Unlicensed 
Assistants in Real Estate Transactions” under “Topics of special interest” on our 
home page for further examples of what can and cannot be done. 

Current Agency Employment Opportunities 
 

The agency is currently accepting applications for the following five (5) positions. 
 

 Attorney III, TREC Standards & Enforcement Services Division 
 

 Appraiser II, TALCB Standards & Enforcement Services Division 
 

 Administrative Assistant II, Education & Licensing Services Division 
 

 Administrative Assistant II, Staff & Support Services Division- Cashier (2 openings) 
 

 Detailed information and application instructions can be found on the website at: 
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/employment/employment.asp 
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A large supply of good ideas have recently blossomed out of the Strategic Planning process, 
and out of the efforts of the dedicated members of the Texas Real Estate Inspector Committee 
to improve their responsiveness to the industry, and also from the forward-looking 
commitment of the four major inspector trade associations to cooperate in pursuing the good of 
the industry and protection of the public. 
 
 Strategic Planning spurred the Committee to host an “Inspector Education Forum” in early 
June, where the focus was on ideas for improving the education of inspectors.  Proposals for a 
broader pre-license education requirement and even some new courses in Standards of 
Practice, Legal and Ethics matters were taken seriously. The Committee is working on these 
matters now, which will be the focus of its next meeting on July 21. 
 
 We had developed a small backlog of questions from license holders asking for assistance with 
specific aspects of the Standards of Practice.  At its meeting on July 12, the Committee 
approved guidance on almost 20 of these, and the process and relevant subcommittees were 
restructured to offer more rapid consideration of such inquiries. 
 
 The Texas Inspector Trade Association Council (TITAC) is working steadily to get organized 
for the challenges and the opportunities facing the industry as it matures and develops. The 
agency and the Committee have been invited to regularly attend and have agreed to send 
representatives to act as a resource when requested and where appropriate.  We look forward 
to assisting where we are able to be a positive influence in this effort. 
 
 Please take time to read my message in the Advisor for details of other major issues. 

...from the Administrator...from the Administrator...from the Administrator   

 

Inspector Committee Meeting HighlightsInspector Committee Meeting HighlightsInspector Committee Meeting Highlights   
 
 In recent months, the Texas Real Estate Inspector Committee has held a series of meetings to 
discuss issues of significance to inspectors.  Strategic planning meetings were held across the 
state, as well as a special Inspector Education Forum in June.  Input and suggestions from these 
meetings have led to the creation and discussion of several proposals regarding pre-licensure 
and continuing education, as well as examination issues.  One common suggestion was to 
implement a required continuing education course for inspectors dealing specifically with the 
Standards of Practice and related legal and ethics matters.  The Committee is meeting again at 
noon on Wednesday, July 21, 2010, to refine its recommendations to the Commission regarding 
these issues and certain legislative housekeeping matters.  The Education subcommittee is 
holding a meeting on Monday, July 26, 2010, and the Enforcement subcommittee is meeting to 
work on an enforcement matrix for inspector cases on the same day.  All meetings are open to 
the public. 

 

 
Meeting Highlights .  1 
FAQ’s......................  2  

Inside this Inside this 
issue…issue… 

Meeting Dates 
 
Inspector Committee July 21, 2010 12:00 p.m. 
Education Subcommittee July 26, 2010   9:00 a.m.  
Enforcement Subcommittee July 26, 2010   1:00 p.m. 
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FAQ highlightFAQ highlightFAQ highlight   
   
Q:  What requirements does TREC impose on inspectors/consultants who perform 

maintenance consultations? For example, if a homeowner wanted to hire a 
consultant to perform a cursory, major defect visual inspection, including the 
foundation, roof, plumbing, electrical, and major appliances, would TREC require 
any written report?  

A: TREC's jurisdiction over real estate inspections is limited to inspections performed 
for a buyer or seller of real property in connection with a transaction. If the 
inspection you are proposing relates to a purchase or sale transaction, then TREC's 
Standards of Practice would apply, and a written report would be required. If the 
inspection you are proposing is not in anticipation of a purchase or sale, then TREC's 
requirements would not apply, and the parameters of the inspection would be 
governed by the agreement between the inspector and his or her client. For further 
information, please see §§1102.001 and 1102.002 of the Texas Occupations Code and 
Rule 535.223. You may find the above-referenced law and rules at our web site here: 
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/formslawscontracts/default.asp.  

 

Q:  I am licensed as a real estate salesperson and as a professional home inspector. Can 
my broker's real estate office offer my inspection services to their clients?  

A. Under §1102.303 of the Texas Occupations Code, an inspector may not act in a 
transaction in the dual capacity of inspector and either (1) broker or salesperson or 
(2) an undisclosed principal. Therefore, it would be a violation of §1102.303 for you 
to inspect any property your broker has listed or where you were personally 
involved. Under Rule 535.156, real estate licensees have a duty to disclose to their 
clients any relationship they have with an inspector performing an inspection on 
property that is the subject of a transaction involving the licensee. If you were to 
perform an inspection in connection with a transaction in which your broker was 
involved, your broker would need to disclose your relationship (as the broker’s 
sponsored agent), and if you were paid or received compensation or anything of 
value from anyone in your office in connection with the inspection, you would also 
need to disclose this fact and obtain the client’s prior permission. You may find the 
referenced law and rules at our web site here: http://www.trec.state.tx.us/
formslawscontracts/default.asp.  

 

Q:  As a licensed inspector in the State of Texas, am I supposed to charge a sales tax on 
the amount of my inspection fee?  

A:   TREC only handles the licensing and discipline of real estate inspectors, you would 
need to contact the state agency in charge of collecting state sales tax which is the 
Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. The web site for that agency is 
www.window.state.tx.us and their toll free number is 800.252.5555.   

The Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs has several 
temporary full-time Inspector Specialist positions. Duties include performing 
Weatherization Assistance Program (WAP) inspections of single family and 
multifamily units funded by the WAP Program. Experience, degree, or 
certification in Building Performance Institute (BPI), Texas Home Energy Rater 
Organization (HERO), Residential Energy Services Network (RESNET) or 
experience in building science principles, preferred. For a complete 
description of duties and how to apply go to: www.tdhca.state.tx.us 
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HR 4173 has been approved by the Senate and is on its way to being signed into law.  
Officially titled as the “Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act,” the bill contains 
reforms of mortgage lending and marketing practices, some banking regulation reforms and 
several provisions affecting the appraisal industry.  Once enacted, there are varying effective 
dates for different sections of the law, and numerous federal agencies will have to write the 
rules needed to actually implement the law, adding further delay. Here are a few of the more 
notable ideas contained in the bill: 

•  “Truth in Lending Act” changes will require “fee appraisers” to be paid “customary and 
reasonable fees” for their services.  It will also require a “full, interior inspection 
appraisal” for “higher risk” (non-prime) loans, and two appraisals if the property is 
purchased within six months of the prior purchase (a “flip”).  Expanded “appraiser 
independence” provisions are included, along with the authority for multiple agencies to 
issue joint interpretive guidelines.  Penalties of up to $10,000 per day are authorized for 
violations of appraiser independence provisions, and state Attorneys General are 
authorized to bring suit within three years of the violation. 

•  FIRREA changes include strengthening the regulatory powers of the Appraisal 
Subcommittee (ASC) and broadening their mandate to include more related issues. It also 
adds “appraisal review” to the interagency standards requirement, and mandates the use 
of certified appraisers for “complex appraisals.” “Appraisal Management Companies” 
(AMC) are required to be registered with ASC, and by states within three years after 
enactment, and states are allowed to establish standards beyond the federal minimums, 
including “moral character” requirements.  The law also authorizes financial grants from 
ASC to the states to assist with enforcement of federal standards in appraisal regulation.  
Quality control standards are mandated for Alternative Valuation Methods and Broker 
Price Opinions are formally restricted in a larger number of loan originations. The law 
provides needed clarity that agencies may consider professional designations in awarding 
appraisal assignments, and strengthens interstate reciprocity rules for license recognition. 

•  Equal Credit Opportunity Act rules will require all forms of valuation used to be 
provided to the consumer at least three days prior to a loan closing, and RESPA clarifies 
that fees paid for valuation products may be differentiated between the fee appraiser and 
the AMC on the HUD 1.  And lastly, the Government Accounting Office is mandated to 
study a host of appraisal industry practices from appraisal methods to ASC effectiveness. 

 At TALCB, we have been following the progress of these measures and, when enacted, will 
begin a systematic evaluation of the new law’s effect on the Board’s processes and operations.  
The biggest change is likely to be the addition of AMCs as a new category of license holder 
subject to regulatory oversight.  
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While we are still enjoying the results of the ASC’s 
favorable review of the Board’s operations in late May, 
we have little time to rest while tackling the major 
challenges the agency faces in the period especially 
leading up to the end of the fiscal year on August 31. 
Please take time to read the Administrator’s column in 
the Advisor for more details. 
 
 For the last few weeks all eyes have been focused on the 
Congress as it fashioned the Financial Institutions Reform 
legislation.  See the summary of some important provisions of that proposed law 
explained in an article on the previous page, especially as it may affect appraisers 
and the TALCB.  When enacted, we look forward to working with the Foundation 
Appraiser Coalition of Texas and its members to implement the required changes, 
and to address other state efforts at reform as the legislative session approaches. 
 
 We announced two new public members appointed to the Board this month, 
replacing Danny Perkins and Bill Schneider.  We appreciate their years of dedicated 
service and will miss them, even as we prepare to welcome Malachi Boyuls and 
Sheryl Swift. 
 
 Specific rule reviews, the agency’s legislative appropriation request, and preparing 
for legislative matters ahead will dominate the Board’s next regularly scheduled 
quarterly meeting on August 20.  We welcome you to offer your ideas and assistance 
to your Board.  We look forward to seeing you or hearing from you; or both! 

...from the ...from the ...from the 
CommissionerCommissionerCommissioner   

Douglas E. Oldmixon, Commissioner 

ELECTRONIC DELIVERY OF RENEWAL NOTICES ELECTRONIC DELIVERY OF RENEWAL NOTICES ELECTRONIC DELIVERY OF RENEWAL NOTICES    
   

 The TALCB will send electronic renewal notices to appraisers 90 days prior to the 
expiration date of a license.  The first electronic renewal notices will be sent to appraiser 
certificate holders and licensees who have November 30, 2010 expiration dates.  The 
electronic delivery of renewal notices is one of the many recommendations that are being 
initiated to help meet budget reductions that have been requested by our state government to 
help offset the projected shortfall in state revenue. 
 After receipt of the renewal notice, Certified General, Certified Residential, and Appraiser 
Trainees may go to the agency website and pay the renewal fee online.  If the renewal fee is 
not filed online at the website, the appraiser will need to download the renewal form from 
the agency website and submit it with payment.  This method of renewing will require that 
the renewal fee and a $20 paper filing fee be submitted for processing. 
 State Licensed and Provisional licensees are currently unable to pay the renewal fee online.  
Beginning with renewals for December 31, 2010 expiration dates, State Licensed and 
Provisional licensees may download and submit a completed copy of the Renewal form for 
Appraiser Certification of License form from the website.  The $20 paper filing fee will not 
be required in this instance. 
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The agency’s second quarter OUTSTANDING PERFORMER is 
Britta Mutschler.  Britta is the Lead Legal Assistant in TALCB 
Standards & Enforcement Services (TALCB SES) and has been 
with the agency for six years.  She started as a temporary 
employee in July of 2004 and was offered and accepted a full-
time position that November.  Britta assists TALCB SES in 
preparing for hearings and days in court.  In addition, her co-
workers tout her as the “go-to gal” to get things done in the 
office.  She likes her job she says, because every day is 
different and the facts and unique circumstance of every 
enforcement case are interesting and change from project to 
project.  Prior to her work with TALCB, Britta played softball 
at a number of Texas schools, including Texas State 
University- San Marcos.  Britta is a star not just in TALCB, 
but throughout the agency as a whole, and is a valued member 
of the team!  For her dedication and drive, the agency is proud to recognize Britta 
Mutschler as the TREC/TALCB Outstanding Performer. 

 

Britta Mutschler 

The week of July 1st,  Governor Rick Perry appointed two new public members to the 
Texas Appraiser Licensing & Certification Board (TALCB); Mr. Malachi O. Boyuls of 
Dallas and Ms. Sheryl Swift of Galveston. Mr. Robert D. Davis, Jr., currently a public 
member on the Board, has been reappointed with a new term expiration of January 
31, 2012. 

Mr. Boyuls is an associate in the Dallas office of Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP, 
where he currently practices in the firm's Litigation Department. Mr. Boyuls received 
his law degree from New York University in 2006 and his undergraduate degree in 
Religion and Philosophy from the University of Mary Hardin Baylor in 2002, where he 
was a member of the Crusader football team. Mr. Boyuls’ term expires January 31, 
2012 and he replaces Bill Schneider of Austin. 

Ms. Swift is a Registered Texas Assessor Collector and is the Chief Deputy of 
Operations with the Galveston County Tax Office, where she supervises all fund 
related operations within the main and branch offices. In addition, Ms. Swift is 
responsible for training all management staff on the Operations team. She has been 
with Galveston County since December 2000. Ms. Swift’s term expires January 31, 
2011, and she replaces Danny Perkins of Houston. 

“I am very happy to welcome Mr. Boyuls and Ms. Swift to the Board and look forward 
to working with them on the many challenges facing the appraiser profession in 
Texas,” commented TALCB Chairman, James “Jaime” Ratliff. “At the same time, 
while we are sorry that Mr. Schneider and Mr. Perkins are leaving, we sincerely 
thank them for their many years of dedication and service.” 

The agency welcomes these new appointees! 

Two New Members Two New Members Two New Members 
Appointed by Perry to TALCBAppointed by Perry to TALCBAppointed by Perry to TALCB   

Agency Outstanding Performer NamedAgency Outstanding Performer NamedAgency Outstanding Performer Named   
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TALCB proposed amendments to 22 T.A.C. Chapter 153, Rules Relating to Provisions of the Texas Licensing and 
Certification Act at the May 21., 2010 meeting of the Board. The proposed amendments result from the Board’s rule 
review process and reflect both substantive and non-substantive changes. 
• §153.1, Definitions, add definitions of ”ACE” (appraiser continuing education), “administrative law judge,” 

“complex appraisal,” “pleading,” and “rule”. Repeal the definition of “appraisal,” which is in conflict with the 
statutory definition, and clarify the definitions of “contested case,” “federally-related transaction,” and “person.” 
Replace the term “non-resident temporary registration” to “temporary out of state appraiser” to be more 
consistent with the statutory language. 

• §153.3, The Board, eliminates subsections that are duplicative of statutory provisions and clarify that members 
shall continue to serve after their terms are finished until their successors are qualified to serve. 

• §153.5, Fees, combines the application and education evaluation fees for all license types that are currently 
required to submit an education evaluation and fee before submitting an application, as these processes and fees 
are being proposed to be combined into a single application process (see §153.9 below). Implements a new $20 
fee for filing non-electronic documents that could be filed online, as well as increases renewal fees for late 
renewals at a rate of 1.5 times the regular fee for renewals up to 90 days late and two times for renewals from 91 
days to one year after expiration. Last, a number of non-substantive revisions were proposed to improve 
readability. 

• The repeal of §153.7, Categories of Appraiser Certification and Licensing, is proposed because its provisions have 
been incorporated into Chapter 1103 of the Texas Occupations Code (the Texas Appraiser Licensing and 
Certification Act). 

• §153.8, Scope of Practice, consolidates the requirement that all license types comply with USPAP, and establishes 
specific provisions regarding a disabled appraiser’s use of an unlicensed assistant. 

• §153.9, Applications, combines the education evaluation and application processes, allowing applicants to submit 
an application for license or certification before or concurrently with submitting documentation of their 
coursework. This will allow prospective licensees to apply for licensure or certification without first submitting a 
request for education evaluation and waiting for their education to be approved. These amendments would also 
repeal the promulgated application and application-related forms, allowing the Board to approve (rather than 
adopt) forms and better respond to process changes and new requirements. Other changes better accommodate 
online application, renewal, and notification processes or reflect non-substantive changes to improve readability. 

• §153.10, Date of Licensure, clarifies that licenses and certifications are valid for two years, while a trainee 
approval is valid for one year and registration as a temporary out-of-state appraiser is valid for no longer than six 
months, and that a license, certification, approval, or registration is not effective until it is issued by the board. 

• §153.11, Examinations, is primarily a non-substantive update of the examination requirements, including a 
clarification that while calculators are allowed, cellular phones may not be used as calculators. In accordance 
with the Appraisal Qualifications Board’s (AQB) Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria, the amendments 
also clarify that successful completion of the examination is valid for 24 months. 

• §153.13, Educational Requirements, eliminates provisions regarding changes that became effective on November 
1, 2007, as all applicants are now subject to the new requirements, and clarifies the AQB requirements regarding 
distance education courses. The amendments also introduce non-substantive changes to the section. 

• §153.15, Experience Required for Certification or Licensing, implements the federal requirement that the board 
audit the experience of 100% of applicants for certification. The amendments further clarify the experience audit 
process. 

• §153.16, Provisional License, reorganizes the section for readability and constitutes a non-substantive rewrite of 
the requirements for provisional licenses. 

• §153.17, Renewal or Extension of Certification and License or Renewal of Trainee Approval, consolidates the 
general renewal requirements into a new subsection (a) and clarifies that a renewal is timely if it is complete and 
mailed or filed online by the expiration date. The amendments also clarify the process for reapplying for a license 
after expiration and make other non-substantive changes to improve readability. 

• §153.18, Appraiser Continuing Education, eliminates provisions regarding changes to trainee education 
requirements that became effective on March 1, 2006, as the distinction in the rules is no longer necessary. The 
amendments also clarify that only the 7-hour national USPAP update course or its equivalent, taught by an AQB-
certified USPAP instructor who is also a certified appraiser, qualifies for USPAP update course credit, and make 
other non-substantive changes to improve readability. 

Rules to be Considered for Rules to be Considered for Rules to be Considered for 
Adoption at the August MeetingAdoption at the August MeetingAdoption at the August Meeting   

Current Agency Employment Opportunities 
The agency is currently accepting applications for the following five (5) positions. 

 Attorney III, TREC Standards & Enforcement Services Division 
 Appraiser II, TALCB Standards & Enforcement Services Division 

 Administrative Assistant II, Education & Licensing Services Division 
 Administrative Assistant II, Staff & Support Services Division- Cashier (2 openings) 

 Detailed information and application instructions can be found on the website at: 
http://www.trec.state.tx.us/agencyinfo/employment/employment.asp 


