skip navigation and go to content
Texas Real Estate CommissionMy License Online ServicesTexas Real Estate Commission


Sales / Broker Inspector E.R.W.


Education
Education Main Page
Find an Education Provider
Course & Instructor Evaluation Form
Exam Pass Rates by Qualifying Education Provider for Sales Agents and Brokers
Exam Pass Rates by Qualifying Education Provider for Inspectors
Find an Education Form
Legal & Ethics MCE
Course Manuals
Broker Responsibility Course Manual
SAE Information
SAE Requirements
Qualifying R.E. Course List
R.E. Related Courses
CE Information
CE FAQ's
Look Up Your CE
CE & SAE Credit Request Forms
Examinations
Qualifying Inspector Education Providers and Courses
Examination Tips
Candidate Handbook for Exam Candidates
Exam Topic Pass Rate Report
Inspector Reference Materials
  KEY To Symbols
= Page is in area (folder tab) of this color
= Adobe PDF file format
= Web site external to TREC
blank one pixel image

Education Information for License Holders


Sales Agents and Brokers (already licensed)

Course & Instructor Evaluation Page - Rate the quality of an education course and instruction.


Sales Agent Apprentice Education
Licensed Sales Agents who applied on or after September 1, 2012 must show evidence of having completed a minimum of 90 hours in qualifying real estate education and 4 hours in Legal Update I and 4 hours in Legal Update II prior to the first two year license term, for a total of 278 hours by the end of the second year of licensure. See the appropriate text and chart on the Sales Agent Apprentice Education (SAE) requirements page.
Sales Agent Apprentice Education (SAE)
SAE Cover Sheet form to use when submitting SAE course completion certificates to TREC.

Qualifying & Related Courses and Provider Lists:
Qualifying Real Estate Courses and their content requirements
Qualifying Real Estate License Education Providers for Sales Agent and Broker Applicants
Real Estate Related Courses considered acceptable by the Commission for real estate related credit, provided they are taken from an approved source.



Continuing Education (CE) Requirements
(for Individual Brokers and for Sales Agents who have satisfied Qualifying requirements)
Continuing Education (CE) refers to the Real Estate License Act's continuing education requirement (§1101.455) of 18 classroom (clock) hours of TREC approved CE courses. At least eight of the 18 hours must consist of a four hour legal update I course and a four hour legal update II course created for and approved by TREC to satisfy the eight legal topics hours of continuing education. A course may not be repeated for credit during the same license period. A broker or a designated broker of a business entity, who sponsors one or more sales agents during their current license period, or a delegated supervisor of one or more license holders for a period of six months or more during the supervisors current license period must take a six hour broker responsibility course. The six hour course may be used to satisfy 6 of the 18 hours in CE that must be completed by the license expiration date of each license term to renew a license on active status. Below are links to key pages dealing with CE.
CE Credit Request forms for submittal to TREC for special cases (out of state CE, State Bar, or courses for a Professional Designation)
See YOUR CE Credit Hours! - courses for which you've received credit (in License Holder Info Search)
CE FAQs page for course requirements and answers to many common questions on the topic of CE
CE Exemption for Certain Qualifying Brokers, from the Real Estate License Act

CE Provider Lists:
Complete CE Provider List incl. subject areas, phone, website links
Online CE Course Providers
Legal Update and Ethics CE Course Provider List

For Complete Information on Renewing Your License:
Renewing a Sales Agent License
Renewing an Individual Broker License
Renewing a Corporate or LLC Broker License




Privacy & Security Policy Open Records Linking to TREC site Accessibility

Texas.gov Statewide Search Veterans Portal Texas Homeland Security Where the Money Goes Report Fraud