skip navigation and go to content
Texas Real Estate CommissionMy License Online ServicesTexas Real Estate Commission


Sales / Broker Inspector E.R.W.


Complaints
Complaints/Consumer Info. Main Page
How to File a Complaint
Disciplinary Actions
Enforcement FAQs
Whom TREC does NOT regulate
Real Estate License Act
TREC Rules
Consumer Information
Consumer Alerts!
A Guide for Buyers and Sellers of Real Estate
FAQs regarding the Real Estate Recovery Trust Account
Model Application for the Real Estate Recovery Trust Account
FAQs regarding the Real Estate Inspection Recovery Fund
Model Application for the Real Estate Inspection Recovery Fund
General FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)
Enforcement FAQs
Fair Credit Reporting Act
Residential Service Company Program
TX Homebuyer's E-Guide: Real Estate Center website
Federal Consumer Information Center
HUD Fair Housing Information
Predatory Lending
Moving? Please see ProtectYourMove.gov
Home Buying and Selling: U.S. Dept. of HUD web site
U.S. EPA web site
The US Consumer Product Safety Commission
Consumer's Guide to Mortgage Finance
Texas Real Estate Center local market reports
US Dept of HUD Market Reports
  KEY To Symbols
= Page is in area (folder tab) of this color
= Adobe PDF file format
= Web site external to TREC
blank one pixel image

Complaint Instructions

The Commission's authority is limited to taking disciplinary action against those regulated under its programs. Texas law prohibits the Commission from giving private legal advice or opinions or acting as your personal attorney. The Commission does not generally have authority to require a licensee to pay damages to another person. If you need legal advice or want to recover money, please contact a private attorney. It is not necessary to file a complaint with the Commission to proceed with a civil suit or file for recovery from the Real Estate Recovery Trust Account or the Real Estate Inspection Recovery Fund.

Texas Association of REALTORSí Complaint Article
TREC Flow Chart

Complaints the Commission investigates:

  • real estate brokers and salespersons
  • real estate inspectors
  • approved education providers and instructors
  • residential service companies
  • timeshare plans
  • unlicensed activity
  • those 4 years old or LESS

Complaints the Commission DOES NOT investigate:

  • mortgage companies
  • new home builders
  • title companies
  • sellers or buyers who are not also licensed
  • commission or other disputes between licensees
  • those MORE than 4 years old

To file a complaint, complete ALL SECTIONS of the Complaint Form AND provide COMPLETE and LEGIBLE copies of all relevant documentation. Relevant documentation may include:

  • Sales contract (front and back) - all pages and all accompanying forms and attachments
  • Lease/rental agreement (front and back)
  • Listing/management agreement (front and back)
  • Disclosure statements (e.g. Information about Brokerage Services, Intermediary Relationship Notice, Seller's Disclosure Notice)
  • Closing statement (HUD 1)
  • Multiple listing service (MLS) printout
  • Appraisals
  • Inspection report
  • Photographs
  • Advertising
  • Repair bills
  • Receipts
  • Canceled checks (front and back)
  • Monthly statements
  • Correspondence, including demand letters and e-mails
  • Judgment/civil lawsuit documents (e.g. original petition, settlement documents)
  • Other (describe)

DO NOT SEND ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS WITH COMPLAINT--SEND COPIES ONLY.

TEXAS LAW PROVIDES THAT COMPLAINTS CANNOT BE ACCEPTED OR PROCESSED IF NOT SIGNED.

Mail or fax your complaint to TREC at the address listed on the complaint form. You will be notified by mail that your complaint has been received. If an investigation is opened, the person(s) against whom the complaint is filed will receive a copy of the complaint. After the investigation is concluded, the information obtained will be reviewed to determine whether there is sufficient evidence to take disciplinary action for a violation of the applicable statute or the Commission's rules. Disciplinary action could include a formal reprimand, the suspension or revocation of a license, payment of an administrative penalty, or other appropriate action. Investigations and the disciplinary process differ in complexity and duration, so providing a time of completion is not possible.

pdf iconComplaint Form with Instructions in English and Spanish

Adobe (Acrobat) Reader Help: Many TREC documents are in the Adobe PDF pdf iconformat.
Find out here whether you have a compatible version of the Adobe (Acrobat) Reader.




Site Map Privacy & Security Policy Open Records Linking to TREC site Accessibility

Texas.gov Statewide Search Veterans Portal Texas Homeland Security Where the Money Goes Report Fraud