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The rules change the process by which MCE courses and instructors are approved and require all real estate 
licensees to attend a three hour legal update course and a three hour legal ethics course to fulfill the six legal 
hours of MCE to renew an active license under the Real Estate License Act (the Act). 

The following is a summary of the most significant changes to the Texas MCE rules: 

The new rules require all licensees to take a three hour legal update course and a three hour legal ethics 
course created for and approved by TREC to satisfy the 6 legal hours of mandatory continuing education 
required by Occupations Code §1101.455. 
Instructor applicants must satisfy the agency as to the applicant’s honesty, trustworthiness and integrity. 
Providers will be responsible for ensuring that instructors are competent to teach a particular subject. 
Instructors who teach the legal courses must be certified to teach the courses by attending an instructor 
training course offered by the Real Estate Center at Texas A&M University. 
Instructors must be pre-approved by TREC prior to attending the instructor training course and obtain-
ing certification to teach the required courses. 
The required legal update and ethics courses will be revised and replaced at the end of every odd num-
bered year (3 years for the first set of courses, every 2 years after). 
The required courses may be modified by certified instructors to supplement the courses with additional 
material, to create distance learning legal courses, or to combine the legal courses with elective courses. 
Elective courses to be used as credit for the remaining 9 hours required by §1101.455 of the Act must be 
presentations of relevant issues that impact the practice of real estate or which increase or support the 
development of skill and competence; a provider must include a statement with the course registration 
that describes the objective of the course and explains how the subject matter is related to activities for 
which a real estate license is required. 
Providers are required to register all courses they offer with the TREC Education Department. 
A provider who offers a required legal course must provide the students with the required course materi-
als in print or electronic format. 
Core and continuing legal education courses may be accepted for satisfying MCE elective credit only. 
Distance learning courses may be registered to satisfy elective and required legal credit subject to certain 
conditions. A distance learning course to be used as credit for a required legal course must include a final 
exam. 
Proctored video presentations for both elective and legal credit are acceptable; however, for legal credit, 
the video presentations must have a certified instructor available as necessary for questions and must 
include a final examination. 
The percentage of time permitted to be taught by a guest speaker was increased from 25% to 50%. 
For elective courses and courses which do not include legal credit hours, a provider may grant partial 
credit to a student who attends less than the complete course registered with TREC. If a student is away 
or late for any portion of a 50 minute class hour the student may not receive credit for that hour. The 
student will receive credit for any other full hours of that course that the student attends. 
Licensees on active status will be required to take the required legal update and legal ethics courses for 
their next and all subsequent renewals of their license after January 1, 2005. Thus a licensee may, but is 
not required to attend the required legal courses for his or her first renewal after the effective date, but 
the licensee is required to take the courses for the next and all subsequent renewals. 
For licenses granted after the effective date, the licensee must attend the required courses to renew a li-
cense on active status. 
As of January 1, 2005, a licensee on inactive status who wishes to return to active status, and who is not 
subject to annual education requirements, must take the new legal courses if the licensee has not satis-
fied the previous MCE requirements prior to January 1, 2005. 
The effective date for partial credit and professional credit designation courses is January 1, 2005. 
Distance learning courses may be offered for required legal course credit on or after July 1, 2005. 
The effective date for the streamlined instructor application process and course registration process was 
September 1, 2004. 

Meeting Highlights …………….2                                     New Inspector Education  Becomes Effective  ……...3              
Disciplinary Actions …………… 4                                     Enforcement  Q&A  …………………………………….6 

Inside this issue…Inside this issue…

New Legal and Ethics Requirements Go 
Into Effect January 1, 2005 



2 TRECTRECAdvisorAdvisorTRECTRECTRECAdvisorAdvisorAdvisor
THE MISSION of the Texas Real Estate Commission 
is to assist and protect consumers of real estate 
services and foster economic growth in Texas. 
Through its programs of education, licensing and 
industry regulation, the Commission ensures the 
availability of capable and honest real estate 
service providers. 

TEXAS REAL ESTATE  
COMMISSION 

Meeting Highlights

                                               December 6,  2004
The Texas Real Estate Commission held its regularly scheduled meeting at the TREC 

headquarters in Austin, Texas on Monday, December 6, 2004.  Chairman John Walton 
presided.  

During staff reports, Linda Bayless, Director of Enforcement, introduced a new em-
ployee, Chris Thornton who will be the new investigator for the San Antonio area.  
 Denise Whisenant, education coordinator for the Real Estate Center at Texas A&M 
reported on the instructor training seminars developed by TREC in cooperation with the 
Real Estate Center.  Three sessions had been held in November and December so that 
instructors of the new mandatory legal and ethics courses could obtain certification.  A 
total of 400 people attended the sessions.   
 The Commission approved draft legislation to amend the Real Estate License Act.  
Staff will be seeking sponsorship for the bill. 
 Staff reported that they had not received any response from the Office of the Attorney 
General concerning the Opinion Request submitted by TREC in July 2004. 
 The Commission approved requests for the submission of resumes and references by 
individuals desiring to serve on the Inspector Committee and the Mortgage Broker Advi-
sory Committee.  The terms of three members of the Inspector Committee will expire in 
February 1,  2005 and the term of the member appointed by TREC to the Mortgage Bro-
ker Advisory Committee will expire January 31, 2005. 

The next meetings of the Commission will be  February 21, 2005 and April 18, 2005. 

INSPECTOR COMMITTEE INSPECTOR COMMITTEE INSPECTOR COMMITTEE 
APPOINTMENTS APPOINTMENTS APPOINTMENTS 

On February 1, 2005 the terms of office for 
three members of the Texas Real Estate In-
spector Committee will expire. These are ap-
pointments for a period of six years. 

It is the intention of the Texas Real Estate Com-
mission to appoint individuals to these three 
positions at its meeting on February 21, 2005. 
Individuals wishing to be considered for one of 
these appointments should submit a letter 
requesting consideration along with a resume 
and any letters of recommendation addressed 
to: 

Chairman  
Texas Real Estate Commission 

Texas Real Estate Inspector Committee 
P.O. Box 12188 

Austin, TX 78711-2188 

no later than January 31, 2005.  All such infor-
mation shall be provided to members of the 
Texas Real Estate Commission for their review 
and consideration prior to the Commission 
meeting on February 21, 2005. 

MORTGAGE BROKER MORTGAGE BROKER MORTGAGE BROKER 
ADVISORY COMMITTEE  ADVISORY COMMITTEE  ADVISORY COMMITTEE  

APPOINTMENT APPOINTMENT APPOINTMENT 

On January 31, 2005 the term of office for 
one member of the Mortgage Broker Advi-
sory Committee appointed by the Texas Real 
Estate Commission will expire. This is an 
appointment for a period of three years. 

It is the intention of the Texas Real Estate 
Commission to appoint an individual to this 
position at its meeting on February 21, 
2005. Individuals wishing to be considered 
for the appointment should submit a letter 
requesting consideration along with a re-
sume and any letters of recommendation 
addressed to: 

Chairman  
Texas Real Estate Commission 

Mortgage Broker Advisory Committee 
P.O. Box 12188 

Austin, TX 78711-2188 

no later than January 31, 2005.  All such 
information shall be provided to members of 
the Texas Real Estate Commission for their 
review and consideration prior to the Com-
mission meeting on February 21, 2005. 
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Your License is Just a Click Away
In August of 2000, the Texas Real Estate Commission became the first state agency to provide online license re-
newals.  In the last four years the Commission has worked continuously to improve its web site and the services 
that are offered there. 

It is now possible to file and pay for the following licenses online: 
BROKER 

 Original Application, Timely Renewal or Late Renewal for 
an Individual 

 Original Application or Timely Renewal for a Corporation 
 Timely Renewal for a Limited Liability Company 

SALESPERSON 
 Original Application or Timely Renewal of a Two Year 

License 
INSPECTOR 

 Timely Renewals of Professional, Real Estate and Appren-
tice Inspector Licenses 
EASEMENT OR RIGHT-OF-WAY 

                                                                    Timely Renewals of Business and Individual ERW Licenses 
Go to the TREC web site www.trec.state.tx.us and make your next renewal online. 

 The Texas Real Estate Commission adopted a rule to increase core inspection class-
room hours required to become licensed as a Professional Real Estate Inspector through 
the "fast –track" method effective January 1, 2005. The "fast-track" method allows one to 
apply for a Professional Real Estate Inspector license without practical experience but by 
completing a certain number of core inspection classroom hours (where no experience in 
the industry is required). Currently, the requirement is 188 Core inspection classroom 
hours, 8 of which must be in the Standards of Practice and 20 hours of course credit 
each in structural, mechanical (including appliances, plumbing, and HVAC components) 
and electrical systems found in improvements to real property. 

The rule revisions replace the requirement for the 20 hours of course credit each in 
structural, mechanical and electrical systems with 320 additional hours in specific core 
inspection courses as defined in the rules. Effective January 1, 2005, Professional In-
spectors applying under the "fast-track" method must complete a total of 448 Core in-
spection hours. The breakdown of the additional 320 hours, including required courses, 
subjects and subtopics is detailed in the rules which are posted on the TREC website 
and the Texas Register.  

"Fast Track" Professional Inspector  
Education Hours Increased as of  

January 1, 2005 

Real Estate Center Schedules Next  
Instructor Training Session 

The Real Estate Center at Texas A&M will be providing an instructor training session for  
persons wishing to be certified as instructors of the mandatory 3 hour legal & 3 hour 
ethics courses.  The session will be May 23-24 in College Station.  There is a $40 fee for 
each course.  To become a certified instructor you must: be previously approved as a 
TREC instructor or apply to become approved by filing a MCE Instructor Application 
form with the $25 fee; attend a train-the-trainer workshop given by the Real Estate Cen-
ter.  To register visit http://recenter.tamu.edu/register; and receive a certification letter 
from TREC upon successful completion of the train-the-trainer workshop. 
See the TREC website www.trec.state.tx.us or the Real Estate Center web site 
www.recenter.tamu.edu for more information.   
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Schomp, Wanda Kay 
(Killeen); license #212628  

Agreed 6-month suspension of broker license, fully probated for 1 year, effective October 1, 2004; agreed 
administrative penalty of $2,000, entered September 24, 2004; failing to monitor and train a sponsored salesperson, 
who failed to properly handle property management accounts and activities and money belonging to others, in 
violation of §1101.652(b)(1) of the Texas Occupations Code; failing to properly maintain escrow accounts and 
records, failing within a reasonable time properly to account for or remit money coming into the hands of a 
sponsored salesperson, and commingling of funds by a sponsored salesperson, in violation of §1101.652(b)(9) and 
(10), Texas Occupations Code; allowing an unlicensed person to perform brokerage activity while associated with a 
sponsored salesperson, in violation of §1101.652(b)(26) of the Texas Occupations Code; allowing the brokerage 
firm to pay a commission or fees to an unlicensed person for compensation for services as a real estate agent, in 
violation of §1101.652(b)(11) of the Texas Occupations Code; failing within a reasonable time to provide 
documents and information requested by the Commission as a result of a formal complaint to the Commission, in 
violation of §1101.652(a)(6) of the Texas Occupations Code; and allowing a sponsored salesperson to conduct 
brokerage activities under business names that had not been filed with the Commission, in violation of 22 TAC 
§535.154(c)  

Kapsidelis, James N. 
(San Antonio); license #201014 

Agreed reprimand of salesperson license, entered October 14, 2004; agreed administrative penalty of $500, entered 
October 14, 2004; failing to pay security deposit to new owner who had purchased property from landlord from 
whom she had previously leased property, in violation of Sections 15(a)(6)(E) and (W) of the Real Estate License 
Act [Sections 1101.652(b)(1)(9) and (10) of the Texas Occupations Code, effective June 1, 2003]  

Shipler, Steven T. 
(Plano); license #453759  

Agreed 6-month suspension of salesperson license fully probated for 2 years, effective November 22, 2004; agreed 
administrative penalty of $4,000, entered November 22, 2004;  procured a real estate license by making a material 
misstatement of fact in the application by failing to disclose the fact he had continued to act as a real estate 
salesperson after the expiration of his license, in violation of §1101.652(a)(2) of Texas Occupations Code; acted as 
a real estate broker or salesperson without first obtaining a real estate license, in violation of §1101.351 of Texas 
Occupations Code  

Disciplinary Actions
October-November 2004

Consumer Complaints

Administrative Complaints 

Hightower, Christopher Paulus 
(Austin); license #474373  

Agreed reprimand of salesperson license, entered October 6, 2004; agreed administrative penalty of $250, entered 
October 6, 2004; failing to complete mandatory continuing education hours and pay the $200 fee within the 60-day 
period provided by 22 TAC 535.92(f) of the Rules of the Texas Real Estate Commission  

Funk, Helen Marie 
(Greenville); license #449791  

Revocation of salesperson license, effective October 13, 2004; failing within a reasonable time to provide information 
to the Commission in response to Commission's request for same in connection with an application for renewal of 
real estate salesperson license, in violation of 22 TAC §535.91(c) of the Rules of the Texas Real Estate Commission  

Baker, John Kelly 
(Houston); license #407566 

Revocation of broker license, effective October 28, 2004; failing within a reasonable time to make good a check is-
sued to the Commission and pay the processing fee, in violation of §1101.652(a)(4) of the Texas Occupations Code 

McCarver, Lori Kathleen 
(Dallas); license #406881  

Agreed reprimand of salesperson license, entered November 2, 2004; agreed administrative penalty of $250, entered 
November 2, 2004; failing to complete mandatory continuing education hours within the 60-day period provided by 
22 TAC §535.92(f) of the Rules of the Texas Real Estate Commission  
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Tevis, Thomas Wayne 
(Dallas); license #476288  

Agreed reprimand of salesperson license, entered November 9, 2004; agreed administrative penalty of $250, en-
tered November 9, 2004; failing to pay the $200 fee within the 60-day period provided by 22 TAC §535.92(f) of 
the Rules of the Texas Real Estate Commission  

Steward, Sharon Annette 
(Dallas); license #476824  

Agreed reprimand of salesperson license, entered November 10, 2004; agreed administrative penalty of $250, 
entered November 10, 2004; failing to complete mandatory continuing education hours and pay the $200 fee 
within the 60-day period provided by 22 TAC §535.92(f) of the Rules of the Texas Real Estate Commission  

Lemp, Craig Nolan 
(Dallas); license #416369  

Agreed reprimand of broker license, entered November 12, 2004; agreed administrative penalty of $250, entered 
November 12, 2004; failing to complete mandatory continuing education hours and pay the $200 fee within the 
60-day period provided by 22 TAC §535.92(f) of the Rules of the Texas Real Estate Commission  

Pfluger, Michael Carl 
(Spicewood); license #412206  

Agreed reprimand of broker license, entered November 16, 2004; agreed administrative penalty of $250, entered 
November 16, 2004; failing to complete mandatory continuing education hours and pay the $200 fee within the 
60-day period provided 22 TAC §535.92(f) of the Rules of the Texas Real Estate Commission  

Murillo, Nancy Belen 
(Plano); license #475682  

Revocation of salesperson license, effective November 19, 2004; failing to complete mandatory continuing educa-
tion hours and pay the $200 fee within the 60-day period provided by 22 TAC §535.92(f) of the Rules of the Texas 
Real Estate Commission  

Keating, Kristin Elizabeth 
(Austin); license #473716  

Revocation of salesperson license, effective November 19, 2004;  failing to complete mandatory continuing educa-
tion hours and pay the $200 fee within the 60-day period provided by 22 TAC §535.92(f) of the Rules of the Texas 
Real Estate Commission  

Walker, Aleen Thornburg 
(Houston); license #235133  

Agreed reprimand of broker license, entered November 23, 2004; agreed administrative penalty of $250, entered 
November 23, 2004; failing to complete mandatory continuing education hours and pay the $200 fee within the 
60-day period provided by 22 TAC §535.92(f) of the Rules of the Texas Real Estate Commission  

Destin, Robert Lee 
(Baytown); license #389885  

Revocation of salesperson license, effective November 29, 2004;  failing within a reasonable time to make good a 
check issued to the Commission and pay the processing fee, in violation of §1101.652(a)(4) of the Texas Occupa-
tions Code  

Biggs, Douglas Robert 
(Houston); license #283542  

Revocation of salesperson license, effective November 29, 2004; failing to complete mandatory continuing educa-
tion hours and pay the $200 fee within the 60-day period provided by 22 TAC §535.92(f) of the Rules of the Texas 
Real Estate Commission  

Knust, Margo L. 
(Conroe); license #483334  

Revocation of salesperson license, effective November 29, 2004; failing to complete mandatory continuing educa-
tion hours and pay the $200 fee within the 60-day period provided by 22 TAC §535.92(f) of the Rules of the Texas 
Real Estate Commission  

Lang, Roger Ewald 
(Redlands, CA); license #457257  

Revocation of broker license, effective November 29, 2004; failing within a reasonable time to make good a check 
issued to the Commission and pay the processing fee, in violation of §1101.652(a)(4) of the Texas Occupations 
Code  
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FOR YOUR OWN GOOD...  
CHECK THE  

EXPIRATION DATE OF 
YOUR LICENSE 

 It is your responsibility 
to ensure that your li-
cense is renewed in a 
timely manner.  Any edu-
cation you might require 
must be completed before 
your license expiration 
date if you want to main-
tain an active real estate 
license, unless you pay an 
additional $200 fee and 
complete your MCE within 
60 days of the expiration 
date of your license.   

 Renewal forms are sent 
out to all licensees and 
may also be obtained on 
our web site.  The Texas 
Real Estate Commission is 
not responsible for U.S. 
Postal Service delivery or 
knowing where to find you 
if you have moved and 
have not filed a change of 
address with our office.  
Failure to receive a re-
newal notice does not pro-
vide a valid excuse for not 
renewing your license. 

Enforcement  Questions  and Answers 
These and other questions and answers may be found on TREC's web site at  

http:www.trec.state.tx.us

Q. Please clarify the difference between a trust account and an operating ac-
count? Is a designated property management account considered an oper-
ating account and is it a violation for a licensee to maintain such an ac-
count to receive and disburse rent payments? 

A. The Texas Real Estate Commission has jurisdiction over property management 
companies if the company leases real properties for others for compensation or 
with the expectation of compensation. [§1101.002(1) Tex. Occ. Code (Vernon 
2003).] §535.146(a) of The Rules of the Commission (Rules), defines "trust ac-
count", for the purposes of that section, as including "any trust, escrow, custo-
dial, property management account, or other account in which a licensee holds 
money on behalf of another person. The important aspect of a "trust account" is 
that the account is to contain money belonging to others. A real estate licensee 
must not commingle his or her own money with trust account money or treat 
trust account money as if it is the licensee's own. [Please see the Rules, 
§535.146(f).] "Operating account" money is money that belongs to the licensee 
(or the management company). The "operating account" is the money that the 
licensee or management company owns and then uses to pay the office's elec-
tric bill, the bookkeeper's wages, the rent for the company's office space, the 
licensee's own personal compensation, etc. §535.146(g) of the Rules provides 
that a licensee must pay himself or herself out of the trust account within 30 
days of when he or she acquires ownership of any money in the trust account. 
Here is an example: If the licensee's management fee is 10% of each month's 
rent that is collected, and the tenant pays $500 rent by a personal check to the 
licensee (as property manager) on the first day of the month, then the entire 
$500 rent check would be deposited into the licensee's trust account. Within 
30 days of receiving that $500 rent, the licensee must pay himself or herself 
$50 out of the trust account (the monthly management fee for that occupied 
rental unit). The $50 could be paid into the licensee's operating account or di-
rectly to the licensee. (To leave the licensee's earned money in the trust account 
for longer than 30 days would be considered commingling. Just like a licensee 
may not use the "trust account" money of others, the licensee also may not 
"hide" his or her own money within the trust account or "mix" the money.) A 
trust account must be established by a broker, not a salesperson. Any money 
received by a real estate salesperson which is to be held in trust pursuant to a 
real estate transaction must be delivered to the salesperson's sponsoring bro-
ker to be deposited in accordance with the agreement of the principals in the 
transaction. [Rules, §§535.159(a), (b) and (f).] A broker may, but is not required 
to, maintain separate rust accounts for earnest money deposits, security de-
posits received for the management of rental property, or for any other money 
received in trust. [Rules, §535.159(g).] If a broker maintains a trust or escrow 
account, that account must be identified as such. [Rules, §535.159(h).] 
(Additional examples: The Internal Revenue Service might want to freeze the 
licensee's bank accounts for back taxes, or individuals might have money judg-
ments against the licensee that they are trying to collect. It must be clear to 
others that the "trust account" money is not the licensee's money, and is not 
available to pay the debts of the licensee.) A licensee maintaining a trust ac-
count must retain for a period of four years a documentary record of each de-
posit or withdrawal from the account. [Rules, §535.146(b).] (That includes re-
cords regarding money taken out to pay service providers, such as for carpet 
cleaning, lawn maintenance, make-ready work, plumbers, painters, electri-
cians, utility bills on vacant units, etc.) If a broker is not meticulous and organ-
ized in how the business is handled, the broker and any salespersons involved 
may find themselves trying to defend against a complaint filed with TREC, and 
possible disciplinary action against their licenses. 


