skip navigation and go to content
Texas Real Estate CommissionMy License Online ServicesTexas Real Estate Commission


Sales / Broker Inspector E.R.W.


Education
Education Main Page
Find an Education Provider
Course & Instructor Evaluation Form
Exam Pass Rates by Qualifying Education Provider
Find an Education Form
Legal & Ethics MCE
Course Manuals
Broker Responsibility Course Manual
SAE Information
SAE Requirements
Qualifying R.E. Course List
R.E. Related Courses
CE Information
CE FAQ's
Look Up Your CE
CE & SAE Credit Request Forms
Examinations
Examination Tips
Candidate Handbook for Exam Candidates
Exam Topic Pass Rate Report
Inspector Reference Materials
  KEY To Symbols
= Page is in area (folder tab) of this color
= Adobe PDF file format
= Web site external to TREC
blank one pixel image

Continuing Education (CE) FAQs

TREC CE rules require all license holders to take a three hour Legal Update course and a three hour Legal Ethics course created for and approved by TREC to satisfy the 6 legal hours of mandatory continuing education required by the Act. Effective September 1, 2012, a broker who sponsors a sales agent, or is a designated broker of a business entity at any time during the license term OR a license holder who is a delegated supervisor of one or more license holders for 6 months or more during the current license term must also attend a 6 hour Continuing Education (CE) Broker Responsibility course as required by the Texas Occupations Code §1101.458.


"24 Hour CE Rule" - As of September 1, 2007, a license holder who takes an online CE course will not be allowed to complete an online course in less than 24 hours.

Effective January 1, 2015, if Commission records do not show that you have completed your CE at the time you submit your renewal application, you must pay a $200 CE deferral fee, or renew in INACTIVE status. Paying the deferral fee will allow you to continue to be active in real estate activities and give you an additional 60 days from your expiration date to complete your CE.

General Questions Regarding CE Requirements

Note: When a question references CE it means 15 classroom hours of Commission approved Continuing Education. At least 6 of the 15 hours must consist of a 3 hour legal update course and a 3 hour legal ethics course created for and approved by TREC to satisfy the 6 legal hours of CE required by Texas Occupations Code §1101.455. Effective September 1, 2012, a broker who sponsors a sales agent, or is a designated broker of a business entity at any time during the license term OR a license holder who is a delegated supervisor of one or more license holders for 6 months or more during the current license term must also attend a 6 hour Continuing Education (CE) Broker Responsibility course as required by the Texas Occupations Code §1101.458.

You are subject to CE if: Active license holders have a CE non-elective and elective course requirement. An inactive license does not require CE unless your license has been made inactive due to late CE and is subject to Section 535.92(g) of the Commission rules.
  1. Do I need to take CE to renew my active license? Yes. A license holder subject to CE requirements must complete a total of 15 hours in CE, which must include 3 hours in Legal Update and 3 hours in TREC Ethics, within the term of each license. The license term begins the first day after the old license expiration date and ends the last day of the current license expiration date. CE must be completed and posted to your record at TREC no later than the expiration date of each license term. To determine how many hours you have completed, you may visit the license holder info search feature on our website at http://www.trec.state.tx.us/newsandpublic/licenseeLookup/search.aspx

    Effective September 1, 2012, a broker who sponsors a sales agent, or is a designated broker of a business entity at any time during the license term OR a license holder who is a delegated supervisor of one or more license holders for 6 months or more during the current license term must also attend a 6 hour Continuing Education (CE) Broker Responsibility course as required by the Texas Occupations Code §1101.458:

    1. 6 hour Broker Responsibility Course
    2. 3 hour Legal Update Course
    3. 3 hour TREC Ethics Course; and
    4. 3 hours in an approved CE course(s) - Course credit will not be given for attendance at the same course more than once during the term of the current license.
  2. What happens if I renew timely and request active status but do not complete my CE? Effective January 1, 2015, if Commission records do not show that you have completed your CE at the time you submit your renewal application, you must pay a $200 CE deferral fee, or renew in INACTIVE status. Paying the deferral fee will allow you to continue to be active in real estate activities and give you an additional 60 days from your expiration date to complete your CE.
  3. What happens if I fail to complete the CE within the 60 days? If you fail to complete the CE within 60 days your license will be placed on INACTIVE status and you must cease doing business. If you are a broker all sales agents sponsored by you will revert to INACTIVE status.
  4. If my license reverts to inactive status because I failed to complete the required CE or pay the deferral fee within the 60 days, how do I return to active status? A sales agent or broker whose license is inactive who returns to active status, between 61 and 180 days of the license expiration date, you must complete the CE hours during the two years prior to requesting the active status. The sales agent must establish a sponsorship relationship with a broker through the online Relationship Management Tool (RMT) or file a Sales Agent Sponsorship Form through an active broker. If you are a broker you must submit an Application for Broker to Return to Active Status form along with the $50 fee. You may begin working when the request is submitted or when the form and fee are dropped in the mail.
  5. I renewed my license inactive. Now I want to get an active license. Do I need CE? Yes. A sales agent or broker whose license is inactive who returns to active status, must complete the CE hours during the two years prior to requesting the active status. The sales agent must establish a sponsorship relationship with a broker through the online Relationship Management Tool (RMT) or file a Sales Agent Sponsorship Form through an active broker. If you are a broker you must submit an Application for Broker to Return to Active Status form along with the $50 fee. You may begin working when the request is submitted or when the form and fee are dropped in the mail.
  6. If my license stays on inactive status for several years, does the CE requirement accumulate during the years that I am inactive? No. To return to active status, you must complete a total of 15 hours in CE, 3 hours of which must be in legal update and 3 hours in legal ethics. The hours must be completed within the 2 years prior to filing the application to return to active status.
  7. My license has been expired for less than 6 months. What do I need to do to become licensed again? A sales agent whose license has been expired not more than 6 months, who files an application to late renew on active status must pay the applicable renewal fee, have the CE hours completed, and file the Renewal of Real Estate License - Timely Or Expired Less Than Six Months application. If the CE hours have been completed by the license expiration date, no additional fee will be due. If the hours are completed within 60 days of the license expiration date, a $200 CE deferral fee will be required. If the hours are completed between 61 - 180 days of the license expiration date, the deferral fee and late reporting fee (total $450) will be required. The late CE fees cannot be paid online. The fees must be postmarked, by the post office, and mailed to TREC's mailing address.
  8. My license has been expired for six months but less than two years. What education do I need to complete to become licensed again? A sales agent or broker whose license has been expired more than 6 months but less then 2 years , who files an application to reinstate that license on active status, must complete the 15 hours in CE during the two year period prior to filing the Application for Reinstatement of a Salesperson License or Broker license by an individual. If the CE hours are not completed within two years of the application filing date, the license will be renewed on inactive status.
  9. My sales agents license has been expired more than 2 years. What do I need to do to become licensed again? A sales agent whose license has been expired more than 2 years must reapply for licensure. The applicant must meet sales agent application requirements (including education), file an original Application for Inactive Salesperson Agent License and pass the salesperson agent licensing exam.
  10. My broker license has been expired for more than 2 years. What do I need to do to become licensed again? A previously licensed broker whose license has been expired more than 2 years, must reapply for licensure and meet current broker requirements (including passing the licensing exam), which in most cases means that the applicant will first need to apply for a sales agent license, take the sales agent exam, and obtain four years of experience as a sales agent before applying for a broker license. If the applicant is licensed in another state, the applicant must have not less than four (4) years active experience as a licensed real estate sales agent or broker during the 60 month period immediately preceding the filing of the Application for a Broker license and must have a total of 3600 experience points.
  11. Where can I take my CE courses? CE courses must be taken from an approved CE provider, all of whom can be located through our Education Providers page.

Privacy & Security Policy Open Records Linking to TREC site Accessibility

Texas.gov Statewide Search Veterans Portal Texas Homeland Security Where the Money Goes Report Fraud