skip navigation and go to content
Texas Real Estate CommissionMy License Online ServicesTexas Real Estate Commission


Sales / Broker Inspector E.R.W.


Education
Education Main Page
Find an Education Provider
Course & Instructor Evaluation Form
Exam Pass Rates by Qualifying Education Provider
Find an Education Form
Legal & Ethics MCE
Course Manuals
Broker Responsibility Course Manual
SAE Information
SAE Requirements
Qualifying R.E. Course List
R.E. Related Courses
CE Information
CE FAQ's
Look Up Your CE
CE & SAE Credit Request Forms
Examinations
Examination Tips
Candidate Handbook for Exam Candidates
Exam Topic Pass Rate Report
Inspector Reference Materials
  KEY To Symbols
= Page is in area (folder tab) of this color
= Adobe PDF file format
= Web site external to TREC
blank one pixel image

Sales Agent Apprentice Education (SAE) Requirements

A Sales Agent is required to have completed a total of 18 semester (270 classroom) hours of education, by the end of their second year of licensure. On the chart below, one can see that 180 of those classroom hours in qualifying real estate courses must be completed within 1yr of the Sales Agents application filing date. Please note that this means only 6 additional semester (90 classroom) hours in qualifying real estate courses are required to be filed during the term of the license as a licensed Sales Agent. These hours are known as SAE, or Sales Agent Apprentice Education. These 90 additional classroom hours in qualifying real estate for the SAE must be submitted and on the TREC system by the end of the second year of licensure.

Accumulated Hours Required for Real Estate Sales Agents
Required Within
1yr of Filing the
Application
Qualifying Classroom Hours
180 hours, as follows:
  • 60 in Principles of Real Estate
  • 30 in Law of Agency
  • 30 in Law of Contracts
  • 30 in Real Estate Finance
  • 30 in Promulgated Contract Forms
  180 Total Classroom
Once licensed, the sales agent must then complete an additional 90 qualifying real estate classroom hours during the term of the license, for the totals seen below:
At 1st Renewal
(end of 2nd year)
180 hours 90 hours 270 total hours

Note: Should all 270 hours be completed at the time the application is submitted, the license holder will have satisfied the SAE requirements and CE hours will not be required for their first renewal. Qualifying credit will not be awarded for the same qualifying courses taken within two years of each other.



Privacy & Security Policy Open Records Linking to TREC site Accessibility

Texas.gov Statewide Search Veterans Portal Texas Homeland Security Where the Money Goes Report Fraud