The filing of an application authorizes an investigation of the applicant's background. Information revealed in an investigation may be cause for disapproval of an application even though other requirements for a license are met. If an investigation is necessary, it may not be conducted until the applicant has passed the examination.
An applicant who has not been previously fingerprinted for TREC must pay a fee to DPS to get fingerprinted and satisfy the statutory requirement for honesty, trustworthiness and integrity. Each license holder is required by law to have fingerprints on file with the Department of Public Safety (DPS) for TREC. Fingerprints on file for other agencies will not be accepted. Once the applicant has obtained a TREC entity number they should visit the TREC website at http://www.trec.texas.gov/fingerprints/ to enroll with MorphoTrust to complete the fingerprinting requirement. The license will issue once all requirements are met and TREC receives confirmation from DPS that the applicant's fingerprints are on file. The applicant will be required to pay a fee for a background check with each renewal. The digital fingerprinting process may take up to 10 days, so plan accordingly.
If an applicant has been previously fingerprinted for TREC, additional prints are not required. However, the applicant must pay a subsequent background check fee of $29.75 with the application. An applicant must pay a license application fee AND a fingerprint or background check fee. An applicant MUST complete the fingerprint requirements within one year after the date the application is filed with TREC or the application will terminate.
Proof of Financial Responsibility
Upon passing the exam you must provide proof of financial responsibility that provides coverage for violations of Subchapter 6 of Chapter 1102, Texas Occupations Code ($100,000 per occurrence) before a license will be issued. Financial responsibility information should be submitted to TREC by mail, fax 512-936-3864 or by email to TREC Certificate of Insurance form or Proof of Financial Responsibility form, as applicable.
Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation (TG)
If the applicant has defaulted on a student loan with the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation (TG) and is not currently making payments under a repayment agreement, contact the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation, P.O. Box 83100, Round Rock, TX 78683-3100, Telephone: 1-800-252-9743 BEFORE filing an application. State law prohibits renewing a license after a license holder has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by TG unless the license holder has entered into a repayment agreement with TG. A renewal may be rejected if TG has notified the agency that the applicant has defaulted on a student loan.
Must complete 200 inspections as a professional inspector
Must hold an active Professional Inspector license
Must submit letter notifying TREC�s Licensing section of intent to sponsor and submit TREC inspection log (this may be faxed to (512) 936-3864 or mailed)
Renewal Requirements for Professional Inspector
Reference: Complete Rules Governing Inspectors
For a two year license term
$29.75 Subsequent Background Check Fee (only for applicants that already have fingerprints on file with TREC)
Proof of Financial Responsibility and Education Required for Renewal
To renew your license on ACTIVE status, you must provide proof of financial responsibility that provides coverage for violations of Subchapter G of Chapter 1102, Texas Occupations Code ($100,000 per occurrence). Financial responsibility information should be submitted to TREC by mail, by fax to 512-936-3864 or by email at to using the TREC Certificate of Insurance form or Proof of Financial Responsibility form, as applicable, at least 20 days prior to the expiration date of your license.
For each 2-year license period the professional inspector must complete 32 classroom hours of TREC approved continuing education real estate inspection courses, 8 hours of which must be in the Texas Standards of Practice/Legal/Ethics Update course.
You must submit copies of course completion certificates to TREC 10 business days PRIOR TO renewing online.
If you submit your renewal without the required proof of financial responsibility or continuing education, you will be issued an inactive license until these requirements are met. An inactive license does not permit a person to perform inspections.
Renewal length: Two (2) years
Renewal After License Has Expired - (Up to six months)
Up to six months after license expiration, an individual can file another application for a license without having to re-take and pass the examination if a license was held by a Professional Inspector or Real estate inspector during the 24 months preceding the date the application is filed. However, additional education may be required.
More Detailed Information
- To be licensed as a Professional Inspector, an individual must be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien,
and eighteen (18) years of age or older.
- The filing of an application authorizes an investigation of the applicant's background. Information revealed in an investigation may be cause for disapproval of an application even though other requirements for a license are met. If an investigation is necessary, it may not be conducted until the applicant has passed the examination.
- Applications received without the appropriate fee will be rejected and returned. The fee should be submitted in the form of a single check, cashiers check or money order payable to the Texas Real Estate Commission. Cash will not be accepted.
ALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE/NONTRANSFERABLE. Fees not pertaining to this application should NOT accompany the application.
SEE FEE SCHEDULE
- State law prohibits the renewal of a license if a license holder has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation (TG) unless the license holder has entered into a repayment agreement with TG. YOU SHOULD CONTACT TG BEFORE FILING THIS APPLICATION if you have defaulted on a student loan. An application or renewal may be rejected if this agency has received information from TG that the applicant has defaulted on a student loan.
P.O. Box 83100
Round Rock, Texas 78683-3100
Telephone: (800) 252-9743
(in Austin, call 219-5700)
The time involved in processing an application depends on work volume. Inquiry as to the status of an application delays processing. Inquiry should not be made unless there is reason to believe that information submitted to the Commission has not been received.
Page last modified: 8/3/2016