skip navigation and go to content
Texas Real Estate CommissionMy License Online ServicesTexas Real Estate Commission


Sales / Broker Inspector E.R.W.


Education
Education Main Page
Find an Education Provider
Course & Instructor Evaluation Form
Exam Pass Rates by Qualifying Education Provider for Sales Agents and Brokers
Exam Pass Rates by Qualifying Education Provider for Inspectors
Find an Education Form
Legal & Ethics MCE
Course Manuals
Broker Responsibility Course Manual
SAE Information
SAE Requirements
Qualifying R.E. Course List
R.E. Related Courses
CE Information
CE FAQ's
Look Up Your CE
CE & SAE Credit Request Forms
Examinations
Examination Tips
Candidate Handbook for Exam Candidates
Exam Topic Pass Rate Report
Inspector Reference Materials
  KEY To Symbols
= Page is in area (folder tab) of this color
= Adobe PDF file format
= Web site external to TREC
blank one pixel image

CE Non-Elective Course Information for Instructors

TREC's CE non-elective Legal Update and CE Ethics courses will expire December 31, 2015. The new non-elective Legal Update I and Legal Update II courses (4 hours each) will become effective January 1, 2016. Real Estate Sales Agents and Brokers can find more Legal Update course information at the CE FAQs page.


FAQs
Course FAQs for Educators is designed to answer all of the "Who, How, If and When" questions for providers and potential providers and instructors of required non-elective CE courses.
How to Become a TREC-Certified Legal Course Instructor

Step 1) Be an approved TREC Qualifying Instructor with 3 years experience in teaching or training AND a college degree in the subject area of real estate or 5 years professional experience in the subject areas of Principles of Real Estate, Law of Agency, and Law of Contracts; or the equivalent of those requirements as determined by the Commission. If you are currently approved with these requirements, please go to step 2.

If you are a Qualifying Instructor but have not been approved under these subject areas, submit a request to education@trec.state.tx.us for your file to be reviewed towards meeting these requirements. No fee is required.

If you are not a Qualifying Instructor but want to become a TREC Qualifying Instructor and can meet the above requirements, please complete the Application and submit to TREC with the $150.00 fee.

Step 2) Attend a train-the-trainer workshop at the Real Estate Center. Workshops are held twice a year. To determine if a workshop is currently scheduled, please visit http://recenter.tamu.edu/register. If a workshop is available, you may register at that time. If a workshop is not available please revisit the Real Estate Center web site periodically for updates.

Step 3) Receive a certification letter from TREC upon successful completion of the train-the-trainer workshop.

The CE Legal Update I and II Course Manuals for TREC Approved CE Providers
CE Legal Update I and II Course Manuals (2016-2017)
Document Title File Size
pdf iconLegal Update I Course Student Manual (Edition 7.0) 4.3 Mb
pdf iconLegal Update II Course Student Manual (Edition 7.0) 5.7 Mb
CE Legal Update I and II PDF Powerpoints
Document Title File Size
pdf iconTREC Legal Update I course 2016 Powerpoint in pdf format (For 2016 courses) 390 Kb
pdf iconTREC Legal Update II course 2016 Powerpoint in pdf format (For 2016 courses) 614 Kb

CE Broker Responsibility Course

Note: Real Estate Sales Agents and Brokers can find more Broker Responsibility course information at the CE FAQs page.


FAQs
CE Broker Responsibility Course FAQs for Educators is designed to answer all of the "Who, How, If and When" questions for providers and potential providers and instructors of required non-elective CE courses.
FAQs
CE Broker Responsibility Course FAQs for License Holders is designed to answer questions regarding which license holders are required to complete the 6 hour course..
How to Become a TREC-Certified CE Broker Responsibility Course Instructor

Step 1) Be an approved TREC Qualifying Instructor with 3 years experience in teaching or training AND a college degree in the subject area of real estate or 5 years professional experience in the subject areas of Principles of Real Estate, Law of Agency, Law of Contracts and Real Estate Brokerage; or the equivalent of those requirements as determined by the Commission. If you are currently approved with these requirements, please go to step 2.

If you are a Qualifying Instructor but have not been approved under these subject areas, submit a request to education@trec.state.tx.us for your file to be reviewed towards meeting these requirements. No fee is required.

If you are not a Qualifying Instructor but want to become a TREC Qualifying Instructor and can meet the above requirements, please complete the Instructor Application for Core and CE Non-Elective Courses and submit to TREC with the $150.00 fee.

Step 2) Attend a train-the-trainer workshop at the Real Estate Center. Workshops are held twice a year. To determine if a workshop is currently scheduled, please visit http://recenter.tamu.edu/register. If a workshop is available, you may register at that time. If a workshop is not available please revisit the Real Estate Center web site periodically for updates.

Step 3) Receive a certification letter from TREC upon successful completion of the train-the-trainer workshop.

The CE Broker Responsibility Course Manual for TREC approved CE providers.

CE Broker Responsibility Course Manual (2015 - 2016)

Note: Certified instructors will receive a complimentary copy of the Instructor Manual after completing the instructor training session. CE Providers or certified instructors may also request an electronic copy by contacting education@trec.texas.gov. This 2015 - 2016 version (Edition 2.0) must be offered after December 31, 2014.

Document Title File Size
pdf iconMCE Broker Responsibility Course Student Manual (Edition 2.0) 7.3 Mb


Privacy & Security Policy Open Records Linking to TREC site Accessibility

Texas.gov Statewide Search Veterans Portal Texas Homeland Security Where the Money Goes Report Fraud